We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view with wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Cape Arundel Inn

Ocean Cape Arundel Inn
208 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME
207-967-4015
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Cape Arundel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In the heart of this mostly residential enclave, in a converted circa-1895 Shingle Style house, sits Ocean. Though the Inn has existed in one permutation or another since the 1950s, and it has long held a reputation for well-appointed lodgings and fine dining. The Innkeepers have filled the building with a striking art collection that could make small New England museums envious, while Chef Gignac uses the dining room—with its awe-inspiring views—as a canvas upon which to create epicurean masterpieces. Pierre Gignac graduated from the Institut d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Québec. Pierre chose to open his first restaurant in Ogunquit, Maine “98 Provence," which pleased locals, tourists and critics for 18 years, until it closed in 2012.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely view with wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a table right by the window. The view of the ocean was spectacular. An added extra was a perfect view of the Bush Compound. The food was excellent. I am trying to eat lobster everyday of my vacation! The poached lobster was cooked to perfection. The service was just right....attentive but not too much hovering. The restaurant is in a charming old New England style home with a welcoming front porch. Just a great place to dine.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanManager, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed the Butter Poached Lobster carefully prepared by Chef Pierre and his team. Ocean truly is a charming place to have an amazing dining experience. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Jana Bissonnette
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    38
    21
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
southern new jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great meal with incredible view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Called about a week in advance and got a perfect window table. What a view! Ocean and Bush compound! The food was outstanding and service was just right. Loved it!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanManager, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
I appreciate the time you have taken to share your kind comments with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next visit to Ocean.

Sincerely,
Jana Bissonnette
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Book in advance....very popular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Gorgeous room over looking the ocean...hence the name. Delicious and creative food. We ate here twice in four nights. Service is very attentive. A nice way to start your evening is with cocktails on the front porch if it's warm enough. I highly recommend this restaurant. The Bush Family was there our first night!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanManager, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and sharing your experience with us about your dinner here at Ocean. We are always delighted to receive such a positive comments from our guests. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Jana Bissonnette
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Fabulosity on a plate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Ocean is wonderful. The setting, the staff, the food. A gorgeous inn overlooking the ocean, a comfortable and luxurious dining room, and creative food prepared perfectly. We ate an heirloom tomato salad, a beet salad, a monkfish dish, and a pine nut encrusted swordfish, all accompanied by a delicious vouvray. Our server was attentive and accomplished. A relaxed, inviting, delicious, gorgeous, evening. Enjoy!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanManager, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your dining experience with us. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Jana Bissonnette
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Dinner Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

#1 top meal I have ever had. I highly recommend the duck. Appetizer and main course were spot on. Wish I had skipped dessert this time as it wasn't as good as the rest of the meal, but the first two courses were so great it couldn't change the rating. Also, the service was excellent at all levels with consistently high service from our waiter for drinks, to our dinner waiter to even the person filling our water. WILL return.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanManager, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed every aspect of your dining experience with us. Your kind feedback will be shared with our staff. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jana Bissonnette
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Cape Arundel Inn also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Ocean Cape Arundel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.