We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool house!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wedding Cake House

Wedding Cake House
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 13 attractions in Kennebunkport
Type: Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Elaborately styled 19th-century house at Kennebunkport Landing.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool house!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

Unique looking house. I used to live down the street from this house, it draws a lot of attention. Not really a lot to do at this attraction though...pose for pictures is about it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    17
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

I saw the Wedding Cake House on TV in "Aerial America - Maine" on the Smithsonian Channel and became curious. Thus, my husband and I decided to drive by during our vacation in Maine.

The house can't be visited from the inside. However, I think that the most interesting part of this house lies in its architecture.

It was as shown on TV and I wasn't disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great viewing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

We enjoyed being able to see the outside of this very unique house in Kennebunk. It is well kept up and a very nice addition to the neighborhood.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Interesting place but showing age”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 NEW

I'm sure this was a showplace in its day. The intricate trim is quite amazing but time has taken its toll. An elderly man walking with his dog crossed the lawn while I stopped for a picture. I'm guessing the upkeep of this huge place is quite expensive and unaffordable at this point.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I don't know...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I just don't get the appeal here. You drive by, snap a picture, but this is not even close to the cutest house in town...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wedding Cake House also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Wedding Cake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wedding Cake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wedding Cake House to your Saves list