We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Breakwater Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
127 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 27 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Lovely view from our third floor riverside building room. Very clean and attractive room. Staff extremely nice and helpful. Also had a nice time sitting on the lawn drinking wine watching the river go by. Would recommend to friends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    32
    14
    3
    9
See reviews for
16
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spent the weekend here with my husband and 2 daughters for a wedding there on the property. Our room was in the Spa building, it was a beautiful, spacious room on the top floor overlooking the docks. I loved that the room was very clean, with an extremely comfy bed. The staff was awesome, and the included breakfast at the Inn was nice. At $450/night I was expecting a little more, a pool, a beach, something? The wedding made for great fun, but relaxation clearly is the name of the game here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I spent a very nice weekend alone at the Breakwater. The room was small, but nice and clean. It was the spa that made our time really relaxing and special. You have access to the showers in the spa as a guest so we took full advantage! The staff was very nice and hospitable. We would come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed there over a summer weekend for an anniverasary and the overall experience was great. The staff was very attentive and helped with all questions. Rooms were impeccable and the gym facility was as good as if not better than those in much larger hotels. DId not get to use the Spa but from the looks of it it would have been great as well. Rooms with a water view are a nice way to wake up, and see the sights. The Continental Breakfast included was very good and set the tone for a realxing day

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redding ct
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The grounds are beautiful. The lobby and downstairs are very beautifully decorated though the carpet could be updated, looks worn. Our room was very nice and clean. We had a sitting room and a king size bed which were all very nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was in need of renovation. It really fell short compared to the rest of the place. It needs a major update. We also had cold showers both in the morning and evening. It took over 10 minutes for any sort of warm enough water to come out to have a comfortable shower. I told the person I checked out with and all I got was an apology. They should have taken something off the bill. We had dinner here and it was excellent. Great food, great service, lovely view. The breakfast was nice, nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had an 80 minute Swedish massage, and my massuese was very talented. She was professsional, and paid attention to areas that were sore and needed work. The spa is quiet and serene, and the relaxation room overlooks the river and marina close by. The robes are very comfortable, and last but certainly not least, they wrapped my feet in hot towels so the oils would be washed off and I would not slip on the floor, or in the sandals. Nice touch!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a great stay at The Breakwater Inn & Spa. The view was amazing, we just sat out in the yard for a while with a couple drinks. The rooms were very nice and welcoming. The spa is a little pricey...I got a manicure and pedicure and had sticker shock compared to the regular shops I go to in Chicago (but I guess that's to be expected).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Breakwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Address: 127 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport
The Breakwater Inn And Spa Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakwater Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.