We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strange experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kennebunkport Inn to your Saves list
Kennebunkport Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Dock Square, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
hampshire england
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A strange experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This Inn/Hotel is very convenient to the town of Kennebunkport, but both my husband and myself felt that the atmospere was quite strange we felt almost invisible. we came and went "under the radar" There was never anyone on the reception and the staff were not easy to find.
The morning continental breakfast was average, but the resteraunt in the evening was excellent and not too expensive. the room was small but acceptable apart from the en-suite door that would not close due to the lock being in the wrong place. Overall I would say that for the price that we paid it was good value, but I don`t know that if we went to Kennebunkport again we would stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Touchwoodjudith:

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased that your One Dock dining experience met your expectations food-wise and otherwise. We are very disappointed to hear that you felt our staff was inaccessible during your stay. We value our guests and strive to always be available to meet any needs guests may have... Your experience is not the norm for us and we sincerely apologize. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to discusss your stay in more detail.

Highest regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    137
    37
    19
    6
See reviews for
71
263
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Inn during the end of the off-season in April. The room was small, as advertised and the bathroom was small as well. We did not at all mind the size of the room as it was just the two of us, but people should know that the shower does not have a handle or anything in it to hold on to and if you are tall you will have to duck. The decor was great and made the Inn a much better choice than a hotel. Also, the entire staff was VERY friendly. They always said hi when passing us in the hallways and offered to make a fire in the fireplace on the deck for us. I will definitely return to the Inn on future vacations in Kennebunkport because of the staff and they should be commended for their excellent service. The breakfast was good for continental - homemade granola, yogurts, frozen bagels, homemade muffins etc. It seemed they also offered hot choices on weekends, quiche etc, but we left on Saturday so we did not really get to experience it. You really can't beat the location of the Inn, as it is right in the heart of all of the shops/restaurants in Kennebunkport. Definitely DO check out the bar at the Inn with its live music and friendly locals. Definitely DO NOT eat dinner at One Dock. Surprisingly, that was the worst meal/service at any restaurant of our entire trip.

Room Tip: The room we were in was facing the deck. There were a lot of lights from the deck shining in our wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear SaireD:

Thank you for your candid Trip Advisor review. We are pleased to hear that you found our entire staff to be friendly throughout your stay. In addition, we appreciate hearing your positive comments regarding the decor at the Inn. We would love to have the opportunity to explore what happened in the case of your dining experience. One Dock is a very popular restaurant known for its outstanding food and service. Please feel free to contact our Dining Room Manager at 1-800-248-2621 as she would love to speak with you about your dining experience.

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in April 2013. The Inn itself is lovely- we had a nice room with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was small but functional. A continental breakfast was provided - fairly basic (cereal, fruit and muffins) but did the job and it was quite nice to actually eat some small portions! It was off season when we stayed so the hotel was very quiet, in fact I think we were the only guests on our second night! Even so, the staff were friendly and helpful, especially Holly, and I was able to arrange for a bottle of prosecco and a cake to be delivered to our room for my husband's birthday.
We ate in the hotel restaurant, One Dock, on the Sunday lunchtime and it was excellent - the food was delicious and we were given a complimentary glass of champagne to say congratulations on our wedding, which was a very nice touch.
Kennebunkport itself is a lovely place and has some nice shops and restaurants - we particularly enjoyed Allison's and Federal Jacks. Three days might have been a bit long to spend there off season as it was too soon for whale watching and a lot of the shops were closed, but we enjoyed our time there and would definitely stay in the Inn again, although probably in the summer months!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you, LBYork15, for your complimentary review! We are so pleased that we met your expectations and that we helped to make your stay memorable... We are glad that you enjoyed the culinary offerings at One Dock, and it was our pleasure to provide you with complimentary champagne to top off your celebratory getaway...

We look forward to your next summertime visit!

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I visited the Kennebunkport Inn during the spring, a great time to enjoy warmer weather while missing the summer tourist rush. I was immediately impressed by the appealing mix of classic charm with modern updates. The front desk staff member was very friendly and made us exciting for our mother-daughter stay. The inn offers a complimentary continental breakfast which includes warm foods to go beyond pastries. The location is also ideal -- right in the town square and a two-minute walk from restaurants and shops. While you are there, check out the Cottage Breeze Day Spa!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you, Bostonne,r for your review! We are pleased to hear that we met your vacationing expectations and that you also had a chance to enjoy the local flavor of Kennebunkport. We look forward to your return!

Best regards,

The Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms with a great fireplace, two comfortable arm chairs and a daybed set up as a couch for lounging - a really nice size for a great stay. The room was in the back so it was relatively quiet. The bathroom was small and a bit dated and didn't have enough counter space for our toiletries for only two people. The staff was friendly. The downtown location is the best - walking distance to good restaurants, though there is a restaurant on property, which is really nice if you like to just walk downstairs for dinner or a cocktail at the bar. Dinner was good but not outstanding - a solid choice though if you don't feel like venturing outside. A good casual place is Federal Jack's Brewpub (original Shipyard Brewing) just across the river - an easy 5 minute walk away. Breakfast is okay - it's not advertised as anything special - a simple continental breakfast with a few hot options that could really use some improvement. My husband ordered the chocolate covered strawberries when we booked - about 4-5 hours prior to our planned arrival. The hotel staff called us and explained that we needed 24 hours notice - so the surprise (for me) arrived on our second night! I highly recommend this special treat at a very reasonable price. All in all, I would return to the Kennebunkport Inn for the comfortable rooms and the location and would recommend it to a friend (with the few caveats mentioned above).

Room Tip: upgrade to a room with a fireplace in the winter months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you teatravels for your review. We are very happy to hear that you
enjoyed your spacious room with the gas fireplace. Thank you for your
comments about the lack of space for toiletries and such in the bathroom. It
can be challenging in an historic building with smaller bathrooms to
accommodate all of the things needed when we travel. This is something we
will definitely look into and see if we can come up with a solution to
include more bathroom storage. Thank you for choosing to dine at our
restaurant, One Dock. Your average meal is not the norm for us and had we
known you didn't find your meal outstanding, we would have done our best to
correct it. It was our pleasure to accommodate your last minute chocolate
covered strawberry request. We are glad they tasted as good as they looked!
We do hope you visit us again in the future. We would love to welcome you
back to the Kennebunkport Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a very well maintained and hospitable "downtown" inn. My family booked 4 rooms for an 80th birthday celebration for our mom. They were very accommodating to all requests. The restaurant on site is nice and convenient. They have an inviting piano bar, which is great. I hate it when dinner is over, and there's nothing to do but tv or board games, so this is a big plus. They do however, have board games.
The rooms are good sized, and tastefully decorated.
I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you Bostonchip for your review! It was our pleasure hosting you over the weekend for your mother's birthday party. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that the surprise party was a hit. Our piano bar is certainly lively and we love when our guests are able to relax and take advantage of it! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked in after a stressful few months at work. Only several hours away, we were very familiar with the greater Kennebunkport area. What a beautiful, elegant inn! Our room was on the back of the first floor with a fireplace which we had upgraded to - and so very worth it. Beautifully decorated room, too. From the front desk staff, (thank you Holly & Jill), to the dining room waitstaff, all were incredibly welcoming. The breakfast buffet was delicious, ample and hearty. We especially appreciated being able to lounge about in the dining area for however long we wished be it in the a.m. or the late afternoon. Their "One Dock" Restaurant is worth the price. My butter poached lobster and my husband's steak were outstanding. You must book in here. Off season is truly the best season, even though there are less places to visit, eat and shop. The beauty of the area, the lack of traffic, the quiet are all worth the colder seasons. And darn if that Easter Bunny passing out cookies wasn't hysterical!

Room Tip: The rooms with the gas fireplaces in the off season are truly the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you SandyBay001 for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us in the off season. You are right in thinking that the winter is the time to travel. It is a fantastic time of year to relax without all the hustle and bustle the summer brings. It is also a perfect time to run into the Easter Bunny!! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn, whether is be in the quieter winter months or the busy summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Address: 1 Dock Square, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kennebunkport
#4 Family Hotel in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With four room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, One Dock, features native Maine favorites with a creative flair and dinner is served seven nights a week. Live entertainment is also featured in the piano bar on Friday and Saturday evenings from 7:30 - 10:30pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennebunkport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.