We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value indeed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yachtsman Lodge & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yachtsman Lodge & Marina to your Saves list
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   59 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Value indeed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

After being disappointed by what was on offer in Portland, we drove on to Kennebunkport, expecting things to be mega expensive. Not so, Yachtsman cost $15 less than Portland would have done. Fantastic vista backing on to river, marina there, and the most comfortable bed I've experienced in the USA. A real find

Room Tip: Choose the king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    29
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was fabulous-so much nicer than the larger hotels, the rooms have French doors opening out to the grass-about 12feet from the harbour river with all the super yachts and boats. Plus the staff were fabulous-great breakfast, the in the afternoon and port,brandy and cheese before dinner if you wish. All for a Very reasonable price. It was quiet, large rooms and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This lodge looks like a roadside inn from the road, but the view of the front of the rooms is the Kennebunk River! We loved the small marina right outside our room - it was so picturesque to watch the boats coming in each evening! The guest rooms are attractively decorated in a simple nautical style, enhancing the experience. The breakfast and afternoon tea were a treat to experience on the courtyard patio with the riverfront view and it also gave us an opportunity to socialize with other guests!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We love this place. It's slightly out of town but within walking distance of wonderful galleries and shops. Being right on the river is VERY peaceful and relaxing. The ducks and geese come right up to you looking for "treats." Very fun.

When we first started staying here a number of years ago it had just been converted from a garden-variety motel to the very nice place it is now. The rates were reasonable and we felt like we got our money's worth. Then, as we understand it, the Yachtsman sold and the prices when WAY WAY up to the point where "we" no longer consider it a good value.

Obviously, many people still do think of it as a good value so who am I to argue.

The only other thing I can say is that the breakfast they offer is "so Motel 6". Absolutely nothing special. We'd much rather go out.

Still, it's hard to beat the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a elegant fly-below-the-radar place, amazingly quiet for being only two blocks from Kennebunkport's Dock Square. Looking like not much more than a well-landscaped motel from the road, it simplicity belies lots of plusses that make the price totally worthwhile: An ample breakfast with enough to make a sandwich for lunch (ham, cheese, bread, hard-boiled eggs), tea time featuring home-baked pecan sandies, cocktail time with a glass of Port of brandy, bottled water in the rooms, L.L. Bean beach chairs available, bikes available, canoes available...Nice clean fresh white linens (no gross old-fashioned icky bedspreads) wainscotting/beadboard lofted ceilinged rooms, air-conditioning, wi-fi access and views of all the comings and going on the river and at the marina, a beautifully manicured lawn down to the water. A half open deck or an air-conditioned eating/breakfast area -- your choice and very friendly, helpful staff. SO much better than any Route 1 Motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The staff was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated on the banks of the Kennebunkport River and the boats are docked outside your room and it is a beautiful setting. The walls in the rooms are beaded board in a subtle tastefully done nautical theme. They had a nice breakfast in the morning followed by tea in the afternoon and port with cheese and crackers in the evening. All in all in it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was great! The room was nice and clean! The afternoon reception of port and cognac was a nice way to relax in one of the adirondack chairs. The continental breakfast was very nice also. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kennebunkport hotels
0.9 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yachtsman Lodge & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yachtsman Lodge & Marina

Address: 59 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yachtsman Lodge & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yachtsman Lodge & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina Hotel Kennebunkport
Yachtsman Lodge And Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yachtsman Lodge & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.