We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colony Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
140 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Dedham, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Colony Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have stayed at The Colony Hotel many times over the years. My review may be a bit bias as it is one of my all time favorite places to stay.The Colony is a historic hotel and it is well maintained in the style of the era in which it was built. If you are looking for an ultra modern suite this may not be the place for you but if you want quintesential coastal New England this is it! The building,grounds and location are just beautiful. Gorgeous gardens and views of the ocean. Great shoppping,dining and beaches nearby. I start to relax the minute we pull into the drive! Not to mention the fantastic breakfast buffet they offer every morning which is included in your stay.
I feel I must comment on an earlier reviewer who negatively reviewed the staff. I would just like to speak to how we have found them over the years. We have never found the staff to be unfriendly or unhappy looking. We have found them to be nothing but gracious and accomodating, They always go the extra step to make sure your stay is special. Last summer we stayed eight times and always they gave us the room we had requested. When we had friends come they managed to always get them in the same building and when our son unexpectedly came in from out of town in the middle of high season they found him a room and only charged the lower rate that we were paying for the room we we in. Those are only a few of the things we encountered with the staff. Many of them return year after year and they take great pride in making your visit memorable.

Room Tip: Book early to get the best rates. Very reasonable considering the location and a full breakfast incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    103
    41
    25
    22
See reviews for
104
134
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Tired, old, dark rooms and halls. Rooms need alot of updating. Unfriendly, unhappy looking staff. Not very clean. Perfect location, but thats about the only plus this hotel has to offer. Would be nice with some improvements.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Colony Hotel has been updated, but has kept the charm of one of the grand hotels of New England. The ocean view from our room was great, but the best views were on the beautiful porches on the back of the hotel. The included breakfast was just what you would expect when dining in a fine restaurant. The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Kennebunkport, so don't expect to walk from the hotel to the restaurants and shops there. A few shops and restaurants are a short walk away. We enjoyed a drink in the cozy pub downstairs. Note that the rooms don't have TVs if this is important to you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Colony Hotel just two years....in the same room we've requested. This is an old property that's been updated but in many areas has kept it's old charm. It's a hotel where many families have come for generations and keep coming back. During our last stay, there were several weddings. The buffet breakfast every morning is excellent as is the Friday nite Lobster buffet. The location and view of the ocean is wonderful. It's a nice walk into One Dock Square. Best to walk since the parking is not the best. A nice family resort or just a nice get away for couples no matter what your age.

Room Tip: Main building guest rooms have no air conditioning. But the fresh air is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We did not have a reservation but did not have a problem getting a room mid October. We drove to the East Coast to see the Fall color. We planned to drive through Kennebunkport....when we saw this hotel, we decided to stay the night. It was irresistible: the sprawling porches, dining room views, and the ocean. We loved our room with Waverly wallpapered walls, very clean and updated bathroom, and a lovely king bed. It felt like we stepped back in time! A wonderful breakfast buffet was included, and we sat with a great view of the water. We give this hotel the highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The moment we walked into the Colony Hotel when we were searching for a wedding venue a year ago, we knew this was the place for us. It really is the quintessential New England old world seaside resort hotel, with expansive porches & large windows to enjoy the sweeping sea views. The experience we had with our wedding there this fall was absolutely perfect, thanks to Christian McCrory & the fantastic staff at the hotel. Christian was a pleasure to work with from the start, always promptly responding to any questions or concerns I had, and making the entire process of wedding planning easy and stress free. The day of our wedding, I didn't have to worry about a thing, he handled any issues that came up, and as sweet as he is, was a bulldog for us when he needed to be. Everything ran so smoothly, and we were able to just relax and enjoy the day and the entire experience. The ceremony site and the ballroom are both absolutely beautiful, and our food that day was delicious. The resounding response from our guests was "Best wedding ever!" and although I'm probably a little partial, I completely agree :)

Room Tip: If you're traveling with family or a few other couples, look into renting the Florence House tog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Came to The Colony for a nursing leadership conference. What a wonderful location. Talk about old New England charm. From the minute you go in you are welcomed by a wonderful staff. I had a room facing the ocean. Very large and spacious with comfy beds. It was very cold in the room and it took me a while to realize there was baseboard heating that had a knob on the end of it. We had breakfast and lunch as part of the conference. For buffet style the food was quite good and I have to say the clam chowder was excellent. The accommodations for the conference was the standard that you would find anywhere, but the young woman who took care of things was lovely. Nice little bar area for watching the Red Sox. There are no tvs in the main hotel, but to quote my husband "that is an attraction for some people!!!" I highly recommend this destination.

Room Tip: Face the ocean, and higher up for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kennebunkport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.