We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small lovely inn and fabulous restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Barn Inn to your Saves list
White Barn Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Beach Avenue, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Small lovely inn and fabulous restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Me and my partner spent one night at the White Barn Inn. It's a small roadside inn, not a farm house or an estate, and the premises are quite compact.
The property is lovingly furnished, there's a very nice living room, very homely and cosy. Small of course. Off season as we were, I did get the feeling we could be the only ones staying at the hotel. I don't think the property would cope well with being full. Anyway, with no other guests in sight, we felt quite comfortable.
The room was a bit too small, tastefully designed, and it did have a very large bathroom and enough closet space. A chilled bottle of champagne was waiting for us there, which is always a very nice touch. All members of staff were polite, friendly and effective.
The restaurant was fabulous! Set in an old barn, the dining room is very picturesque, well lit and comfortable. The service is of a very high standard, as is the food. I had the lobster roll, fresh and crunchy, the duck consommé with foie, warm and deeply flavored, and the lobster on fettucine, rich and delicious. To finish, the grand marnier souflee, just heavenly.
As a one night stop on our New England road trip, the White Barn Inn was exactly what we were looking for, and I would recommend it for that purpose. Mind you, we were off season and our rate included dinner, so the price was more than reasonable. I did however feel the accommodations, public areas, and gardens weren't spacious and varied enough to warrant a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    43
    24
    13
    12
See reviews for
14
152
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Every once in a blue moon the seasoned traveler has the opportunity to touch God's Face. My opportunity came in a three-day stay at the White Barn Inn. We were in a suite in an outbuilding called May's Annex. The room was magnificent: spacious, superbly decorated, comfortable. Simply to leave the room seemed a chore. The bar and restaurant were worth it, however. You'll find them both in a converted barn, but to say the dining room at the White Barn Inn is a converted barn is like saying Yosemite Valley is a converted cow pasture. The sight of the dining room at night will make your jaw drop. The food was sumptuous and served by a brigade of white-jacketed waiters who seemed to have spent the last month drilling in sole anticipation of our arrival. The bar is intimate, formal, and clubby ... as any good hotel bar ought to be. Brace yourself. A stay at the White Barn Inn is expensive. It'll likely jolt you into the next lower tax bracket. But if you're anything like me you'll give them your last dollar at check-out with a smile on your face, and you'll go to the poor farm richer for the experience.

Room Tip: Stay in a suite on a lower floor of May's Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wandering through Europe
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The dinner was as good as any Michelin starred European restaurant, imaginitive, well presented and a delight in the mouth.
The adjacent inn is very expensive, up there with any five star hotel, but although the rooms and staff are great, the lounge is too small to accommodate all the guests, leaving folk with nowhere to sit and the breakfast was poor - too few waiting staff, a buffet you'd expect to find in any motel and the indifference to match. A shame, as a little more care and creative thinking and it could be great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Unfortunately, while most of the 4 night stay was very nice, a couple of small things happened which soured our experience....and for a Relais & Chateaux Hotel and the rates charged, even more disappointing. The three items were:
1) The room was not made up during the first day and at 7PM when I reported it, questions were thrown at me as to if we had put out a do not disturb sign, etc. which we had not done. The response attitude was more accusatory than of apology.
2) No internet in the cabin, and when it was reported I was told that the internet was nice and strong in the hotel itself, so we could walk over there (5 minutes away)...which we had to do several times with iPads and the second evening there was a big storm brewing. In spite of multiple times being told the internet issue was being addressed, it never was. In this technology age there is no reason not to be able to get a signal where we were, by using an Access Point/repeater hardware. Again it was the attitude on the phone which is disappointing.
3) Meals while very good were not great. And for a Relais that is sad.

I will not stay here again, but my wife says she would...probably she will prevail but at this rate level, the attitudes need some coaching or work. We were offered a free drink each and $100 taken off the bill, but at $700+/night....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to the White Barn Inn for an anniversary - the inn was lovely - and we enjoyed a beautiful room on the second floor - we found the staff to be friendly and efficient - the restaurant staff was especially friendly, knowledgeable and fun. Many have commented that the staff here is snotty I found the opposite. When I inquired about beach towels the front desk asked whether or not we would like beach chairs as well - all was quickly loaded into our car!

We too enjoyed the small touches - tea in the afternoon - and port and cognac throughout the day. Turn down service is quiet and the chocolates great - maid service is almost invisible.

We all had massges in the spa and one the better ones i have had!

I would return to this mainstay in Maine - worth every penny!

Room Tip: Book a superior room with the fireplace - specular bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had a mother/daughter weekend here in Oct 2011. The Inn is beautiful inside and out. Our room overlooked the woods, which was really breathtaking with the colored foliage. I imagined it would be just as pretty with snow on the ground. After we checked in we had a wonderful afternoon tea in the sitting room. The tea sandwiches were delicious and everything was beautifully presented. My mother and I read our books in the sitting room while drinking our tea and enjoying the classical music playing in the background. We also had the 4 course dinner at the restaurant at the Inn and it was equally as spectacular. It was close to my birthday so they made me a special dessert with a candle.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We made our room reservation about two months before our arrival. We were given room #15 on the third floor of the inn. This room is exceedingly small, containing a bed and one chair. Two people cannot walk around this room at the same time. When we commented to the front desk, the manager said they were sold out and that was the only room available, yet a vacancy sign was out our entire stay and we saw empty rooms being cleaned. Having been prior guests and reserving reasonably well in advance, you would think you would not get the smallest room.
It would be helpful if they provided photos and details of all the rooms on the website, because we would not have made the reservation if we knew the room we were going to be given. We also stayed at the Cape Arundel Inn on our trip and were very pleased that we could see the rooms on their website and make a specific selection of available rooms. The room there exceeded our expectations based on the website information.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to White Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Barn Inn

Address: 37 Beach Avenue, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Barn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport--jewel in the crown of the Maine Coastline, perfect for your own ideal stay. The White Barn Inn (a member of the prestigious Relais et Chateaux) offers sumptuous guestrooms that boast true luxury and comfort. Surrender to our full spa experiences… energize and beautify as our Spa Director creates your personal revitalization. And experience the only AAA 5-Diamond, Forbes 5-Star restaurant north of New York City. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast daily. The setting is unique, encompassing two restored barns from the 1820’s. Here savor the rich flavors of New England and coastal Maine. Your White Barn Inn experience will bring everlasting, fine memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Barn Hotel Kennebunk
The White Barn Inn Kennebunkport Me
Maine White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Barn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.