We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high end at a fair price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Port Inn to your Saves list
Port Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   55 York Street, US Route 1, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“high end at a fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the port inn is one of the gems of kennebunk..its a small hotel,very clean and well kept.the grounds are well groomed,rooms are very high end with great beds and baths,thicker towels,and nice soaps..all this at a very reasonable price

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    34
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
64
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a super-king kitchenette for several days. This is a terrific, recently renovated motel with a splendid combination of old fashioned feeling and modern sensibilities. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating. Rooms don't feel cheap in any way. Bed was very comfortable. I've stayed in hotels at double the price and been far less impressed.

The included breakfast although limited is fresh. If you are thinking of staying here on business, the only flag I can share is that the WI-FI is sometimes spotty. If you plan on needing bullet-proof reliable WI-FI this could be a drawback of staying here.

One other observation is that the television channels are oddly set up. I'm an inveterate channel surfer. It isn't possible to easily surf through all the channels. Many stations need to be directly tuned through the remote. At least their is a comprehensive list of channels in the room.

This place is also really well located. All sorts of attractions are within 20 minutes one way or the other.You could stay here, be in Portland in 20 minutes, and save a bundle on a better motel than many you could find closer.

If you're looking for tons and tons of amenities, this probably isn't the place for you. If you're looking for a quiet, very comfortable, affordable, and charming place to hang your hat for a night or a week, you should strongly consider this place!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Port Inn is not a luxury hotel, but then its price is also far from luxury. Not only does it have charming and helpful staff, it also has everything needed for a comfortable stay.
The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom has that all-too-rare essential of adequate storeage and counter space with plenty of thick towels and fresh toiletries each day. Parking is plentiful directly outside each room... and there is little that can be done about winter weather in Maine. Breakfast is complimentary. Although not on any Michelin five-star list, the choice of food is surely wide enough. All-in-all a very good place.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

This was our second stay at this two-story, quaint, newly-renovated property right on Rt. 1. We returned because the rooms were well-appointed and clean and they welcomed us with our dogs. Until checkout, my only two complaints were that the wifi didn't work in our room and that the eggs at breakfast had sausage mixed into them - yuck.
Last year there was no extra pet fee, which was one of the reasons that we decided to return this year. We were not informed either when we booked the reservation or when we checked in that we would be charged a $35/day pet fee. I've paid pet fees at other hotels before, but have always been informed of them in advance. It's not much fun to find out about that fee at checkout. With that much added on to the cost of our stay, it will now be worthwhile to investigate other places in the area next year.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortInnNH, General Manager at Port Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I would like to apologize that the pet fee was not mentioned to you during the check in process. The hotel charges a pet fee for all dogs we know our guests are bringing to the hotel and if appears that information was not relayed to you on either trip. We have investigated the internet issue you experienced during your stay and made changes to rectify the situation. We value your business and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Regards
Jeremy Obptande General Manager Port Inn Kennebunk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

This place is newly renovated, comfortable and affordable. The rooms are large and they offer dog friendly rooms. The decor is new and inviting, the bed is comfy and there is a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom area is also spacious. The temp control is good. I highly recommend this place and I have stayed here twice in the winter months and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortInnNH, General Manager at Port Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2015
Caitlin W,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable guest rooms as well as the refrigerator and microwave we offer in our guest rooms. We work very hard to keep guest coming back to our property and appreciate the feedback you have provided about your visits with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Regards
Jeremy Obptande
General Manager Port Inn Kennebunk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Excellent, fabulous!
Newly and completely renovated. Well appointed rooms with new and modern amenities. Bed, sheets, pillows; crisp!
Very chic lobby.
5 star accommodation at budget price.
Complimentary room upgrade was icing on cake!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

The room was quite comfortable. It stayed warm over night, which is not always the case with rooms in this type of facility in winter (although temperature did not drop that low, only in the 20.) Everything was clean. It was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The omelet with breakfast was surprisingly tasty, despite the fact that the inn was not very full so I suspect it had been sitting in the warmer for quite some time.
Everyone was pleasant. I'm sure that, during the season, this place is considerably more expensive, but in the off-season, it is an excellent deal.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if the suites cost more, but I would check. There were not available the night I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn

Address: 55 York Street, US Route 1, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Port Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordability, dependability, welcoming staff, and attractive interior design are just a few of the reasons to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Kennebunk
Kennebunk Econo Lodge
Port Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.