We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Harbor Inn
90 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having tried hotels in Kennebunkport, my Husband and I decided to try a bed and breakfast for a change. Our stay at The Harbor Inn didn't leave us disappointed. Kathy the landlady was a delight to have a conversation with, and her knowledge of the Kennebunk area pointed us in the right direction to make the most of our stay. Our room was spacious and clean and the breakfast enjoyable too. Dining at the same time as the other guests was an enjoyable experience. Kathy and her helper Donna made our stay in Kennebunkport an unforgettable holiday and we wish them continued success.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurse1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Prior reviews led my husband and I to The Harbor Inn. What a charming place located in the heart of Kennebunkport. We loved the location on Ocean Drive. So close to dining and shopping you can walk but far enough away for quiet and privacy. The B & B is beautifully furnished with period furniture, which we love. Your host, Kathy is a treasure. She has grown up in the area and is so knowledgeable on the history and can point you in the right direction for points of interest and ,any side trips you are wishing to take. She absolutely made the trip for us. We were fortunate to meet several other quests and exchanged travel experiences.






Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just how lucky were we that all the other hotels in the town were fully booked and we were able to stay at the Harbor Inn at Kennebunkport. Kathy made us very welcome, and our room was lovely, very traditional, clean and welcoming. We had breakfast included in the price, which was a nice surprise.
Would recommend staying at the Harbor Inn if you're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monstermollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here while we were in Maine for a wedding in July and had a wonderful experience. The owners are extremely friendly and personable, the location is great and the breakfast was very nice. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need, though the bed was a bit creaky. The biggest plus of this place was the value compared to other accommodation in the area especially for the time of year and the fact we stayed on a Friday and Saturday. Would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Harbor Inn the 6,7 and 8th of July. We were attending a wedding at the River Club just down the street. The first thing we did was meet Kathy Jones Owner and Proprietor. The great experience started there. Having grown up summers and lived for a while in town , I found we shared many of the same acquaintances and was able to catch up on years of people back log.
The room was very clean and comfortable. It was a corner room and any time but those few days (90+) we would have had the windows open for the fresh air from the ocean. We were VERY happy the room also had air conditioning. The toilet is en suite. There was a flat panel television with full cable. The breakfast was excellent . It varied every day. Fresh fruit and OJ were daily staples. I will have a picture of Kathy sitting in the living room with her needle point in my mind for a long time. The season had started and the price /value relationship was wonderful. There is a cottage on the property also. The Inn was sold out and we never heard the other guests during our entire stay. Looking forward to our next trip to the 'Port as we will stay here every time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo6345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had another great visit at the Harbor Inn. We went to Prelude in December 2011 and over the 4th of July. Again Cathy Jones made us comfortable and had many tips on the goings on around the area. She is the best innkeeper.

Room Tip: All are great. There is a small country cottage outback excellent for a single or couple on a hone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We've stayed at this B&B on two occasions and our experience each time was a little slice of heaven. Cathy, the Prop., is a most gracious hostess and adds to the experience. The house was built in 1902 and is beautifully restored "to the nines". You don't have to worry about getting a "good" room as they are all furnished with period pieces that make it look like the quintesential B&B. The top floor has a very large room with a side room perfect for families. There's nothing better than to simply sit on the front porch on a lazy afternoon and contemplate your good fortune at being there. The breakfasts are gormet and plentiful. If you're worried whether Harbor Inn will live up to its pictures, don't worry, it's BETTER than the photos. Our last visit there (October, 2011) was not to stay overnight as we were on a cruise ship visiting Kennebunkport for the day. Nevertheless, I told my group of 15 friends and neighbors that they just HAD to see Harbor Inn. I knocked on the door and Cathy graciously allowed all of us to come in for a tour. They were all visibly impressed. I can't wait to go back again....it's a wonderful place to spend a few days with someone you love.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.6 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
#12 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn

Address: 90 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing