We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yachtsman Lodge & Marina

Save Saved
You added Yachtsman Lodge & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
59 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The staff was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated on the banks of the Kennebunkport River and the boats are docked outside your room and it is a beautiful setting. The walls in the rooms are beaded board in a subtle tastefully done nautical theme. They had a nice breakfast in the morning followed by tea in the afternoon and port with cheese and crackers in the evening. All in all in it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    23
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was great! The room was nice and clean! The afternoon reception of port and cognac was a nice way to relax in one of the adirondack chairs. The continental breakfast was very nice also. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My girlfriend booked this room as part of a five night stay in Maine. I was really impressed with the quality of the room, especially since I was a bit skeptical when we drove up: the building is a a motel style building where you park near your room and the door faced the exterior. Since we had our dog Stuart, we picked this pet-friendly hotel and in the room, there was a bed and bowl of water waiting for him. The room had beautiful wood beams and crown finishings that felt very New England. It was a nice, spacious room and we even had our own Keurig brewer. The toiletries were of high quality and there were lots of little things in the room like flashlight, hair dryer and etc...that were there for your use. We were bummed we didn't get to use the hotel's canoes but maybe another time.

The view out to the yacht pier was a peaceful sight to take in and a great way for us to start our Maine adventure. The breakfast included was definitely the highlight...everything from their own quiche, baked goods, waffle batter and iron, meats and cheese, and breakfast beverages helped you start your day's adventure with a full stomach. I would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The rooms are very spacious and have all the basics that you need. The Bathroom was nicely updated as well. Each room has a small patio that face a river. We spent a ton of time hanging out there. The walk is a solid 20 minutes into town, but worth it if you want to bring a pet. They are very pet friendly and provide a nice gift basket for your pet. The breakfast was also nice. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This adorable little Inn is a great place to stay while in Kennebunkport. Less than a half mile from the Bush family compound (on the same road) it's waterfront location offers really nice views close to town, but far enough away from the hustle during high season. The room was nicely appointed, which was a pleasant surprise based on the property's curb appeal. Very nice landscaping and overall ammenities, but the buildings' exteriors could use a face lift. The staff was pleasant and the room was very clean. We plan to make this place our Inn of choice on our future trips to Kennebunkport. :-)

Room Tip: Travel in early to mid May for best possible weather, while beating the crowds! Lower number rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's a 50s style motel complete with musty smell. Was there for an overnight stay in Nov
Only way to describe the experience is weird. The woman at the desk when we checked in was curt and unfriendly ....heat in the room was turned off so it was COLD for an hour or so after we turned it on. The bathroom had mold and stains. The place needs a major renovation....on the plus side, the rooms have a beautiful view out to the river....and it's dog friendly. Way overpriced for what it is.

Room Tip: Not many options in this area if you're traveling with a pet, but if you aren't, go elsewher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was the first time staying at the Yachtsman. We were very pleased. Our room was very clean. The linens on the bed were modern and very comfortable. The view of the river is very pretty. The brandy with the cheese and crackers was a nice touch. The continental breakfast was tasty. Nice people. This was a very relaxing place to stay. We would definitely recommend staying at the Yachtsman.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yachtsman Lodge & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yachtsman Lodge & Marina

Address: 59 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Yachtsman Lodge & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachtsman Lodge And Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina Hotel Kennebunkport
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yachtsman Lodge & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.