We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Memory...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Arundel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Arundel Inn to your Saves list
Cape Arundel Inn
208 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Memory...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

As my husband I are recently retired, we have a few bucket lists. Our New England trip was bucket list #2. On a recommendation from friends, we booked a couple of nights at the Inn. Our room was delightful and wow what a view. Queen size bed was below a beautiful stained glass window and windows open on each side of it. The view of the ocean breaking on the rocks was breathtaking as was the sound of it that greeted us each morning and evening. The dining experience at the Inn was also very plesant experience. The menu, service and food presentation and wine list was just as excellent as the the meals we were served. We highly recommend this Inn and we will return!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
How exciting and what an honor to have played a part in making your bucket list trip to New England a wonderful experience! Our location certainly affords us an embarrassment of riches, offering beautiful ocean vistas as well as the soothing sound of breaking waves. We are so pleased to know that you found your room delightful and that you enjoyed every aspect of your meals in the dining room. Our hope is to delight guests with every detail and it is gratifying to know that we hit all the right notes. Thank you so much for your lovely review and your recommendation! We look forward to making your second visit as memorable as the first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    26
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
121
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Capre Arundel Inn for years, always aniticipating and having a wonderful experience. But this last time was different. I've waited some weeks since my visit to comment, to allow time to give perspective, but my thoughts remain the same. The room we stayed in, which we've had before, was done over, Workmenship was very high, but it is now stark, cold, absolutely nothing on the walls. Gone is the warm feeling. I'd change back to the blinds that did not work too well for some character. We did not like being in the room at all. The breakfast was also something I always looked forward to - nice buffet, high quality, and a 'hot' item choice. This time, the buffet table was lacking in both chocie and quantity - it looked lke they were trying to save. Also with the prepared item - smaller in quantity and lacking the higher end quality. The first day I thought I had just hiot it wrong, but it was the same for the next day, so I skipped the 3rd day and ate elsewhere. For over $400 per night, the breakfast could have stayed the same. People were great, reception outstanding. But I'm all done.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We appreciate your loyalty over the years and are very sorry to hear about your disappointment with the decor of your room and with breakfast during your latest visit. We value your comment that the workmanship surrounding the renovations and redecoration is high, but regret that this process left you feeling that the space was cold and stark. Our goal throughout this project has been to create crisp, comfortable spaces with clean lines that compliment, rather than compete with the beautiful ocean views. In this process, we started with a simple palette and are adding things like artwork and accessories with deliberation and thought in order to give each room personality without complicating or cluttering the space. Ultimately we want each room to feel individual, warm, and welcoming while simultaneously letting the views be the star of the show. It is unfortunate that we had not yet completed the accessorizing process for your room which caused you to feel less than comfortable in the space. We also apologize that we didn't exceed your expectations in regard to breakfast. We value your feedback as we are always seeking to improve and perfect the experience we offer guests. We wish you had brought your disappointment to our attention so that we could have immediately addressed your concerns. While we appreciate that you found our staff great and the reception outstanding, we never want to have guests feel less than completely delighted with every aspect of their stay. We do hope you will give us an opportunity to provide another wonderful experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Having spent some considerable time looking for somewhere special to celebrate my wife's **th birthday we settled on the Cape Arundal. Having travelled from the UK an driven up from Boston our first impressions were, WOW, we got it right. From our first view of the Inn to our parting moments I was nothing but impressed, inspired and thoroughly delighted with everything and everybody at the Cape. The location and view are breathtaking, the staff are fantastic, polite and caring, the quality of the Inn itself is superb, oh and the owners are real nice folks to. What really impressed me is that there was a small issue and it was dealt with in a rapid, unwavering and professional manner to the degree that I have not experienced elsewhere. The air show put on by the old folks across the bay was pretty spectacular to!!!! If you wan't a top quality, relaxed stay in stunning surroundings then I don't think you'll be able to beat The cape Arundal Inn.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view in the main inn or the Rockbound rooms which all face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
It is so wonderful to hear that from first impression to last, you were unequivocally delighted by your stay. We are so pleased that the views inspired you and that you felt well taken care of by the members of our team. Our goal is always focused on maximizing the level of enjoyment experienced by all of our guests, so it is gratifying to hear that we hit the mark with you. Thank you for allowing us to play a role in celebrating your wife's birthday and for your rave review. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans bring you to Kennebunkport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford Pool, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have dined at the inn countless times over the past 30 years. I am a faithful customer through several changes in ownership/management. On a recent visit I was disappointed as were the other members of my group. The garlic whipped potatoes had been eliminated from the menu. It may seem like a minor point but it is NOT, they were the best. Please bring back the garlic whipped potatoes. The crispy potato cake offered instead was a big disappointment. I left 99% of it on the plate..
Also, ita was nice to offer the chocolate lava cake, but the "mocha creme anglaise was very poor. I prefer a creme anglaise, but a standard whipped cream would be better than such a sub standard creme anglaise.
As always the service was excellent, the ambience lovely and the rest of the food great. I have a summer home in the area and I I always recommend this inn as the best dining experience and I don't want to stop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your unwavering loyalty over the past 30 years and for providing us with valuable feedback. While we appreciate hearing that you found the service excellent, the ambiance lovely and some of your food great, we are very sorry to hear that portions of your meal proved disappointing. Since food trends and expectations are always evolving, our culinary team works to keep the menu fresh; but it is important to know when guests miss a favorite item or when something falls flat. We appreciate your comments very much and will use them to continue to improve and perfect the dining experience we offer. We hope you will provide us with another opportunity to earn your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We just had a fabulous weekend at the Cape Arundel Inn. Can't say enough about everything. This was our first trip to the Inn and we are already planning our next stay next summer. The views were beautiful. The staff exceptional. Patrick helped us out checking on our tee times at the golf course and making a reservation for dinner for us. Morgan was just superb also. Our dinner at the restaurant was perfect. We loved everything about the place.

We stayed in one of the rooms with our own balcony overlooking the ocean. Just loved sitting out there listening to the waves against the rocks and reading a book. The grounds are so well taken care of. The adirondack chairs are great for getting some sun or reading a book.

Having drinks on the porch was a treat. Great service and wonderful people. Can't wait to go back again

Room Tip: Room #24 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
How wonderful to know that you had a fabulous weekend and are already planning your next visit! The highest compliment we can receive is to have guests return and it is such a pleasure to see familiar faces come through the door. Thank you so much for your kind review, it is always so nice to hear that guests have enjoyed every aspect of their stay. We do our utmost to create a relaxing atmosphere that takes advantage of all of the wonderful assets offered by our location and the area. We are so pleased that we were able to play a part in making your vacation delightful. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made so comfortable by the friendly and professional staff and the inviting and casually elegant atomosphere of the Cape Arundel Inn. The front porch has cushioned wicker couches and loveseats that invite you to sit and relax and enjoy the beautiful water view across the street. They think of all the little things that add up to a quality experience...a large bottle of complimentary Poland Spring water in your room every day, homemade whoopee pies and always cold, fresh, fruit-infused water for you to enjoy all day and evening in the foyer as well as coffee and tea always available in the lovely sitting room. You feel as if you are visiting at a friend's very beautiful and inviting home, and that is exactly the intention. The innkeeper, Rich, takes great pride in what they have accomplished over the past 2 years and is so complimetary to his entire staff that make this whole operation absolutely top notch. Everyone we encountered on our two night visit could not have been more professional, friendly or so willing to accomodate us. The breakfast that is included every morning is not to be missed..fresh juices, fruit, yogurt, granola, a variety of pastries and a not to be forgotten whole-grain pretzel croissant..fabulous!! Breakfast also includes a hot dish...we had delicious rosemary focaccia french toast one morning and a tomato, basil and cheddar frittata the next. We will go back again and again as we think that with the improvements that are continually being made it can only get better and better. An extra kudo to Morgan at the front desk...a poised, professional, friendly young woman who is such an asset to a wonderful inn!! We can not recommend this whole experience highly enough...and definitely have dinner there...it is the best we had in Kennebunkport!!!

Room Tip: Room 25 on the first floor of the Inn has a fabulous view of the water, the gardens, and Walker'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are so pleased that you had a wonderful visit with us and greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback! It is gratifying to know that all of the little details added up to you feeling warmly welcomed and perhaps even a bit pampered. While our oceanfront location speaks for itself, we work to craft an experience for guests that frames the location with warm service and thoughtful amenities. It is a lovely complement for the atmosphere to be compared to visiting a friend's home. That is precisely the note we hope to strike. We are also happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed both the breakfasts and your dinner here. Everyone on our culinary team focuses on preparing and serving creative, delicious food using the finest and freshest ingredients. Thank you again for your enthusiastic review. It will truly be our pleasure to welcome you back again on your next trip to Kennebunkport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were so sorry to leave this wonderful place. We discovered the Inn last year, but there was only a vacancy for one night. This year we made reservations early. Our three nights were not long enough. The view from our room was fantastic, and the room was so very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful, and the inn is well maintained. Every member of the staff with whom we came in contact was professional, pleasant, and helpful. The front desk helped with information and reservations for us. The innkeeper was there and was also very pleasant and professional. We have already told friends and neighbors about this lovely inn. We look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: All of the Rockbound rooms have private balconies. We stayed in Room 26. We had a lovely view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
How wonderful that you were able to execute a longer stay with us the second time around! The highest compliment we can receive is to have guests return year after year. It is so nice to know that you thoroughly enjoyed every element of your stay from the grounds, to the service, to the room. Our mission is to create a comfortable, relaxing getaway for our guests, so we sincerely appreciate knowing you had a fantastic visit. Thank you so much for your glowing review and for your lovely recommendations! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Arundel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Arundel Inn

Address: 208 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Cape Arundel Inn is Kennebunkport’s only oceanfront inn and restaurant. Looking out from our inn you will enjoy the breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. The Cape Arundel Inn was built in 1895 and twelve of our fourteen rooms have wonderful ocean views with seven having balconies overlooking the ocean. Our inn has been honored with numerous accolades including: Award of excellence -Wine Spectator, 5-Stars Portland Press Herald, Seacoast Living magazine, Maine Home and Design, and Down East magazine. As of January 2011, The Cape Arundel Inn came into new ownership. Both owners have a loyalty, love and respect for the town of Kennebunkport and plan to uphold the Inn's reputation and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Arundel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Arundel Hotel Kennebunkport
Cape Arundel Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Arundel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.