We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful architecture, location, hospitality and views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
140 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
“Beautiful architecture, location, hospitality and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Fantastic old colonial on the ocean in quaint and historic Kennebunkport, Maine very very classy with great service and location. Very easy walks to town and entertainment no need fo buses or driving. Great views of the water of course!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    102
    41
    25
    22
See reviews for
104
134
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We did rent the last room available, for a party of three, they were the only hotel to accomodate us at 7:30 pm. I found KBPT is more for couples than a party of three (should have gone to Ogunquit). Anyway, we stayed in the main house, the "limited view" means a view of the parking lot, beeping, honking and talking all night. With no a/c, we had to leave our one window open. At 5 am, 6 am and 7am, a baby was crying. After the all night parking lots wars, I was tired. Conversely, the location is fabulous, across the street from a beach, beautiful views, old-world ocean-view breakfast porch. For $450/night, I want to wake up refreshed. Would love to bring the dogs here as it is very dog friendly, the kids would have enjoyed the putt, putt golf and salt-water pool if we weren't so tired. The Bingo is two tables, three stuffed moose are given away and at 8:30 it was over (they said 9:00). I found the staff to be exceptionally helpful, informational and sympathetic, but the last room is just that. Probably wouldn't stay again because of the thin walls (it could have been worse than a baby crying!). Also be sure to get the ocean view rooms as it is either ocean or parking lot. no tv, dated decorating 80's wall paper and antique bureau's (treasured by some), hardwood floors, VERY CLEAN bathroom and room. Convenient parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOME
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

I stayed there with my husband and our preteen daughter. This is the second year we stayed for the July 4th weekend. Last year was very nice, so we decided that this would become a yearly tradition. What I now figure is that last year must have been a fluke, because the price had drastically increased this year (almost $500 / night), and the service had also degraded. Our first night was spent sitting on the porch at 10:30 pm drinking a glass of wine with my husband, while we listened to two dogs barking at each other on the hotel grounds. On the second night, the 4th -right after the fireworks ended -we brought two of our relatives and their daughter -who live in Kennebunkport vacinity -back to our room so they could see what the accomodations were like. At 10:25 pm, the manager knocked on our door and said we needed to be quiet. Our relatives then left, our niece stayed over, and my family proceeded to settle down for the night. My husband was almost sleeping when the manager knocked on our door once more at 10:55 pm. He was standing there with two other hotel employees and informed us that he had been standing at our door listening to my daughter and our niece whispering. He told my husband that we cannot whisper. My husband was insulted and infuriated by this statement and told us that we were leaving. At 11:20 pm, we packed up our car and departed -good riddance! We love Kennebunport, and will return, but NOT AT THIS HOTEL. Next time, we will be staying at the Nonantum Resort, at a much more reasonable price. I find it quite bizzarre how this night manager can indiscriminately knock on a hotel room door and tell guests that they cannot whisper. He obviously didn't have reason to knock the second time, because he didn't quite know what to say.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Just returned from our second trip to the Colony. We had stayed previously about three years ago. It was nice then, but has really improved! The service was better, the place seemed spruced up, and the views are still gorgeous. Who would not enjoy lounging by the heated salt water pool or sipping a drink on the veranda? We travel with our Lhasa Apso dog (who is exceptionally well-behaved). We did experience a couple of barking dogs, so as the other reviews say, it is probably more for people who are tolerant of pets. Also, remember this is a "green" hotel, so no TV or air conditioner is provided. Just enjoy the amazing views, the putting green, the pool, the beach, the shopping, and the restaurant, and you won't even miss them...

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

My party ranged in age from 5 years to 82 years. Everyone loved this place. The heated saltwater outdoor pool was a challenge in October, but we loved the evening swims. The artwork in the lobby showed experiences of turn of the century visitors, who lounged outside, participated in afternoon tea, or also enjoyed the beach. The beach really wasn't for swimming, and my older mother couldn't make the steep walk, but it was great for a long walk. We enjoyed our sail aboard the "Eleanor" which my mother was able to do. We highly recommend "Mabels" for lobster - it's small but the big names never miss it. The shopping was crazy crowded in the main street area, but I'm not a shopper. We also ate lobster at the dock where you board the Eleanor - very good. You pay $35 for a lobster, but it's worth it. How many times do you get to Maine? Back to the hotel - there is an elevator or staircase. We got the breakfast inclusive which was worth it - a nice, fresh buffet each morning in a dining area overlooking the grounds and seaside. We drove to the Bush compound for a view from the roadside, and of course the fall colors were outstanding. We luckily caught them in peak season around October 10th. The staff at the hotel front desk weren't exceptionally attentive, but were friendly. Our room was not air conditioned (just fine in October), it was comfortable and cozy. It was a little challenging not to have TV, just bring your ipod or be prepared to read. We discovered a TV room off the lobby and a library containing puzzles down the hall from that. We got hooked on a New England puzzle, and spend hours at it - even bought it at a souvenir shop later on the trip. My family played golf in the back grounds putting green. I learned to appreciate the serenity of the place and to plan on hanging out in the general areas - main lobby for tea, fireplace, library, restaurant, TV room, verandas, gazebo. It is a great place to unwind. Be wary of noisy guests and don't hesitate to contact the front desk - sound really carries in this place. Oh, and I'm a dog lover so I really enjoyed seeing the occasional well-behaved dog in the place.

  • Liked — location and views from our room, history and comfort of the place
  • Disliked — service, a bit pricey (but would do it again)
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

What a gracious and glorious experience! Make certain to sip a drink by the pool and watch the sunset! Play a game by the fireside in the lobby at night! This is a relaxing hotel "the way it used to be." The hotel is still family owned! The staff was all attentive and eager to please! Yes, most of them are from other countries, but they have great attitudes!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southborough, ma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

Very nice hotel, great view.
We loved the pool area.
Pets allowed so if you don't like dogs at the pool I would look for a different hotel.

  • Liked — the pool area with the ocean view
  • Disliked — pets allowed , no air conditioning and tv in the main hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kennebunkport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.