We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a quiet family get-away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
140 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Fairhaven
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice for a quiet family get-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great family get away. The ocean views are beautiful but the hotel has an old 1920's resort feeling and that is what makes this place so special. Our room was large with a very nice bath. We loved it. The windows open so we could hear the crashing waves. No tv in our room was actually pleasant for all of us. We played board games in one of the hotels smaller public rooms. It was nice seeing our teenage son enjoying reading rather than being plugged in. It was a relaxing weekend. We only had breakfasts there but they were great - we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    119
    51
    28
    23
See reviews for
124
146
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed September 2012, and our room was wonderful. We fell asleep to the sounds of the ocean. We had originally wanted a King room, so second night we moved to the other side of the hotel, once again lovely room. Only draw-back was that we had a wedding dance directly below our room, but to be fair all noise stopped at 9:00pm. We had our pet with us and this place is so friendly to pets. We had our dinner on the lovely old varanda and our dog could sit by the table.
All and all a great stay, wonderful rooms and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, facing the sea probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

In early October 2012 we took a couple days off before attending a business conference in Boston and stopped overnight in Kennebunkport, ME with some friends before moving north to Portland, ME.
The hotel is a short drive to the small, quaint host of shops and restaurants in town. We all felt like we had stepped back in time while staying at the hotel. Yes, the rooms were smaller than most modern hotels... but we expected that. They were clean and cozy. We were impressed with how the night manager handled a very unruly, out of control guest who had over indulged during a wedding reception held there. He was escorted off the property instead of being put in jail. The restaurant food was excellent and the views picturesque.

Room Tip: Water side of hotel is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Historic Hotel. We have stayed here the last two Octobers and have been very happy each time. Great location with very scenic views. Love the large porches, enjoyed a bottle of wine overlooking the ocean, the hotel staff was very accommodating and provided us glasses. We liked that the rooms have few distractions, there is a community tv parlor if you just have to have a tv fix. Will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Colony while speaking at a conference at the end of October. This location is perhaps the prime piece of commercial real estate in Kennebunkport. It is a short walk to the town center with lovely shops and to Walker Point for a magnificent view of the north Atlantic. I took advantage of the latter for a run in the mornings, as there is no fitness room.

The hotel is one of the great hotels of a previous era. While it is restored for modern use, it retains the decor of the past, which is lovely. The staff are very kind, the rooms are large with modern and spacious baths, and the breakfast (included in my stay) was great. Where else can you eat breakfast with a gorgeous view of the ocean? The hotel has a heated pool and it was being used even at the end of October. I wish I had thought to bring my swimsuit!

The down side, as has been mentioned in previous reviews, is the thinness of the walls. Given the fact that people were coming and going in the halls till quite late at night, and my neighbors were on the loud side, it was difficult to sleep. Thankfully I have learned to bring ear plugs, but I wish I had brought a white noise machine too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Really a mixed bag - the good: excellent location with phenomenal views, including extraordinary sunsets (it helped that weather was extraordinarily beautiful), mostly exuberant staff. The not so good: we happened to be there for "dog weekend" - with yappy hour, etc. Constant dog barking, inside & out, & dog owners screaming (at their dogs), that combined with thin walls & floor/ceilings made for an extraordinarily noisy weekend. Hotel staff seemed more focused on the dogs than patrons. It's also a conference center so lots of traffic, people & cars. No spa services. No gym. Beautiful grounds. Poor wifi service, even in lobby. Another plus: it's a non-smoking facility.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were in Kennebunkport in October 2012 to attend our good friends' wedding. As it was after Columbus Day weekend, many attractions in Kennebunk were closed so plan your trip accordingly!

What We Loved:
Beauty of Hotel
Helpfullness of the Front Desk
Sunset Views

What We Disliked:
Thin Walls
Check In at 4pm
Lack of Service Staff Attending to Cleaning Rooms

As for the hotel though, it's a gorgeous New England style historical hotel right on Ocean Ave with perfect views of the rock jetties and ocean sunsets. We loved this aspect. I was shocked when I called to see if we could get an early check in that the actual check in time isn't until 4pm. This seems rather late compared to most hotels considering their check-out time is early at 10am.
We immediately got checked in though and headed to our room to which we found that our bathroom door didn't close. This is not something we were ok with. We called to have someone take a look. Ten minutes later, we were immediately alerted to the thin walls as we heard a young child stomp up and down the stairs for about 15 minutes. I immediately went downstairs to ask for a new room as there was no way we were going to be able to sleep in the room at all that weekend.
The staff was very pleasant and were willing to change our room with no questions asked. They showed me a new room in the North Wing and it was better, the bathroom door closed, and we had a partial view of the ocean. We accepted it.
Unfortunately though, we heard noise all night- even snoring from the next room! Anytime someone was walking in the hall we heard that as well. I realize that this is the price you pay for staying in old hotels but we wouldn't recommend it.
Lastly, Saturday morning we lazily laid around the room, leaving at 1pm. We put out the service notice on the door, and coming back at 5:30pm our room was still not clean. We called asking or new towels and they brought them promptly but no action was taken to clean our room while we were out from 7pm-12pm.

Our stay also included a breakfast buffet with a la carte add ons- I liked that they were offering lobster Benedict.

All in all, if you're looking to get lots of rest I wouldn't recommend this hotel- especially not in the peak of summer when there are lots of families.

Stop by the hotel for a late afternoon cocktail, grab a cocktail, and watch the sunset.

Room Tip: Don't take room 118
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.