We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It must be Maine....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alisson's Restaurant

Alisson's Restaurant
11 Dock Square, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
207-967-4841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 39 restaurants in Kennebunkport
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It must be Maine....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great atmosphere - good Maine food - great location - right for lunch. Maine fare for comfort and joy during the holidays and whenever.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    200
    236
    78
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Cozy spot in Kennebunkport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Went to Alison’s for dinner on a recent pre-Christmas visit to Kennebunkport. In the winter most of our usual haunts (Gooch’s clam shack, Cape Porpoise Pier, the Wayfarer) are not open, so we decided to give Alison’s a try. The restaurant is definitely a local hangout in the off season, with many regulars populating the bar and tables. We were quickly seated and approached by a very friendly and attentive waitress. The menu contains many Down Eastern regulars, with what seem to be very reasonable prices. However, we had only one thing on our minds: lobster! So our choice was easy, though hubby opted for the seafood medley instead of the boiled lobster. Daughter also ordered a cup of clam chowder to warm us up on the cold evening, while son upgraded his dinner to include a pound of steamers.

ACCESSABILITY: The restaurant and bar is accessible for the mobility impaired. However, anyone in a power wheel chair may have difficulty maneuvering between the rather closely spaced tables.

Dinner started with some very decent (and warm) rolls, with a small container of soft whipped butter. (so much better than hard butter in those little foil packages) followed closely by the clam chowder. The chowder was served in a coffee mug, with oyster crackers. The chowder was hot, and had a generous portion of chopped clams. While it was good, it still did not measure up to our local favorite at the Cape Porpoise Pier. However, it did serve to warm us up nicely, a fact we appreciated. Dinner came in a bit (everything is cooked to order, so relax. There are cards from the game Genius to challenge you and pass the time.)

Dinner arrived and our biggest complaint is that the table for four was too small to hold 3 platters, shell bowls, French Fry pails, cole slaw plates etc. Though not a problem unique to this restaurant it is annoying all the same. Our lobsters were hot and delicious (I mean really, what can you do to a boiled lobster?). Hubby was less happy with his seafood medley. He felt that the heat from the oven had dried out and somewhat toughened the seafood on the top of the casserole, and that the bottom of the casserole suffered from a thick layer of oil and butter. Perhaps he would have enjoyed it more if he had dumped it out onto the wild rice and mixed in together more? Whatever the issue, while it was eatable, he said he was disappointed and would not order it again.

The restaurant has a long list of on-tap beers, as a number of bottled including imports, as well as decent wine list and a list of seasonal concoctions, many of which sounded very inviting.

The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The service is friendly and attentrive without being over bearing. Pricing is very reasonable considering its location in the center of a very popular tourist area.

Alison’s serve’s lunch and dinner year round. When in Kennebunkport, it is a place to consider visiting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food and casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had lunch at Alisson's and the seafood was fresh and delicious. I had the fried shrimp and my husband had the lobster roll. My kids had the burger and clam chowder, everyone thought the food was very good and it was a good value as well. I recommend dining at Alisson's.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intervale
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stopped in for lunch. We enjoyed 2 appetizers and a salad. The mussels were delicious; they had a wonderful light sauce with a lemon flavor. The service was very good, and the wine hit the spot.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“LOVE IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We meet there at 1P every year and wouldn't change it for anything.
Love the bar so who cares about the wait???

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alisson's Restaurant also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Alisson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alisson's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.