We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood chowder and mac'n cheese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran's Chowder House

Gran's Chowder House
24 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046-6141
207-967-5844
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Seafood chowder and mac'n cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I ate at Grans for a quick lunch. Prices are decent. Seafood chowder and mac n cheese were good. Friendly staff.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    29
    6
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best chowder ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived at Gran's just as the owner was locking up early but she opened up again just for us to buy some clam chowder. It was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best clam chowder going!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I just discovered Gran's Chowder House tucked in the rear of a little shopping area facing Ocean Avenue in beautiful Kennebunkport at Dock Square. We had wonderful, truly wonderful, clam chowder. Classic chowder rich in clams and flavor. I also had a turkey gobbler panini which was excellent. Great taste and plentiful. Tucking away half of the sandwich for later, I could not pass up the homemade blue berry pie a la mode--perhaps the best ever. I'lll be back soon and often.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great homemade seafood&dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Awesome blueberry pie and superb chicken salad sandwich. Delightful service as well. The young owner said that most items were her grandmother's receptors.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great eat and go chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This little hole in the wall makes some awesome chowder - you should same it once while in Kennebunk.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran's Chowder House also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks

Been to Gran's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.