We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where good service comes first!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhumb Line Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rhumb Line Resort to your Saves list
Rhumb Line Resort
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   41 Turbats Creek, Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Southampton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place where good service comes first!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family and I stay here every December for a few days. The off season price is perfect, the room is just right, the breakfast is what you would expect but the staff? AMAZING!! They go out of their way to make your stay even more enjoyable then it already is. The rooms are small, but fine for my husband young son and I. The indoor pool is wonderful as is the hot tub!! The ONLY complaint we have is the quality of the sheets. They seem very rough. Other then that, we seriously couldn't be happier. Will be staying again next year! Also it's set aside the main part of k'port so you are close enough to enjoy it but far enough way so that you feel secluded. Which I love! Again I can't say enough about the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    68
    37
    28
    17
See reviews for
93
71
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here in June with my wife, my parents, and my in-laws for a weekend in Maine. Location in Kennebunkport was ideal for exploring the southern Maine coastline and the service was very nice, however the rooms themselves were a bit run down and the particular building we stayed in had a pervasive "fishy" odor that was present throughout the stairwells and common areas. The hallways, stairwells, etc are poorly ventilated in general and open to the exterior. Hard to beat the price but if travelling to Kennebunkport again would probably pay a little more to stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBull, Owner at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I am so sorry you did not totally enjoy your stay with us. Your comment about the halls and odors is a bit surprising as I had not heard that from anyone. We are upgrading our rooms a section at a time and will continue until all is completed. We just installed all LG flat screen TV's in every room. With an establishment this size, there is always a project and we intend to use this off season to do as much as we can to keep everyone happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel was ok but although the room was cleaned to a reasonable standard, the condition of the carpet was stained and marked especially where you got in to the bed which a little off putting. The hallways had a stale smell and were messy. Breakfast was pretty much as you would expect fairly well equipped. The location was good very near, with a car, to lovely beaches and facilities. The big plus here are the staff who were very pleasant and helpful..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBull, Owner at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We do have some newly completed updated rooms and are in the process of refurbishing rooms a floor at a time. I'm wondering if the refurbished rooms were all booked as you should have been given the option. I hope that next time you stay with us, you will ask for one of our updated rooms with new carpeting, linens, curtains , etc. We always try to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We first found their ad in a local NH paper. We were looking for a new escape that we could depend on for regular stays any time of year. We found it ! Year round, the Rhumb Line offers a comfortable, clean,tidy,relaxing, and friendly atmosphere. Rates are reasonable and always include what they say they offer. Nothing is ever "out of order" - or "we don't offer that anymore". One year it was a special event for us-they even ordered local flowers for the room at our request. Their resent room decorating updates are really nice. The bedding/towels ALWAYS fresh. They not only care about your stay with them-but they care about your entire visit in Kennebunkport ! They say your name ... they wish you well ... all this is always expected ... but rarely to you get it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Need a relaxed party setting? Great food? Comfortable accomodations for you and your guests? We did all of this at the Rhumbline this past weekend - all with rave reviews from our guests! Lobster bake for 60? No problem! We got to watch the lobsters, steamers and corn being cooked in their outdoor kitchen at the poolside Admiral's Table with complete beverage service. The food was fabulous, right along with special dietary requests that were handled easily. When I asked what was normal I was met with tell us what you want and we'll make it happen - and they did! I felt that the staff went above and beyond to make our entire weekend enjoyable and memorable!
The Rhumbline is located an easy drive to all major attractions, but far enough out of "The Port" to be quiet and peaceful. We love it here - and I'm sure you will, too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are on a road trip to New England are for several weeks, found this resort on Trip Advisor, as one of top 5 places to stay in Kennebunkport, Me. The hotel is in a great location, just out of town, near Walkers Point where past Pres. George W. Bush lives, great views of ocean on way to hotel. The room was priced right, included a continental breakfast also. We only spent one night, accommodations and room were clean, entire facility just looks tired ? Needs a good painting and heavy cleaning.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you want an out of the way quiet place this is it. Located 3 miles outside of kennenbunkport but still close to everything this is the place. Rooms are average. We had the choice of a lower floor without much walking or the ada room with hight toliet. We chose the lower one. I would just wish when hotels replace toilets they put the higher ones in.

The staff was great she was only one that we met. Didn't get name but she did everything. Want directions, reservations she got it for you.

Ammenties were super. C breakfast was average but had fresh fruit salad.
Would stay there again

Room Tip: No spa. Search their website for the best deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
1.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#5 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhumb Line Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhumb Line Resort

Address: 41 Turbats Creek, Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rhumb Line Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Affordable Resort and only resort with indoor & outdoor heated pools, hot tubs and fitness center. Deluxe accommodations in a quiet wooded setting, short walk to ocean. On Ocean Ave, 1 mile to Walker's Point. Rooms with 2 queens or 1 king, AC/Heat, CCTV, mini fridge, coffee maker, deck or patio. Rooms include Continental Breakfast. On the Trolley Route. Kids 16 & Under Stay Free. Groups Welcome. Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rhumb Line Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhumb Line Hotel Kennebunkport
Rhumb Line Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhumb Line Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.