We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sailing at a reasonable rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Eleanor Sailing Tours

Schooner Eleanor Sailing Tours
P. O. Box 572, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
(207) 967-8809
Website
Improve this listing
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great sailing at a reasonable rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very low key sailing experience with a really nice crew in board. The water was rough so the trip was cut short by a half hour but the captain also lowered the fare which was more than fare. They have blankets, binoculars and water on board. Definitely worth the $$. They also allowed us to park our car there before and after and stroll around the town of Kennebunkport which has great restaurants and shopping very close by.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, NY
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Enjoying the Maine Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Captain Rich and his crew sail a wonderful schooner that was restored by the captain himself. Our 2 hour tour was shortened by some threatening weather but no one minded as we experienced the beauty of the Maine coast from the deck of this beautiful schooner. Even the ship's dog, Hoss, made quite a few friends as he sailed along with us. It should be noted that the captain was kind enough not charge the full fee because of our early return and that cash or check are the forms of payment accepted. It was a beautiful sail despite the weather.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A short, but true sailing adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We went out on the Eleanor's first official sail of the 2013 season, and because it was mid-May, the wind off the ocean was bracing! The captain warned us before we set sail that he might cut the two-hour trip short if it looked like people were getting too cold, which he did in fact do. Despite the shorten time, we did get under full sail with all four sails set. It was exhilarating! Captain Rich Woodman and his first mate, Rick--both knowledgeable and long-time sailors--were fun and interesting to talk to. I would love to sail with them again--hopefully when it's a bit warmer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Great Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Beautiful schooner built by the captain. Very inexpensive for a 2 hour sail. Fabulous way to see the coastline. The captain and crew were friendly and informative. There are binoculars and blankets on board if it gets chilly and water is provided. You can bring on any snacks or drinks that you like. There is also a bathroom on board if needed. It was a gorgeous fall day and a lovely way to end a perfect weekend!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We wanted a relaxing sail around Kennebunkport and were so happy we decided to take the Eleanor Schooner with Captain Rich. The weather was lovely and we loved being able to sit close to the captain and ask him all about Kennebunkport. Don't forget to bring your own wine - it was nice to sail with a glass of wine in hand! If you want to see the beauty of the coast, I would highly recommend this sail. The staff were friendly and they definitely want you to enjoy yourself - I highly recommend!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Eleanor Sailing Tours also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Schooner Eleanor Sailing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Eleanor Sailing Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.