We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on the Water on a Beautiful Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of David's KPT

David's KPT
21 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
+1 207-967-8225
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 41 Restaurants in Kennebunkport
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Los angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch on the Water on a Beautiful Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Service was excellent. We had very fresh lobster rolls. They had several local beers on tap. Overall a delightful place to dine on a beautiful day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningManager, Manager at David's KPT, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you Susan, I'm glad you had great weather to enjoy lobster and beer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    88
    50
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

In Kennebunkport for the evening before our flight back to England. The bar and restaurant at our hotel were closed so we walked into town. At first glance David's looked slightly upmarket for us- we had been travelling for hours and did not look at our best!!
We were shown to a table on the outside deck with views across the bay. We then discovered it was Happy Hour: a bonus.
We ate several small plates - American tapas? We had wine and beer, all delicious and very good value. Above all though was the service; we were two slightly dishevelled tourists, obviously there for one night only. The bar tender could not have been more welcoming and friendly. We were made to feel like special guests and the evening will stay in our memories as a wonderful last evening in New England. Would love to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningManager, Manager at David's KPT, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
It's wonderful to hear that you were made to feel at home after walking through the door. Although we have a beautiful dining room and a wonderful view we really are casual and want everyone to feel comfortable and relaxed. Our happy hour is offered 7 days a week from 3 until 6pm and starting November 4th we will have happy hour available all night on Mondays! Thank you for your kind words, it means a lot to be a part of your memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent! We'll remember this tasty dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

How can anyone give this place a bad review? Six of us - a senior, three adults, and two tween boys - ate here and each of us ranted and raved about our tasty meal. It was obvious a well-trained chef works here. Everything was flavorful with a gorgeous waterfront view to boost. The decor was modern and swanky. We recommend this and would come back here in a heartbeat.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningManager, Manager at David's KPT, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Its wonderful that you get to travel with your family of all ages. FunFilledFamily, what a perfect name! We could not be more flattered that we were able to offer something for everyone, and I will be sure to pass on all of your compliments to those who deserve them. Thank you and maybe we will see you and your family next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“4 tries and 4 misses”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The first time we were there, it had just opened so we blamed it on this. Another time was a Monday and we figured the chef was away.
We were back recently at some friends' insistence and found it just simply awful. `Lightly breaded calamari` were a mush of olives, various indescribable vegetables and lumps of fat.
The halibut was overcooked to a purée.
Never again. Too bad because the décor is really nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningManager, Manager at David's KPT, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with every meal that you have tried to enjoy at David's. As a new dining spot over a very busy summer we as a team are still working to consistently serve high quality food. As such, I am thankful for you taking the time to offer feedback that we can use and make improvements.

With regards to the calamari this is the first time I have heard a complaint and will be sure to pass on your comments to the kitchen. On a positive note, the preparation of the calamari will be changing with the release of our updated menu on October 30th. Moving forward we will be tossing the calamari in preserved lemon, pickled onion, scallion, spicy aioli, and cilantro.
Hopefully, this new preparation will entice you to give us another whirl and enjoy the décor in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed some great scenery and beautiful weather as we ate our lunch on the outside deck of David's. This restaurant had been recommended by our hotel and was exactly what I was looking for in Kennebunkport. The food was very good and the prices are reasonable. Would definitely go again if we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningManager, Manager at David's KPT, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you Erika for taking the time to share your most recent experience. It is so great to hear that your hotel was able to recommend a location that was exactly what you were looking for. One of our goals at David's KPT is to prepare a quality product and offer great service at an affordable price. It is wonderful to hear that this rang true for you. I hope you get to enjoy another vacation soon and we will look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's KPT also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to David's KPT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David's KPT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.