We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quick getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge on the Cove to your Saves list
Lodge on the Cove
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   29 South Main Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Weston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great quick getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Lodge in July.It had only been open 3 weeks.The property was immaculate .The staff went above and beyond to let us get into our room early as we had a function to get to.We had a marvelous lunch at the pool .It so reminded me of sitting poolside in Bermuda.The best entertainment was watching the river go from water to mud flat in the hour we ate.Brekafast in the lobby was delightful.I highly reccomend the Cove if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Kennebuck.I am a spoiled Travel agent so to get a great review means it was Fantastic.Thank you Cove.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay with us at the lodge on the cove. I'm sure that you have been to many amazing placing for your occupation. We appreciate that you loved our setting, the tidal cove, the Dory, and your room. Please choose to stay with us again we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derry, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just returned from a weekend at the Lodge on the Cove. We venture to Maine almost every other weekend and stay at premium hotels, cottages, and B&B. But our stay at the lodge has proven to be our new Happy Place. The lodge has recently been done over and reflects a beautiful retro kind of hip vibe. The guest rooms are crisp and clean and have the feel of an upscale Boston type $$$$ hotel. The beautiful common area was so inviting with all the separate seating areas which included comfy chic sofas, books, lovely upholstered chairs and windows, windows, windows overlooking the Cove and the lively pool area. We had yummy shark bites and salad for lunch at the lodge's poolside restaurant, the Dory. The Dory itself was definitely designed with a funky, delightful atmosphere in mind. Cocktails by the pool sitting in a rocking chair was so relaxing. The lodge offers use of cruising bikes, beach passes, chairs, and towels. Breakfast was simple but FRESH. Homemade zucchini bread, yogurt, granola, fruit, deviled eggs, hardboiled eggs and of course Coffee, tea and juice. All of this in a quiet location but not far from Dock Square. We love, love, love our new happy place in Kennnebunkport and are already planning our return.

Room Tip: We had room #23 which was the end unit on the second floor. It was very quiet away from the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for appreciating the detailed work that went into designing the lodge on the cove. We were lucky to have amazing people to help put all the pieces of the puzzle together to make this place a great setting for all who travel. We send out great thanks to you for staying with us and enjoying everything that the lodge has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed labor day weekend with our two kids (6 and 7) and loved it. It is a high-quality converted motel in a great location with a hip surf-lodge, yet Maine vibe that is perfect for families with kids. Our room was more than clean and well-appointed with a great bed, sheets, and quality towels. Does not have any of the old-musty, thin sheet and towel-feel of many small resort hotels or motels, but was perfect for us, a NYC family.

Management is clearly focused on the details and staff is a great help with whatever is needed from any fixes to beach passes, beach chairs and towels to dinner reservations.

Room Tip: Our room was closer to the main lodge and pool, which we liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
So glad that you were able to make family memories to remember for years to come. Please visit us again during the kids school vacation next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have been to the restaurant only , though it is a resort. It is a great casual spot for lunch or dinner and/or drinks -- appetizer type food only but very fresh -great burgers -- The staff is very friendly and helpful - Marcello, the bartender and Loretta, the waitress are accommodating .The environment is so relaxing, as the place has been all redone with a wonderful poolside bar and its location on a cove. We hope they remain open thru early Nov. as sure they would attract locals as well as tourists. The lobby to the resort, also new, is very attractive. The ping pong table is a big hit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed our food and fun poolside activities. We will be opened until the end of October so please stop by again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of four with 2 kids, ages 4 and 7. We had an amazing time as we stayed on property for a week in Aug. The place has a really cool design but still keeps the feeling of Maine. The staff was very warm and welcoming. They were able to provide beach passes, beach chairs, towels, great restaurant recommendations and had bikes on property to explore with. The pool was cleaned each morning and stocked with swim noodles and goggles. We were pleasantly surprised to discover that it's Salt Water, not chlorinated. It was really nice not to smell like a bunch of chemicals after you got out! There were tons of amazing books, boards-games to play with, ping pong and a bean bag toss that the kids loved. We did family Yoga with Erin by the Cove the morning we left. The drinks and food were really yummy. They also have live music by the pool on certain nights.

I picked fresh blueberries directly off the bushes outside of our room to add to my yogurt each morning. The kids loved the muffins and deviled eggs.

There was a mix of younger and older couples, some with and without kids. We made friends with our neighbors who had a younger son. After our kids went to bed, we would have a glass of wine on the porch outside our room. Very relaxing.

The entire family took a bike ride into town one evening, it's only 5 mins away.

We will definitely be back next year. Look no further, you found exactly where you need to be.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
You had such a great experience while you were here! We are glad that you were able to enoy all that we had to offer. Can't wait to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you're planning a trip to Kennebunkport, I can recommend without reservation this hotel as a place to stay. The hotel is circa 1970's but completely renovated top-to-bottom in June 2013. The room was well-appointed and extraordinarily clean and comfortable. The staff are professional and courteous. The amenities are basic from a swimming pool to croquet to bicycles. My only comment of improvement would be for the hotel to improve on its food and beverage department. The food was mediocre and the continential breakfast was served in plactic containers and was, in my mind, not of high quality. Having said that, I did not visit for the hotel food and that would not disuade me from returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdivsor. We appreciate and honor your feedback in regards to our food and beverage department. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy the food that we served. Our property has a very laid back casual feel. Our breakfast is not a full breakfast but more of a breakfast you can grab and go to enjoy the day around town or the beach.
We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had so much fun at the Lodge on the Cove we didn't want to leave. It was a perfect family spot, with a groovy vibe for adults. Loved the decor in the lobby and the poolside bar , it was sophisticated, yet fun. Beach passes, cute yellow and white towel and new blue beach chairs were available to borrow for a day at the beach as were bikes for riding around the beautiful back roads around the lodge. Breakfast muffins, fruit, granola and yogurt were out each morning along with coffee tea and juice and it was great to hang out in the lobby and look out over the pool and the cove over breakfast.

From the minute we arrived, we felt happy to be there. We brought our kids, and they had a great time swimming, playing ping pong, doing the bean bag toss, checking out DVDs and getting snacks at the poolside bar. The adults loved the happy hour along with the live music each evening.

We were on the "no plan plan" and Christie, the manager, couldn't have been more helpful at helping us figure out what to do and making recommendations. Julia, Marcello and Loretta were also standouts.

We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Next time we return (with more advanced planning) we would request the rooms just past the lobby ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We appreciate your kind words. It is nice that you family got to experience all that we have to offer at the lodge. Your experience is exactly what we are hoping for; a family that the kids can play and the parents can relax! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Cove

Address: 29 South Main Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge on the Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on the Cove offers a modern and light hearted approach to the quintessential relaxed Maine experience. This newly furbished classic motor lodge is nestled on a wooded cove in Kennebunkport with a relaxed, yet refined, feel. The Lodge offers a vibrant mix of vintage, classic and contemporary furnishings, bold patterns and an upbeat color palette. It is a combination of natural elements, nautically inspired accents and local art that together bring an organic and eclectic Maine vibe. The Lodge will be the hub of activity with check in, lobby and a poolside bar – the perfect place for relaxing and soaking up the fresh Maine air. Onsite bar and restaurant, The Dory, will offer a wide array of fresh cocktails along with simple and delicious light fare. Glass doors open up to the pool deck creating a spacious area for games, gathering, dining or to simply just laze about. Welcoming and unassuming, The Lodge on the Cove is a happy place to visit, perfect for multi-generational travel, couples and young families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Lodge on the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cove Hotel Kennebunkport
Lodge On The Cove Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.