We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Winter Oasis!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Port Inn

Save Saved
You added King's Port Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King's Port Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Western Ave, P.O. Box 1070, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Kennebunk
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Winter Oasis!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the King's Port Inn. Our room had a king-sized bed (the mattress could be upgraded a bit), a two-person jacuzzi tub with adjacent dual showers, and a gas fireplace. It was such a perfect oasis on a cold winter night! The location was convenient to downtown shopping, beaches, and restaurants (we walked to Allison's for a yummy lobster salad, clam chowder, and gingerbread bread pudding). The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast, while not the traditional home-cooked B & B fare, was plentiful and included a choice of yogurt, berries, cereals, waffles, muffins, toast, and pastries. We would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone visiting the Kennebunk area.

Room Tip: King-bedded room with jacuzzi tub and fireplace for a perfect romantic winter getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear AndreaMac 1956,
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your recommendations! We hope to see you during your next visit to the Kennebunk area!
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    49
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
27
89
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

In planning a last minute winter weekend trip to Maine, I was open minded about where we’d end up and just wanted a hotel with a Jacuzzi for at least one of the nights we were away. I am SO glad my searches led me to the King’s Port Inn. Our stay here was exactly what we wanted. The King room was very cozy and clean and the Jacuzzi in the room was amazing! We also loved the dual-showers in the bathroom. The hotel overall was lovely, quaint, and very comfortable. The staff was kind and welcoming.
The location is also perfect for walking to all the restaurants and shops nearby.
We are hoping to return here again in the summertime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear dianaf12,

We are very grateful for your positive review of King's Port Inn. Our Jacuzzi rooms are perfect for a cozy winter get-a-way and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look Forward to seeing you again this summer!

Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Probably best location,walking distance evrywhere in the town.Great restaurants and seafood.We were also walking to the beach from there.It is about 15 min walk and is very pleasnt.Very friendly and professional stuff.They serve very good breakfest in very nice room.This was our first trip to Maine.We spend five days in September and we want to come back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Albert B,

Thank you for taking the time to review King's Port Inn! We're glad that you enjoyed our location, our friendly staff and our free extended continental breakfast! We look forward to your return!

Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Could not pick a better spot to walk to restaurants and shoppes.
Wine bar , yea! , across the street, several restaurants, and shopping within a block.
Hotel had charm, bed was comfortable.
The bar had "no beer or wine really," the front desk guy said, but it was end of the season in October.
Breakfast was wonderful, and they had a nice lady there making waffles to order.
Wish I could go back to Kennebunkport! I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear texas-fornow-mom,

Thank you for choosing King's Port Inn! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again during future visits to the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area!

Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent one night in a jacuzzi room. It was very comfortable and clean. The jacuzzi was a real bonus after a long travel day and drive and the extra $25 for the jacuzzi was worth it. The staff was very polite, professional and helpful. They recommended and made dinner reservations for us at Mabels Lobster House. Good location near the center of town, convenient to shops. Overall a pleasant night's stay.

Room Tip: The extra $25 for the jacuzzi was well worth it for a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear RogerDodgerHouston,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at King's Port Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again in the future!

Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The photo on the facilities website shows a better view than the actual place. The rooms are rather drab, and need significant upgrading. The bedding and linens are old, well used, outdated and drab. The rooms are drab. The bathroom has the tub and stool in a closet, and that is drab.

The lobby where we checked in was really in need of a facelift, the woodwork was all scratched, filthy carpeting, dark, dingy and drab. Not at all inviting, but, representative of the entire facilities appearance.

Our room was on the second floor near the outside, very dark, wooden rickety stairwell. First of all, there is no elevator so be prepared to lug your stuff up a flight of stairs. Then listen to the other guests lug their luggage up the same flight of noisy wooden stairs, trust me you will hear them. Then listen to them walk back and forth along the wooden outside walkway, to get to their 'drab' rooms, I imagine.

The cost seemed quite high--about $135 per night for the 'lesser priced drab room' considering that this is an old, outdated, drab facility, but I guess we paid for the location, not the drab rooms, as the hotel is located conveniently to the main section of Kennebunkport. Actually within walking distance.

However, this old facility, drab as it is, and quite uninviting once you are in the drab room, however the photos do advertise the facility better than we found it to be. Some fresh linens and a new coat of paint in the rooms, updating the whole enviorment would do wonders.

Breakfast is included, and presented nicely. The serving lady was most accomodating and helpful. The breakfast was better than we had imagined it would be. So that is a plus.

Other reviewers have praised the parking lot. Actually it is small and you must be very careful not to damage your vehicle or others while trying to get around the parking lot. Quite cramped.

Would we stay here again??? No. Too pricey for the value we received.

Also their cancellation policy, as mentioned by other reviewers is nonsense in this day of internet reservations. It is petty.

Room Tip: There are better places that would not be that much more expensive, unless you are happy with a '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Ann M.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location, breakfast and service! Our mission is to offer economical lodging options in a very expensive area. The quality of our service, rooms and location for the price can't be beat! $135.00 for weekend lodging during peak foliage season with parking and walking distance to Kennebunkport is an exceptional value!

We recently upgraded to Cuddledown bedspreads and the web photos do not do the rooms justice! We feel that they are truly representative of what we offer (aside from the gorgeous new linens of course!). We are very sorry that you were confused.

When you book online, you are booking through a 3rd party and not directly with King's Port Inn. You must agree to the terms and conditions set forth to complete booking. We are sorry that you feel that you shouldn't have to adhere to the conditions and terms that you agreed to because you booked online.

We stand behind the quality of rooms, service and location which we are proud to offer at a fair price.

We look forward to your return!
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was surprised to see the price for this hotel, as it is so conveniently located near everything you want to visit in Kennebunkport. The state of the inn when we arrived confirmed my suspicions. It is very outdated and in desperate need of a hard core scrubbing from top to bottom. The dirty rugs lining the entrance as you walk into the lobby had me worried. Our room was okay, but the rugs were stained, the walls dirty, and there was mold around the jacuzzi tub (which means I couldn't even bring myself to use it). However, the bedsheets and the towels were crisp and clean (thankfully!). The staff was friendly enough and the included continental breakfast was decent. Oh, and there is no elevator, which I didn't know until we checked in. Normally not a huge deal, but we ended up on the third floor, and as someone currently dealing with a knee injury, having to traverse the stairs every time was a bit of a struggle. Overall, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Febgrl77
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed our location, staff, breakfast, linens and value!
We are so sorry that the stairs were a struggle for you. King's Port Inn does NOT have an elevator. Having any type of physical restriction or need is important information to communicate when making reservations. We will always do everything within our power to assign rooms based on requests. If you wait until check in, we may not have any the flexibility to accommodate your request at that time.
As a representative of a property that I take great pride in, it is my sincere hope that guests will let the front desk know as soon as they become aware of a problem, so that we have can resolve the problem immediately.
Investigating negative comments made on a review site by an anonymous person that stayed in an unspecified room number on an unknown date always poses a challenge, however we appreciate your comments and have worked hard to find and address these issues.
We look forward to your next visit!
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Port Inn

Address: 18 Western Ave, P.O. Box 1070, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — King's Port Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the seaside village of Kennebunk, Maine, this beautiful inn offers thoughtful amenities and services for a comfortable stay within walking distance of the specialty boutiques, shops and galleries of Dock Square,the local whale watch cruise and the in-town trolley tour stop and the Kennebunk Beaches!!! King's Port Inn features free onsite parking, free wifi and free extended continental breakfast with homemade waffles and pastries. Enjoy a beverage in the weekend cocktail bar or walk to one of the areas lively pubs. The specialty boutiques, shops and galleries of Dock Square, Kennebunkport are within walking distance of King's Port Inn.Kennebunk Beaches are just minutes away. Be sure to visit nearby restaurants that serve fresh lobster from the Gulf of Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your King's Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Port Hotel Kennebunk
King's Port Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Port Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.