We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oozes charm & Kennebunkport is lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
140 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Oozes charm & Kennebunkport is lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a multi-family reunion in August of 2012 and this is a great family resort (it was our first visit). The hotel is a 1920's resort which just oozes charm. We had a younger group of kids - from 3 to 13 years old and there's much to do - lay-out/play by the pool, put-put golf, reserved the resorts's biked and peddled around the city. We had a room overlooking the ocean which was devine keeping the windows open and hearing the waves crash in. The kids especially enjoyed the game room at night and the adults enjoyed having cocktails on the veranda. Highlights - biking around the town and admiring the beautiful houses, watching the summer weddings at the resort, sitting on the veranda and trying some of the restaurants in town. We made the resort's buffet one of the nights which is surprisingly good (disclosure - I'm not a buffet fan). Nonetheless, eating in the large dining hall with the others guests having lobster was quite fun. If we didn't live on the west coast, I'd make a habit of visiting. Really special and worth the price - giving it an excellent due to the charm factor and overall enjoyment of the trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fairhaven
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great family get away. The ocean views are beautiful but the hotel has an old 1920's resort feeling and that is what makes this place so special. Our room was large with a very nice bath. We loved it. The windows open so we could hear the crashing waves. No tv in our room was actually pleasant for all of us. We played board games in one of the hotels smaller public rooms. It was nice seeing our teenage son enjoying reading rather than being plugged in. It was a relaxing weekend. We only had breakfasts there but they were great - we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed September 2012, and our room was wonderful. We fell asleep to the sounds of the ocean. We had originally wanted a King room, so second night we moved to the other side of the hotel, once again lovely room. Only draw-back was that we had a wedding dance directly below our room, but to be fair all noise stopped at 9:00pm. We had our pet with us and this place is so friendly to pets. We had our dinner on the lovely old varanda and our dog could sit by the table.
All and all a great stay, wonderful rooms and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, facing the sea probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravels647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

In early October 2012 we took a couple days off before attending a business conference in Boston and stopped overnight in Kennebunkport, ME with some friends before moving north to Portland, ME.
The hotel is a short drive to the small, quaint host of shops and restaurants in town. We all felt like we had stepped back in time while staying at the hotel. Yes, the rooms were smaller than most modern hotels... but we expected that. They were clean and cozy. We were impressed with how the night manager handled a very unruly, out of control guest who had over indulged during a wedding reception held there. He was escorted off the property instead of being put in jail. The restaurant food was excellent and the views picturesque.

Room Tip: Water side of hotel is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Historic Hotel. We have stayed here the last two Octobers and have been very happy each time. Great location with very scenic views. Love the large porches, enjoyed a bottle of wine overlooking the ocean, the hotel staff was very accommodating and provided us glasses. We liked that the rooms have few distractions, there is a community tv parlor if you just have to have a tv fix. Will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Colony while speaking at a conference at the end of October. This location is perhaps the prime piece of commercial real estate in Kennebunkport. It is a short walk to the town center with lovely shops and to Walker Point for a magnificent view of the north Atlantic. I took advantage of the latter for a run in the mornings, as there is no fitness room.

The hotel is one of the great hotels of a previous era. While it is restored for modern use, it retains the decor of the past, which is lovely. The staff are very kind, the rooms are large with modern and spacious baths, and the breakfast (included in my stay) was great. Where else can you eat breakfast with a gorgeous view of the ocean? The hotel has a heated pool and it was being used even at the end of October. I wish I had thought to bring my swimsuit!

The down side, as has been mentioned in previous reviews, is the thinness of the walls. Given the fact that people were coming and going in the halls till quite late at night, and my neighbors were on the loud side, it was difficult to sleep. Thankfully I have learned to bring ear plugs, but I wish I had brought a white noise machine too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dedicatedhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Really a mixed bag - the good: excellent location with phenomenal views, including extraordinary sunsets (it helped that weather was extraordinarily beautiful), mostly exuberant staff. The not so good: we happened to be there for "dog weekend" - with yappy hour, etc. Constant dog barking, inside & out, & dog owners screaming (at their dogs), that combined with thin walls & floor/ceilings made for an extraordinarily noisy weekend. Hotel staff seemed more focused on the dogs than patrons. It's also a conference center so lots of traffic, people & cars. No spa services. No gym. Beautiful grounds. Poor wifi service, even in lobby. Another plus: it's a non-smoking facility.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DM1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.7 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing