We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous restaurant, amazing food, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earth

Earth
354 Goose Rocks Road, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
(207) 967-9050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Earth is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hidden Pond Lane
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous restaurant, amazing food, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Went here last night. I was blown away by the design and grounds. It is, hands down, one of the most beautiful places I have ever been in. It was very artfully designed with a natural feeling in mind. The food was delicious and staff was attentive and friendly. And they were very accommodating and friendly about seating us right away even when I stupidly messed up my reservation time and thought it was later than it was and arrived a half hour late.

The food is expensive but I knew that when I made the reservation and I'm from New York City so I knew what I was getting into. I think it was worth it and for visitors from major cities used to higher prices, this was definitely a good value.

**Not sure if you can request specific tables, we sat near the window on a porch like area in the back but I would definitely request to sit in the main room next time because that is where the real ambience is.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    36
    33
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gorham Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very, very overrated. I speak as a Portland restaurant aficionado. Our service was poor: The bartender was thrust into the role of waiter, the dishes were not explained, I was surprised that there were no specials, the dishes were uninteresting and were no better than average in execution: the foie gras was overcooked,the pasta overcooked and its sauce was indistinguishable, a wrong dish was served to one of our party and the server was confounded as to how to correct the error, dessert and coffee were not offered. The setting is certainly pleasant. Drive up the road. Portland is a half our away. Close your eyes and you can't miss a terrific meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, General Manager at Earth, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
MaineDoc,
Reading a review like this is disconcerting. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your experience at Earth.

We do keep our outside tables on the pool deck and garden available for patrons who have not secured reservations for the restaurant ahead of time and seat them all on a first-come, first-serve basis; the same applies for both of our bars. We were able to accommodate you without a reservation, so it saddens me to hear you voice your discontent about being served by our bartenders. We only wanted to be accommodating and offer you the full menu at our bar. Our bartenders are knowledgeable, and would have gladly explained any dish that came to you. I will bring this to the attention of the staff and emphasize that we should be more perceptive and look for those guests who might enjoy a more in depth description of their food upon presentation. I am sorry you were not offered dessert and coffee. It is our expectation that each guest is offered dessert menus, and I apologize we did not extend an invitation.

We do not offer “specials”, but we do change our menus on a very frequent basis. The tuna dish was new to our menu the night you joined us, but instead of verbally offering a “special” we choose to add new items to our written menu. It is our hope that our servers and bartenders do bring these items to light when going over the menu with our guests; we will also review this point with our team.

We encourage you to come and dine with us again at Earth. It would be my pleasure to make you a reservation in the dining room, and make sure your server knows that you enjoy each dish explained upon presentation. We are happy to do so, and are proud of the food we serve and unique ingredients used in our dishes. If it is a unique dish you seek, we know we can guide you in a direction to make certain you have that experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Evening at Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Do not miss this experience if you are near Kennebunkport. There is not a better dining experience, more beautiful setting or all around great experience. We sat outside which was a bonus as it was a beautiful evening and it is quieter than inside plus you experience the beautiful grounds. We each had a different entrée and believe me you cannot go wrong with anything on the menu. Best night of our week long visit. Don't miss it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very special place - even more special chef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Some restaurants earn their reputations by preparing exotic dishes with expensive ingredients. Our experience was that Earth simply prepared it's farm-to-table dishes to be among the best I've ever eaten. When a chef can turn raw oysters into a rare treat by preparing an other-worldly mignonette sauce, a pasta dish with "stinging nettles" and "rain deer moss" that was perhaps the finest pasta dish I've eaten, and a foie gras "tamale" that would make Rick Bayless envious, his talent is truly remarkable. Yes, the restaurant was gorgeous...and set in a spectacular location: but the food was the real star...Bravo! I only regret that I live 1500 miles away and will have to wait until next summer to return

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I ever had.......Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Truly a great dining experience. We were not staying at the resort and had never heard of the restaurant or the resort before this trip. We saw the write ups on Earth on Trip Advisor and Y...p! and had to try it. The ladies who took my reservation, could not have been nicer, we were waitlisted and were eventually given a good time to eat. From the grilled peaches, to the salad, to the pizza, to the oven roasted potatoes, to the lobster to finishing off this great meal with a great dessert. I highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely come back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.