We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kennebunkport Inn to your Saves list
Kennebunkport Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Dock Square, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This Inn is just a few steps to shops and restaurants. The outdoor deck is a perfect place for happy hour . The rooms are beautifully decorated . Breakfast can be outside or inside - great selection of pastries and breads, juices and coffees. Don't miss this perfect place for first class service. Staff are very attentive and professional . Bikes ready for rental. Easy parking. Large bar area and outside fireplace and heaters. Dinner available .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Eatouts:

Thank you so much for your complimentary review! We are pleased with all that you were able to enjoy, especially our beautiful outdoor porch with its fireplace, your room, our complimentary bikes, and continental breakfast... Our entire staff looks forward to making your next visit as memorable as your recent stay!

Best regards,

KPI Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    135
    36
    19
    6
See reviews for
71
254
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

While their web site says the Wharf Rooms are in a separate building, no mention that the rooms are 3 blocks away, above noisy shops with NO sound insulation from street noise, hallway, between rooms, etc.
Avoid!!!
No service, walk 3 blocks to breakfast, no Inn charm

Room Tip: Stay in main Inn or elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear CJCJ Boston:

We are sorry that your overall experience with us did not meet your expectations. We are an Inn that prides itself on our exceptional customer service, and had we known you were not enjoying your stay in our Wharfside building (located across the street from the Main Inn), we would have done everything possible to remedy the situation.

Should you wish to discuss your stay with us further, a manager can be reached at 1-800-248-2621.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel was in a beautiful location. We had drinks on the sun deck with the sun shining and had a very good meal in the evening. As we were only staying one night we had one of the smaller river run rooms but it was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful although we were surprised to receive the bill for our evening meal before being asked if we wanted coffees to finish off. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Overnight stays choose any room for longer stays choose the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Alan D:

Greetings! We appreciate your recent review and we're glad you liked the location of the inn and your cozy riverhouse room. We are also pleased that you found our staff to be helpful. We are regretful that you felt rushed at dinner as it is our goal for everyone to experience a relaxing time while here. Please accept our sincere apologies, and please do visit us again so that we can show you the One Dock experience you were expecting.

Best regards,

KPI Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Everything you would want for a friendly comfortable stay. I enjoyed relaxing on the porch or walking to shops. The staff really makes you feel at home.
Excellent customer service and with a smile. The complimentary bike are a great idea. Loved the cleanliness and security during my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear TD:

Thank you so much for your glowing review! It is great to hear that our staff made your stay at the Inn feel like your "home away from home". We also appreciate your feedback pertaining to the cleanliness of the Inn. Our housekeeping staff will be thrilled as they continuously strive to make sure that our rooms are spotless... We hope that you are able to return to Kennebunkport again soon to enjoy all that this wonderful southern Maine coastal town has to offer!

Best Regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the wharfside rooms which are just across from the main inn and cheaper. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and a fair size for 2 people. Unfortunately we were in a room which had an internal door which joins the next door room. This door is thin and not at all sound proof - which is fine if you are staying with family or friends but we heard way too much of a stanger eg ablutions and snoring - he might as well have been in our room! Everything else was perfect though but I would highly recommend asking for a room that doesn't have this internal door feature.

The staff in the main inn could not have been more charming and friendly and the inn is situated right in the main square so perfectly located. They also hire bikes to you for free which is a nice touch. Continental breakfast is simple but does the job. Dinner in the restaurant was exceptional!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Caroline R:

Thank you for recent review. We appreciate your honesty regarding the connecting door in your room and we are truly sorry for your experience with hearing the guests next door. Should you return to the U.S. and Kennebunkport, please be sure to look us up again and we will place you in one of our many rooms that do not have connecting doors.

We do thank you for sharing the good experiences you had including your dinner, our friendly staff, our complimentary bikes, and our convenient in town location. We are happy to hear that, overall, we helped to make your stay enjoyable.

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Although the rooms were small they were clean and well equipped if a little jaded.the staff were very good and the restaurant food excellent.All round very central and convenient for what we wanted to do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Eileen P:

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased that you chose to stay with us at the Kennebunkport Inn... We are also happy to hear that our staff and restaurant, One Dock, met your expectations while you were here! Although you may have stayed in one of our smaller/"cozier" rooms, do keep in mind that we also have a variety of spacious accommodations including suites. We appreciate you as our customer and would love to see you again soon!

Best,

Kennebunkport Inn Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about this place. It was beautiful . Great location in the centre of kennebunkport and very peaceful. The room was a great size with huge comfy beds. My daughter had a lovely bed set up for her too which she loved. The staff were friendly and helpful making sure you had a great stay and you could tell from the outset that they if you had any problems that they would do their best to sort it out for you.
I would definitely revisit this inn. We stayed at four hotels in four diff areas whilst in America and this one was by far our fave. Wish I had a bed like that home :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Lizjasnat:

Thank you kindly for the glowing review of the Kennebunkport Inn! We are honored to think that you would consider us one of your "top picks" while vacationing in the area. Please DO visit us again when you return to Kennebunkport and the Southern Maine Coast!

Highest regards,

The Kennebunkport Inn Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Address: 1 Dock Square, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With four room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, One Dock, features native Maine favorites with a creative flair and dinner is served Wednesday through Saturday. Live entertainment is also featured in the piano bar on Friday and Saturday evenings from 7:30 - 10:30pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennebunkport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.