We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay at the Harbor Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunkport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbor Inn
90 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overnight stay at the Harbor Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just how lucky were we that all the other hotels in the town were fully booked and we were able to stay at the Harbor Inn at Kennebunkport. Kathy made us very welcome, and our room was lovely, very traditional, clean and welcoming. We had breakfast included in the price, which was a nice surprise.
Would recommend staying at the Harbor Inn if you're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here while we were in Maine for a wedding in July and had a wonderful experience. The owners are extremely friendly and personable, the location is great and the breakfast was very nice. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need, though the bed was a bit creaky. The biggest plus of this place was the value compared to other accommodation in the area especially for the time of year and the fact we stayed on a Friday and Saturday. Would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Harbor Inn the 6,7 and 8th of July. We were attending a wedding at the River Club just down the street. The first thing we did was meet Kathy Jones Owner and Proprietor. The great experience started there. Having grown up summers and lived for a while in town , I found we shared many of the same acquaintances and was able to catch up on years of people back log.
The room was very clean and comfortable. It was a corner room and any time but those few days (90+) we would have had the windows open for the fresh air from the ocean. We were VERY happy the room also had air conditioning. The toilet is en suite. There was a flat panel television with full cable. The breakfast was excellent . It varied every day. Fresh fruit and OJ were daily staples. I will have a picture of Kathy sitting in the living room with her needle point in my mind for a long time. The season had started and the price /value relationship was wonderful. There is a cottage on the property also. The Inn was sold out and we never heard the other guests during our entire stay. Looking forward to our next trip to the 'Port as we will stay here every time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had another great visit at the Harbor Inn. We went to Prelude in December 2011 and over the 4th of July. Again Cathy Jones made us comfortable and had many tips on the goings on around the area. She is the best innkeeper.

Room Tip: All are great. There is a small country cottage outback excellent for a single or couple on a hone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We've stayed at this B&B on two occasions and our experience each time was a little slice of heaven. Cathy, the Prop., is a most gracious hostess and adds to the experience. The house was built in 1902 and is beautifully restored "to the nines". You don't have to worry about getting a "good" room as they are all furnished with period pieces that make it look like the quintesential B&B. The top floor has a very large room with a side room perfect for families. There's nothing better than to simply sit on the front porch on a lazy afternoon and contemplate your good fortune at being there. The breakfasts are gormet and plentiful. If you're worried whether Harbor Inn will live up to its pictures, don't worry, it's BETTER than the photos. Our last visit there (October, 2011) was not to stay overnight as we were on a cruise ship visiting Kennebunkport for the day. Nevertheless, I told my group of 15 friends and neighbors that they just HAD to see Harbor Inn. I knocked on the door and Cathy graciously allowed all of us to come in for a tour. They were all visibly impressed. I can't wait to go back again....it's a wonderful place to spend a few days with someone you love.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I was traveling with my boyfriend and his Mother who was visiting from Europe so we just wanted a quick getaway from the city for a change of scenery and to show her a different part of the country. We found the Harbor Inn and were so happy we chose it.

Kathy was great - friendly and helpful - and the inn is a quintessentially charming New England B&B. We had 2 separate rooms that were next to each other which was ideal for us. The rooms were nicely decorated with ensuite bathrooms and comfortable beds and there was a small, community fridge on the floor. The breakfasts were hearty and delicious and the staff was happy to hold a nice conversation. The location is convenient and it's easy to get to the downtown area.

We had the unfortunate timing of being there during a horrible snowstorm so we were basically trapped in the house for most of the day and evening. The winter scene outside was peaceful and pretty and were well entertained with TV, movies, and friendly conversation with Kathy and Donna so it worked out well. We were happy to stay inside a well-heated home! Kathy's son came by later and plowed us out of the driveway, too.

The only thing we found, which is typical for Maine, is that we were unable to get food delivered for dinner from any local restaurant. I had brought snacks though so we didn't starve.

I would recommend this inn for an enjoyable, relaxing, and reasonably priced stay in the area and hope to return in the future, maybe in summer so they'll be no chance of snow.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stay at the Harbor Inn for at least one weekend each summer and every December for Christmas Prelude. I have never had a bad experience. I recommend this to all my friends. Cathy Jones and her son Barry are excellent hosts and make you feel at home. Each visit is better than the last. Cathy has many regular guests who return year after year. If you don't enjoy yourself here, you must be very hard to please.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn

Also Known As:
Harbor Inn Kennebunkport, Maine
Address: 90 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Harbor Inn to your Saves list