We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kennebunkport Inn - middle of Winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Save Saved
You added Kennebunkport Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kennebunkport Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Dock Square, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Kennebunkport
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Kennebunkport Inn - middle of Winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have stayed here for 4 nights now, at one of the coldest cold snaps. -11o to +22o brrrr. Being the first of January, no one is in Kennebunkport (hardly), and I am the only guest here for two of the four nights. This is a beautiful 100+-year old Inn. It has a total of 49 room available during the high season (Memorial Day to Columbus Day). Most are shut down in the Winter. There are a variety of styles of rooms, and the staff is very friendly and accommadting to my needs and wishes, especially when I am the only one here. They serve a simple Continental Breakfast during weekdays, and a hot Breakfast of your choice on Weekends. The Bar is open on weekend evenings also. I am sure this place is bustling in the summer, as is all of Kennebunkport. But I do recommend the Winter Season. Special Attention, and the town is deserted.

Room Tip: ENJOY! Absolutely beautiful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you William G for your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your quiet visit to the Kennebunkport Inn. Winter is a nice time to come to Kennebunkport to relax and sit by the fire and read a good book. We like to show all of our houseguests the same attention and hospitality, whether it be a full house or just a couple of guests. With that said, I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations and were able to give you "one on one" attention. We hope if your travels bring you back to the area that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    127
    34
    18
    6
See reviews for
70
225
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rumford, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have visited this resort several times. Due to your very accommodating staff, excellent cuisine and the sweet courtesy of having the snow brushed off the car on a snowy morning, we will continue to do so. We looked forward to our recent visit on 12-29 with anticipation to see the recent renovations. But it left us with one question in our minds. WHY? Why the changes? We understand and fully appreciate that you would upgrade/update the facility from time to time in terms of carpet, linens, repairs ect, but your recent renovation left us a bit confused. Though it is now refreshed and bright with the new floors, wainscoting, new furniture and wall hangings, the old colonial seaport ambiance that we find so charming seemed to be discarded along with two lovely fireplaces (including one in the pub), and the rustic furnishings that we have come to love. Some of that charm has been replaced with Asian vases and chrome bubble mirrors giving the dining room feel of a New York nouveau club. Thankfully, the guestrooms were untouched in the recent renovations and retain all of the roominess and colonial charm that we love. We would have given the Inn a 5, but something was lost with the recent renovation,

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you JandK1958 for your review. We have definitely made some new and
exciting changes here at the Kennebunkport Inn this past year. I am sorry to
hear that you are not happy with the new decor. Our goal was to create a
balance of the "old" charm with the "new" style. It is important for us to
not lose the charm that keeps people coming back for years. Thank you for
your concerns as we to take all of our guests' thoughts into consideration.
We hope that the new decor will not keep you away, but attract you with the
exciting changes, such as the beautiful outdoor sundeck for catching some
rays and indulging in a cocktail and our large lobby for thumbing through
our various books or relaxing on the sofa. We would like to welcome you
back and hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I along with our two kids spent one night at this Inn to take in the holiday lights and relax. We love Kennebuckport and have typically stayed at the Breakwater, but I must say that I am in love with this Inn! It is very charming and the service is EXCELLENT. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. They serve a really nice complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning and staff is very friendly and welcoming. The location is ideal as you can walk to all the major restaurants and shops. It's the little things that made this Inn unforgettable...the Christmas decorations, the excellent piano bar enterainment, the staff and top notch service. We loved it so much we will be back this coming summer for a longer stay and also enjoy the beach. The only thing I wish this Inn had was a pool which is great for the summer. Other than that, I can't think of one thing that is missing. If you stay here, it will be an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you jetsetsun for your outstanding review! We are thrilled to hear about your fantastic experience here at The Kennebunkport Inn! It sounds like you took advantage of all we have to offer; from our plentiful complimentary breakfast to our most convenient intown location. Our lively piano bar provides entertainment 7 nights a week inseason. We look forward to welcoming you back this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent two days at the Kennebunkport Inn, over Thanksgiving, and quite frankly had the best time ever! Great weather, accommodations, shopping, and meals. The staff was great at the Kennebunkport Inn, and went out of their way to make sure we had a great experience. We definitely plan to go back again next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you pattyt30 for your wonderful review! When we can make a stay as terriffic as yours, we know we have met our goal of guest satisfaction! It sounds like you took advantage of our in town location and got to do some holiday shopping. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here in September for a couple of days and had a very enjoyable stay. The inn has a very welcoming, homely atmosphere and the staff were lovely. We were in the main building, which was more convenient than the annexe
The room we had was really large and well furnished. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and we couldn't fault it. The continental breakfast was very enjoyable and the cooked food was just fantastic. The dinner menu was very excellent and the meals were absolutely delicious.This Inn is well worth a visit. It is well placed in the resort, and the food alone makes it worth the stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building, as the annexe could be awkward in wet weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We only stayed for one night. Our room overlooked the decked area, which made it a bit noisy, but we enjoyed our stay and wished it had been for a bit longer, because we didn't get much of a chance to look round the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the decking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you HAEJJAP for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us albeit short. Our sundeck with the outdoor fireplace is new this year. I apologize that it was a bit noisy for you. We are looking into ways to manage this, as we want all of our guests to have a peaceful and comfortable stay while with us. We hope we can welcome you back for a longer stay and you are able to experience more of what our great little town has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We first stayed at the Kennebunkport Inn 13 years ago in 1999. We loved the Inn and the town the first time, we never forgot the place. We never thought we would get back there again, but we did. Our stay this second time around was as good as the first time. The Inn has changed a lot, it's certainly more modern now. Having originally booked a Wharfside Room, we were lucky to obtain a room upgrade to a beautiful room in the main building. We would have stayed an additional night, but there were no rooms available. Breakfast was very nice. We loved our second stay at the Inn and if we ever get the chance we'll stay there again.

Room Tip: I'd say the rooms in the main building are the better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you Vincent51 for your review. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again 13 years later. The Inn has definitly had some changes in that time, from our newly renovated lobby and dining rooms to our sundeck and outdoor fireplace. I am happy to hear that we were able to upgrade your reservation to a room in the main house to better suit your needs. If your future travels bring you back to Kennebunkport, we hope we can welcome you back to the Kennebunkport Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Address: 1 Dock Square, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With four room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, One Dock, features native Maine favorites with a creative flair and dinner is served Wednesday through Saturday. Live entertainment is also featured in the piano bar on Friday and Saturday evenings from 7:30 - 10:30pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennebunkport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.