We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old hotel, but hard to sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colony Hotel
140 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Kennebunkport
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful old hotel, but hard to sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were in Kennebunkport in October 2012 to attend our good friends' wedding. As it was after Columbus Day weekend, many attractions in Kennebunk were closed so plan your trip accordingly!

What We Loved:
Beauty of Hotel
Helpfullness of the Front Desk
Sunset Views

What We Disliked:
Thin Walls
Check In at 4pm
Lack of Service Staff Attending to Cleaning Rooms

As for the hotel though, it's a gorgeous New England style historical hotel right on Ocean Ave with perfect views of the rock jetties and ocean sunsets. We loved this aspect. I was shocked when I called to see if we could get an early check in that the actual check in time isn't until 4pm. This seems rather late compared to most hotels considering their check-out time is early at 10am.
We immediately got checked in though and headed to our room to which we found that our bathroom door didn't close. This is not something we were ok with. We called to have someone take a look. Ten minutes later, we were immediately alerted to the thin walls as we heard a young child stomp up and down the stairs for about 15 minutes. I immediately went downstairs to ask for a new room as there was no way we were going to be able to sleep in the room at all that weekend.
The staff was very pleasant and were willing to change our room with no questions asked. They showed me a new room in the North Wing and it was better, the bathroom door closed, and we had a partial view of the ocean. We accepted it.
Unfortunately though, we heard noise all night- even snoring from the next room! Anytime someone was walking in the hall we heard that as well. I realize that this is the price you pay for staying in old hotels but we wouldn't recommend it.
Lastly, Saturday morning we lazily laid around the room, leaving at 1pm. We put out the service notice on the door, and coming back at 5:30pm our room was still not clean. We called asking or new towels and they brought them promptly but no action was taken to clean our room while we were out from 7pm-12pm.

Our stay also included a breakfast buffet with a la carte add ons- I liked that they were offering lobster Benedict.

All in all, if you're looking to get lots of rest I wouldn't recommend this hotel- especially not in the peak of summer when there are lots of families.

Stop by the hotel for a late afternoon cocktail, grab a cocktail, and watch the sunset.

Room Tip: Don't take room 118
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    86
    36
    24
    20
See reviews for
85
120
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Agawam, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I recently got married at the Colony. We can't say enough good about the hotel and wedding process. Yes, it's a little old school, but it's a historic hotel so that's to be expected. Portland probably has a Marriott if that's more your thing. We had a small wedding with only about 40 close family members. We have been to the hotel numerous times and knew that's where we wanted to get hitched. We always travel with our 2 dogs, and the hotel is VERY dog friendly. The dogs were even in the wedding. Try to get a 90 lb retriever in a doggie tux! There are people cleaning all the time, so even with the pups the hotel is clean. Rooms are great, staff, everything is fantastic. If anyone happens to be looking for a destination wedding in that area, check it out. We had a main wedding coordinator we dealt with for the whole planning rocess, and a second one that was with us the day of the wedding to make sure it all went as planned. We can't say enough good about both of them. Knowledgeable, attentive, very easy to work with and great to just hang out with and relax. Every one of our guests told my wife and I that it was the best wedding they had ever been to, and it's because the staff made sure it all went as planned. Not one thing could have been better. How many people have a zero stress wedding planning story?? You don't have to get married there, just go stay. You'll have fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Colony has the charm and essence of traditional Maine. From the fresh baked blueberry pies to the flowered wallpaper in the rooms. We stayed a few days and were charmed with the ambiance. The staff is international in source...and that made the conversations in the bar and at breakfast facinating. Overall a great home base for the lobster and great views that are ever-present.

Room Tip: Get a view..but it seems that all the rooms have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Attended a family wedding here yesterday. We pulled our car up front and were immediately harkened back to an older time. The front lawn with adirondack chairs, the lovely front porch with seating, the shuffle board court, the horseshoe pit and the bicycles with baskets on the fronts stacked in a rack out front all added to the charm of an old country resort.

The lobby is lovely with lots of comfy sofas and chairs and a roaring fire in the fireplace. The staff was friendly and helpful. Sounds great so far right.....well, the wedding was outside over-looking the ocean and late afternoon...it was darn chilly! Then cocktails and delicious passed appetizers were served on the beautiful back porch with a beautiful ocean view.....again, CHILLY! If you are going to offer these services in October in Maine, invest in some portable heaters!!!!!

On to the ballroom...lovely and spacious. The food was amazingly good. This was a big wedding with approximately 150-175 people and the food was hot when it arrived at our table. That is a plus in my book! We started with clam chowder which was the only item that was not yummy. All I could taste was flour...ick. But that was followed by a very fresh mesculin green garden salad with candied walnuts...delicious and crisp. The main course was filet mignon and a lobster tail. The filet was perfectly medium rare and the lobster tail was as fresh as could be! The mashed potatoes were also good and cups of drawn butter were served on the side.

They gave an appropriate amount of time between the courses and didn't rush us at all....Major kudos for service and the quality of the food (except for the chowder of course).

We will definately take a trip up for a weekend in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Colony Hotel for two nights in the main building. The upsides: beautiful location, very clean room, pleasant staff, comfy bed (great firm mattress), and the breakfast rocked. The downside: this place is LOUD. It is actually impossible to close the doors without them making a slamming noise. The walls were paper thin, so every time the baby in the room next door cried, packs of children ran up and down the hallway screaming at 7am (yes, both mornings), or cleaning staff yelled at each other down the hallway early in the morning, it seemed as though it were happening in your room. My boyfriend and I can sleep through almost anything and were each woken up a few times each night. This hotel would be a great choice, though, if they spent some $$$ on some insulation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The main house has no AC or TV. That was fine. I was told in advance. What I wasn't told was that when you open your windows you hear everything on the deck. There are a lot of families with loud children on the patio and in the pool late at night. It sounds like they are right in your room! Additionally, last night up until midnight, there were people walking through the halls talking very loud. Again, it sounded like they were in your room. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful and it sits on prime property overlooking the ocean. Unfortunately, the thin walls and lack of curfew for noise, subtract from the peacefulness that it should provide. Way over priced for no amenites and extremely dated rooms and thin walls. VERY disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel with a quaint, old New England feel. I have literally never stayed in a hotel this loud before though. The walls are paper thin. If anyone so much as walks out of their room and let's the door slam (yes, all of the doors slam automatically), you're wide awake. Kids running in the hall, staff cleaning vacant rooms, whatever -- wide awake. I can tell you this with certainty, as I'm laying in bed at the hotel right now, early in the morning, and WIDE AWAKE!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.