We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hideaway Worth Finding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge on the Cove to your Saves list
Lodge on the Cove
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   29 South Main Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Haledon, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Hideaway Worth Finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Kennebunkport, Maine. we stayed at the brand new Lodge on the Cove, which opened on the July 4th week. Everything was brand new and lovely. I found a grand opening special and we booked the package called "The Plunge" We stayed 2 nights in a large well decorated room. The king size bed was extremely comfortable,along with a table and chairs, a micro and a mini refrigerator. The large sink vanity outside the bathroom was ideal. They also made available bikes and kayaks, however we didn't use either. The main lodge entrance is lovely and each morning we went to have our fresh cup of coffee at the help-yourself bar. Our breakfast was delivered to our room each morning which consisted of fresh orange juice fruit, yogurt, and a large muffin. The pool area was lovely and the small tiki bar was located right by the pool. A very nice small menu is available to order sandwiches and light fare foods.The location of this bed and breakfast is a short drive (or trolley) ride to the town. but is tucked neatly away on a tree lined private street. Taking a ride on Ocean Ave is a must before going to the quaint and interesting little town of Kennebunkport. We ate at the new resturant David's, the bar menu was great. The food was delicious and worth waiting for(no reservations are taken). The upstairs David's is a very pricey and more formal dining area. I understand it is a place to have a 10 course dinner! We were told about a place on the water called The Ramp and we enjoyed a delicious seafood dinner. It is a small local place, but it was soo good! Kennebunkport is a must see!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our mission statement was basically stated in your review; our hopes were to provide a relaxing getaway that offers complimentary services that reach out to all travelers. We hope that every guests that comes to stay with us enjoys it just as much as you did. Please come and visit us again!

Sincerely,

Front Desk Manager
The Lodge on the Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, MA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Like other recent reviewers we stayed at the Lodge on the Cove as it opened over the 4th of July holiday. I am a Tripadvisor addict and I thoroughly research properties before traveling. Along with the hotel's website I also "googled" it and found a little article on it in the Travel and Leisure site. So after due diligence, my husband called to get more information about the accommodations explaining that we are 60 and we enjoy quiet, private places. Thankfully we were given an end unit.

The first night the air conditioner started dripping so loudly I had to play sounds on my Ipod (I avoided the rain setting) and we lined the floor with 2 buckets and towels so we could sleep. At 11:00 pm our neighbors came in and were quite loud. I am not sure if it was them banging around or just poor sound proofing between rooms. Then the next day we went to the pool. The place was packed. A kind gentleman gave up a lounge chair for me and my husband sat in a chair. First of all, you couldn't get into the pool because every space to access the water was blocked and secondly I could not even sit there and read due to the noise. Since I wanted to stay outside we moved to a far corner to sit in rocking chairs so we could talk. Then before we knew it, a mother decided to make this area a time-out place for her screaming child. Enough!!!

This hotel is managed by a group called Kennebunkport Resort Collection which has built or renovated 9 hotels in town. Others are more adult focused whereas the Lodge is family focused. This is something we discovered after checking in. How I wish the front desk had suggested to us that we try a less child friendly place when we explained what we were looking for while making the reservation. Also, in the rush to open a new hotel for the holiday there are many "bugs" to work out to get it up to speed.

One thing I will say for the Lodge on the Cove....their staff are impassioned and devoted to this place from the decor to doing every they can to insure that their guests are happy.

It is a nice place, just not one for us. If you are a young family, go and enjoy. If you like peace and tranquility, keep looking.

Room Tip: If you like action, stay near the pool. For quieter rooms go to the second floor. The farthest fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay at The Lodge on the Cove. We are very sorry that we did not meet your full expectations. The problems that arose such as the air conditioning unit were repaired in a timely manner. You are correct in stating that we are a family oriented property. We enjoy the the family atmosphere by providing a space that both adults and children can enjoy a vacation away.
We appreciate the feedback and honesty as we are a new property and are working towards making everyones stay enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Front Desk Manager
Lodge on the Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Cute, adorable, comfortable place that is perfect for a wedding night and possibly (hopefully) many an anniversary getaways.

We had cabin 31, on the end. The room was perfect. A little kitchen and eating area, a bed, sofa and TV area and a nice sized bathroom.

In the morning they provided breakfast in a little bag, two muffins, two bananas and a carafe of orange juice. It was a perfect start to the morning.

We didn't get a chance to really explore the clubhouse and the swimming pool, but they looked very quaint, nice and relaxing.

I would absolutely stay here again and I hope to soon,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Congratulations! Thank you for the review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you come back each year to celebrate your Anniversary.

Sincerely,

Front Desk Manager
The Lodge on the Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just stayed at the newly renovated Lodge on the Cove and loved it! It re-opened on 6/27/13 and it is wonderful. The furnishings are beautiful (beachy with a modern touch), the pool and bar are fantastic - Marcello will take great care of you! Our kids did yoga by the river and had a blast. There are so many little details that have been done really well: bikes, beach chairs and beach passes to borrow, a 'dinner trolley' that stops in town, a continental breakfast left at your door in cooler bags, etc. The location is amazing and so central but totally secluded and quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms 25 -32 are in the building closest to the pool and have a lovely view of the cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you Maddy122 for chosing to stay with us at the Lodge on the Cove! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you chose to stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Front Desk Manager
The Lodge on the Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Cove

Address: 29 South Main Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge on the Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on the Cove offers a modern and light hearted approach to the quintessential relaxed Maine experience. This newly furbished classic motor lodge is nestled on a wooded cove in Kennebunkport with a relaxed, yet refined, feel. The Lodge offers a vibrant mix of vintage, classic and contemporary furnishings, bold patterns and an upbeat color palette. It is a combination of natural elements, nautically inspired accents and local art that together bring an organic and eclectic Maine vibe. The Lodge will be the hub of activity with check in, lobby and a poolside bar – the perfect place for relaxing and soaking up the fresh Maine air. Onsite bar and restaurant, The Dory, will offer a wide array of fresh cocktails along with simple and delicious light fare. Glass doors open up to the pool deck creating a spacious area for games, gathering, dining or to simply just laze about. Welcoming and unassuming, The Lodge on the Cove is a happy place to visit, perfect for multi-generational travel, couples and young families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lodge on the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cove Hotel Kennebunkport
Lodge On The Cove Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.