We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Salt Pantry is great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Salt's Pantry

Old Salt's Pantry
5 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
207-967-4966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 45 Restaurants in Kennebunkport
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
st thomas, vi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Old Salt Pantry is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The young men were so nice and helpful. Had a great hot dog and they even grilled the roll! Love that!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank antilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
weston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

bought some goodies here. very old fashioned and fun. nostalgic and cozy. some great local jams, jellies, and candies. good place to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank voovoomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
371 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“THE place for grinders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Though my sister and I debate about the best place to grab grinders (subs, heroes, hoggies) - I think Old Salt's does it right. Other local places in contention - Provisions (Meserve's Market), Bradbury's and The Landing Store. Grad a grinder, some drinks, and chips and head to a number of hidden (free) picnic grounds tucked into Kennebunkport's little nooks and coves.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank COTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
617 reviews
415 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Blueberry pie...oh my!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

While visiting Kennebunkport, we had the opportunity to stop at the Original Old Salt's pantry for an afternoon snack. My husband and another gentleman we were with enjoyed their ice cream while I and another lady we were with enjoyed their delicious blueberry pie. WOW!! All I can say is YUM! Wish I could go and have a slice right now. I did take home a jar of the blueberry jam though so I can still have a little taste of Maine. If you happen to be near Old Salt's Pantry, definitely go in and give the blueberry pie a try, DELICIOUS.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank love2traveltogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
1 review
“Great Food - Need to Clean Up their act”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We like to stop at Old Salt's to get a foot long hot dog, it is a great tradition. . However, I was concerned when watching the two fellows in the kitchen, both of which had been making change and working the register, who proceeded to handle the rolls and hot dogs with their bare hands without washing them or using latex gloves. Even the onions we requested where placed on the dog with bare hands. Doesn't Maine have health regulations with regard to handling food? We love the place. I would just like to see them handle my food more carefully.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank moody1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Salt's Pantry also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Old Salt's Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing