We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Small Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Barn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added White Barn Inn to your Saves list
White Barn Inn
37 Beach Avenue, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Charming Small Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very nice property with comfortable rooms in a great location. Friendly staff. Local friends tell us the restaurant is outstanding for dinner. We had an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    43
    22
    13
    11
See reviews for
13
144
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine/New York
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

From the moment you enter the property, the excellent service begins. On a rainy night, a kind man with an umbrella greets you. Your coats are whisked away, and you enter a comfortable dining room with a rustic feel as you listen to a piano being played. The music isn't loud; it is just the right background for comfortable conversation. From the myriad assortment of bread to the "extra" desserts you are offered, the evening is one to be remember. The food is very good, not top-notch, but very good. But the evening is a memory you wont' forget. The tuna was a good portion and the monk fish tasted like lobster. The raviolo was just ok, but the lobster dish was plentiful and perfectly cooked. The cheese course is served, as it should be, room temperature and the quality of the cheese is divine. I didn't love the souffle, though. But you must go at least once in a lifetime.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Visited on a cold January night and were very taken in with the New England charm. The inn looks beautiful at night in the snow with its white lights. A local teenager greeted us in the driveway and while he was perfectly nice, it was apparent that he had gotten minimal hospitality training - somewhat surprising given the price point of this Relais property.

Reception desk was pleasant and courteous and very professional. We were given a room in the Annex, which was well appointed but could have used a decorating face lift. Molton Brown products in the bathroom were a nice touch and the king sized bed was comfortable. Before dinner, we sipped some of the complementary brandy in front of the fireplace and really enjoyed the peaceful living room.

While we had hoped that the inn would blow our minds, it fell a tad short. The White Barn Inn Restaurant, on the other hand, was incredible and even better than advertised! We were fortunate enough to be seated at the table in front of the huge windows - literally the best seat in the house - and had a great view of the goings on and the snow covered scenery.

The waitstaff was some of the most polite and attentive we have encountered, the decor had unique rustic charm and the food...well, let's just say that we're excited to make the trip back up to Maine for another romantic dinner sometime soon. Truly a wonderful experience.

Stayed January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The first time my husband and I went to the White Barn Inn was for Dinner 19 years ago on our wedding night and we have stayed here since in the garden room. The last time was last weekend and I can honestly say it just keeps getting better....nothing else to say STUNNING...I love it..but don't tell anyone Shhhhhh...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I can't say enough about the exceptional service, accommodations, spa and dining at the White Barn Inn. My boyfriend and I visited for the first time in February 2012 and our expectations were surpassed in every regard. Chef Jonathan Cartwright's restaurant at the Inn could easily rival NYC's finest (I would highly recommend the lobster bisque and the flourless chocolate cake). Though nestled in what feels like a cozy New England home, the spa is also outstanding...a state of the art facility where you can really feel pampered. I have already recommended the WBI to friends and hope to visit again this summer!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Ann, MA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The White Barn Inn is just about perfect and well-deserving of it ratings and membership in Relais & Chateau. Even the lowest priced rooms are comfortable and beautifully appointed. The service is excellent without being obtrusive. The dinners are truly remarkable and perfect for a special occasion. The location is also perfect for meandering around Kennebunkport and environs. And no, we did not see George and Barbara. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a weekend this May (2011) at the White Barn Inn and were lucky enough to stay in their waterfront cottages. We stayed in Gull Cottage and it was fantastic, tucked away down a private road overlooking the Kennebunk River. The view was unbelievable and although the weather was amazing when we visited, the wood burning fireplace in the room must be truly decadent in the Winter or Autumn months. There is a small bathroom and kitchenette in the cottage which is ideal and doesn't detract away from the rustic elegance of the cottage. The cottages are just down the hill from the White Barn Inn itself, which is perfect for privacy and also puts us closer to the charming town of Kennebunkport. The restaurant was unbelievable, as was the delightful afternoon tea selection. After the weekend all we could say was how nice all the staff were and how much we want to go back next summer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Barn Inn

Address: 37 Beach Avenue, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport--jewel in the crown of the Maine Coastline, perfect for your own ideal stay. The White Barn Inn (a member of the prestigious Relais et Chateaux) offers sumptuous guestrooms that boast true luxury and comfort. Surrender to our full spa experiences… energize and beautify as our Spa Director creates your personal revitalization. And experience the only AAA 5-Diamond, Forbes 5-Star restaurant north of New York City. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast daily. The setting is unique, encompassing two restored barns from the 1820’s. Here savor the rich flavors of New England and coastal Maine. Your White Barn Inn experience will bring everlasting, fine memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your White Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Barn Hotel Kennebunk
The White Barn Inn Kennebunkport Me
Maine White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Barn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.