We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hurricane Restaurant

Hurricane Restaurant
29 Dock Sq, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046-6012
207-967-9111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hurricane Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Sitting over the Kennebunk River in the Kennebunkport neighborhood of Dock Square. Hurricane Restaurant offers the freshest local seafood,locally grown produce and the finest of prime meats available in the market daily. Our Chef and Pastry Chef write our menus each day based on what is the freshest and finest product. Our wine list offers over 130 plus selections by the bottle with almost 60 available by the glass and has won Wine Spectator awards for over 15 years in a row. Our service is casual with our priorities being complete guest satisfaction. Please join us soon to enjoy our wonderful food and beverages and well as our spectacular water views.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stopped in for a casual dinner at the bar on a snowy evening. Atmosphere was very warm and comfortable. Ordered appetizers which were very good, larger portions than expected.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    191
    44
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sharon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“We always have lunch at Hurricanes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Whenever we visit Kennebuckport, it's not the same without stopping at Hurricanes for a drinks and lunch. The Prince Edward Island Mussels are outstanding!! If you like seafood it's a must! The service is also very good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We happened to come to Kennebunkport at the tail end of the Prelude to Christmas and we happened upon this restaurant. The food and atmosphere were fantastic. Initially, we felt a bit rushed by our server. But, ultimately, she was very pleasant and helpful. Our Bloody Mary's came with 1/2 a chilled lobster! (nice touch) When my steak was over cooked, she was right on top of it, had a new one cooked and it was perfect. My bf had the 2lb stuffed lobster and enjoyed every bite. The dessert was delicious. The atmosphere was classy but relaxed, pure Kennebunkport. We'll definitely return on our next trip to Maine.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second visit was perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a wonderful lunch today at the Hurricane Restaurant for a birthday celebration. Just one year ago, we had a very disappointing experience at this restaurant (see previous review), but decided to try one more time. I'm so glad we did! Although the restaurant seemed quite busy, we were seated at one of the window tables right away and had a beautiful view of the river. Our waitress arrived right on time and provided helpful and very courteous service as we made our selections. She seemed to know exactly what we were looking for re: side dishes and made some excellent suggestions The food arrived promptly and was absolutely delicious. Although we were more than full when we left our table, the delicious homemade cookies that greeted us on the way out the door were a perfect finish to a delightful experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a really good meal of fresh local seafood in this restaurant in the middle of town. Because we were a little out of season we didn't have to wait for a table - but it is best to book at busier times

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Restaurant also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Hurricane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hurricane Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.