We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Pond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hidden Pond to your Saves list
Hidden Pond
354 Goose Rocks Road, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Enchanting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I already can't wait to go back to Hidden Pond. It's everything I remember about camping as a child - but a whole lot better! You will enjoy every minute!

Favorite moments:
making smores at the daily bonfire
dinner at Earth
warm milk/warm chocolate chip cookies delivered to the bungalow

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear joanjettboy:

Come back and see us soon! Many people tell us that Hidden Pond reminds them of a summer camp -- both for adults and children, alike. We joke (but it's true) that it's summer camp with Frette linens and a gourmet chef!

It's great to hear what your favorite moments were -- the activities that you mentioned are some the most relaxing things to endure while on vacation. We are happy to be able to offer these experiences that are so familiar and comforting, yet can feel so distant and different than our daily happenings.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hidden Pond in the future for more bonfires, warm cookies and much more!

Wishing you an endless summer..

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    38
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
97
195
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Looking for a place to take 11 of your favorite couples for a weekend of a lifetime? Hidden Pond is the place. My wife and I went to visit Hidden Pond for an overnight last October in order to decide if we wanted to have our 20th anniversary weekend celebration there. We had recently(5 years ago) celebrated a big birthday with friends at Twin Farms in Vermont and were looking for a place with a similar feel for great lodging, dining, and activities. We met Justin ,the GM ,in October and began the planning process for what turned out to be a perfect weekend. Right from the start, Justin worked seamlessly with us, as we continually bombarded him with ideas as to how we would entertain our guests. We arrived on Friday afternoon May 31, just happened to be a 90 degree sunny weather weekend, and as guests arrived we all enjoyed some pool time with drinks and light apps. We had scheduled cocktails and passed appetizers poolside before dinner at Earth restaurant after all of our guests had arrived. Without being rushed we proceeded into Earth for our semiprivate dinner to a communal table adjacent to the fireplace for the first courses to be brought to us. Danielle, Earth's manager, listened to all of our requests and she and her staff pulled off an amazing dinner. First course was every appetizer on their menu for tasting. She even brought in the wines I had requested. After, everyone order their main course and finally we had a tasting of all of their desserts. The dinner was outstanding. We then proceeded out to the campfire for S'mores and after dinner drinks. What a first night!
Next morning, many of us did the 9am yoga class, after coffee and scone delivery to our rooms. We scheduled a group bike and hike to the beach and island off of Goose Rocks beach at 10:30 with Marcio. It was a perfect day for a hike and everyone enjoyed it. Next meal- back to earth for an amazing Farm to table array of salads, charcutterie, breads, and middle eastern style foods. The afternoon was spent poolside with some of the guests using the spa. After late afternoon naps, we all boarded the trolley bus for the Tides restaurant on the beach. We had worked with Damien, the Tides manager to create the best lobster clambake for all 22 of us. We started with apps and drinks out overlooking the beach and moved inside for dinner. The chowder, steamers, lazy man's lobster, and Maine blueberry pie were out of this world. Needless to say, I'm glad no one had to drive back because all of us were a bit tipsy as we closed the place down.
After a good night's sleep in the overly comfortable bungalows, we did another yoga class Sunday morning and were treated to a fabulous brunch again at Earth with the most delicious home cured gravlax among many other breakfast items. What a weekend; close friends in a magical environment celebrating a wonderful occasion. What is so special, is not only the physical spot, but the exceptional service offered by the entire staff. It all started with Justin, but Danielle and Damien were critical in creating a culinary experience not found in many resorts. Thank you again for a weekend celebration not to be forgotten-Jon and Monique

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Jon & Monique:

It was such a great pleasure to be involved in the planning and execution of your special anniversary weekend. It was such a fun process to be involved with from day one. I am glad that this will be a weekend that you two and your friends will remember and talk about for years to come.

We place personalized and thoughtful hospitality above all and we always keep in mind that there are very few impossibilities in this business. I strongly feel that these beliefs come across in our service delivery. Speaking on behalf of Damien and Danielle and our collective teams -- we enjoyed being your hosts and sincerely appreciate your praise and positive feedback. Thank you for choosing Hidden Pond and the Tides Beach Club as the locations for your special celebration. We all look forward to sharing many more fond memories with you.

Enjoy the summer and happy travels until we see you again!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Hidden Pond and we will definitely be going back. The service and accommodations are outstanding. Be sure to plan to eat at the on-site restaurant "Earth" as many times as you can. They have lots of interesting menu choices and you are going to want to try as many as you can. The food is all sourced locally and the chef makes very tasty dishes from the local products. They provide a refrigerator in the room that is stocked with milk, orange juice, yogurt, butter and water. We looked forward to having the NY Times and a soft-sided cooler attached to a hook by the entry door every morning. They bring you coffee, fruit and some freshly made pastry's and breads at 7:30 to 8:00 AM.

They have lots of things to do on the property. We enjoyed bike riding, spa treatment, working out in the fitness room and looking at all of the beautiful landscaping and gardens on the property. We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Terry:

Thank you for your kind words and support of the resort. The greatest compliment is that you are already beginning to plan your return! We anticipate having you back for a second trip that is as memorable and novel as the first.

Wishing you both fun and exciting travels until we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kennebunkport. Enjoy your summer!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having recently come back from our 8th stay, this place continues to place me in awe. From the welcoming Iris, Hydrangea and Lily Bouquet compliments of gardener Elizabeth, to the chilled PJ and DD coffee, they really know how to treat you here. Earth continues to be laden with great pairings, where else can you get foie gras and pizza for your dinner? Danielle and chef-husband, Justin are warm and receptive, meatballs are a must try; great dining staff, Matt, Patrice and Nick.
The Tides under Dameon's helm is a great summer spot, try the watermelon Cosmo. New additions to the KRC group, most notably Ocean and David's are wondrous, especially if you get to eat here under cloudless blue skies and warm sun. But the no. 1 reason is the staff at Hidden Pond. Under the steady and caring guidance of Justin, and always-at-hand, Kristen, they are amicable, caring and gracious. Great new additions are Jill, Casey and Aaron. If you're in this 'neck' of the Woods this summer, give THP a try....I promise you'll like it!!!!!

Room Tip: If you're traveling as a couple for a short stay try the bungalows closest to the Spa and Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear summer0807:

Thank you for always sharing such a wonderfully detailed recap of your time spent with us at Hidden Pond, Tides Beach Club and all of our affiliated sister properties within the Kennebunkport Resort Collection. I love that you have been able to enjoy your trusted favorites while also experiencing new properties and venues upon each visit to the area. After so many trips to Hidden Pond, you have become quite the Kennebunkport aficionado!

You have clearly formed such strong connections with all of our staff members and I am so glad that you have called them out by name. Many of our team members read TripAdvisor and there isn't a prouder moment for someone than to read their name in a review making note of a job well done. Thank you for acknowledging our team and the effort they put in to create memorable and fulfilling stays for our guests. We are pleased and thankful that you continue to chose Hidden Pond as your destination after so many years and numerous stays -- thank you for your unrelenting support of our property.

I look forward to welcoming you back for many future trips and wonderful memories.

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was a perfect get-away retreat for an overnight with friends. We stayed in a two-bedroom cottage, and made good use of the fireplace, since it was a rainy weekend. The on-site restaurant "Earth" was cozy with outstanding food and good wine choices.

Room Tip: The cottages are very clean and stocked with all essentials. There is a full-size refrigerator and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Julia J:

Thank you for your review! I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy a night away with friends. The fireplace cannot be beat on a rainy day, that's for sure. Please come back and see us again when the sun is shining to enjoy more food, wine and comfort!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is our second trip to hidden pond and we never thought they could top our first stay, they did! The staff is beyond amazing. Brianna took wonderful care of us, she is a great addition to the staff ( note to management grab on to her and don't let go!) she even went out of her way to say hello and check in on us when were not even in her section. Matt D at earth were remembered from our visit here last year . He is a top knotch server and really makes you feel welcome. We got to take advantage of the pasta class with chef Nick , this was such an wonderful time, I would recommend this to everyone , he was gracious enough to write down the dough recipes for us! Had a great facial at the spa and just had a wonderful time relaxing. We are planning our wedding at the end of August and needed the get away before the craziness started , we need up with 90 degree weather and amazing staff that helped us relax and unwind. Checking out tomorrow , so sad to be leaving :)

Room Tip: The bungalows toward the back of the bungalow section of the resort are very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Jamie:

Thank you for your review and for sharing specific feedback on two staff members who really made your experience extraordinary. Since reading the review, I have personally shared your comments with Matt, Nick and Brianna -- you put a BIG smile on each of their faces. I appreciate you acknowledging them -- just as you did in your last review regarding Ali.

You picked a hot, beautiful weekend -- nice work! I am glad that the getaway was able to provide you with just the right amount of relaxation before your busy summer ahead.

Congratulations to you both on your upcoming special day. We look forward to welcoming you back as a married couple!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I just returned from a three night stay at Hidden Pond with my husband and three teenagers. We enjoyed the resort and the two bedroom cottage was nice for a family. We liked the remoteness of the resort and enjoyed walking and riding bikes to the beach. We ate at Earth the first night of our stay and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the meal. We were out and about most days so we did not spend much time at the pool or doing any activities at the resort. We stopped for drinks one night at the small bar and the bartender was very helpful with recommendations of places to see and other places to eat during our stay.
Small complaints from the group. Breakfast was not enjoyable. The fresh orange juice, milk and yogurt were fine but the bland fruit was the same everyday and the dry scones, cornbread and cheddar rolls were unappetizing in the morning. It could be a midwest thing, but we enjoy muffins and soft breakfast foods, toast? As a result, we were very hungry and rushed to lunch to finally get something to eat. Also, I would suggest that the hotel contact you prior to arrival to see if you are interested in eating in the restaurant during your stay. We were not there in high season and it was booked until one 8:30 reservation and closed the other nights. It would have been a disappointment to have missed the opportunity to eat at Earth and given the resort's remote location, there are not other options within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Iwohara:

Thank you for sharing the experiences from your family vacation to Hidden Pond.

Hidden Pond is the perfect home base for a Kennebunkport vacation as it provides seclusion in a peaceful environment, yet is still a short trip away to downtown Dock Square for shopping, walking and excitement. I am glad that you experienced Earth and the Back Porch Bar. Our culinary and restaurant team aims to delight and please by delivering great cuisine with thoughtful service in a unique setting.

I appreciate you sharing your constructive criticism of our breakfast offering. Our baker, Matt, and his entire team bake our breakfast goods fresh for the morning and work to provide daily variety. I wish that we could have delivered you a breakfast that was more appealing to you. We always seem to find that breakfast is such a personalized meal and it can be somewhat of a challenge appealing to all tastes and preferences. Either way, your feedback is very valuable and appreciated -- I have already passed this on to Matt in efforts to improve the offering.

I also apologize that you were not able to dine at Earth during your preferred time. The week you were here was the first week where many summer residents moved back into town and Earth was a very busy spot as a result. I agree that you should have received a courtesy call so that you were better prepared for the busy nature of the restaurant. I apologize for this shortcoming, but I am glad that you still enjoyed your meal and experience at Earth.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hidden Pond in the future. I would love to work with you directly on booking any return visits and subsequent dining reservations to ensure complete satisfaction. I am always available via phone (207-967-9050) or email (justin@hiddenpondmaine.com) -- I would be happy to assist in any way possible!

Wishing you an endless summer!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Pond

Address: 354 Goose Rocks Road, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Pond is a private retreat for those seeking high-end accommodations and personalized services in a relaxed and natural setting. The one and two-bedroom cottages, and new one bedroom bungalows, feature Frette linens, fireplaces, flat screen TVs and Bose sound systems with iPod docks, state-of-the-art kitchens, landscaped outdoor showers and decadent screened porches allowing inside living to virtually extend out amongst the forest.There have been two fantastic additions to the property in 2011. Earth, a collaboration with James Beard Award Winning Chef and Restauranteur, Ken Oringer, is an al fresco restaurant focusing on farm to fork freshness. Heirloom vegetables and herbs are picked daily from the surrounding gardens, and thoughtfully incorporated into both food and beverage menu offerings. Another added amenity is the new Tree Spa, featuring three spa treatment rooms nestled in the trees. The Tree Spa is available to guests only and their services will further ensure your visit is nothing but blissful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hidden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Pond Hotel Kennebunkport
Hidden Pond Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.