We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King's Port Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King's Port Inn to your Saves list
King's Port Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Western Ave, P.O. Box 1070, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was surprised to see the price for this hotel, as it is so conveniently located near everything you want to visit in Kennebunkport. The state of the inn when we arrived confirmed my suspicions. It is very outdated and in desperate need of a hard core scrubbing from top to bottom. The dirty rugs lining the entrance as you walk into the lobby had me worried. Our room was okay, but the rugs were stained, the walls dirty, and there was mold around the jacuzzi tub (which means I couldn't even bring myself to use it). However, the bedsheets and the towels were crisp and clean (thankfully!). The staff was friendly enough and the included continental breakfast was decent. Oh, and there is no elevator, which I didn't know until we checked in. Normally not a huge deal, but we ended up on the third floor, and as someone currently dealing with a knee injury, having to traverse the stairs every time was a bit of a struggle. Overall, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Febgrl77
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed our location, staff, breakfast, linens and value!
We are so sorry that the stairs were a struggle for you. King's Port Inn does NOT have an elevator. Having any type of physical restriction or need is important information to communicate when making reservations. We will always do everything within our power to assign rooms based on requests. If you wait until check in, we may not have any the flexibility to accommodate your request at that time.
As a representative of a property that I take great pride in, it is my sincere hope that guests will let the front desk know as soon as they become aware of a problem, so that we have can resolve the problem immediately.
Investigating negative comments made on a review site by an anonymous person that stayed in an unspecified room number on an unknown date always poses a challenge, however we appreciate your comments and have worked hard to find and address these issues.
We look forward to your next visit!
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    63
    35
    10
    3
See reviews for
34
110
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

a motel which looks fairly good from the outside but as soon as you step into the entrance you start to worry. this place is desperate for an upgrade. rugs are very dirty and the wallpaper is dire.. Dark and just awful. It is in a good position though and the welcome was good. the room was large but again really old fashioned, large box of a TV, very badly designed layout for bathroom, awful tiles on the ceiling and not too sure of the bedding ..... Just not ironed or not fresh? I didn't really want to think about it too much! breakfast not brilliant, but it was billed as 'continental' and it was all there, just not set up well. there are lots of other places to stay, bit more expensive and I wish we had paid more and had a better experience. staff were friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a low price in this fabulous area then you will be lucky to find it. spend a bit more - you can't take it with you!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Ann638,

We are very happy that you enjoyed our location and the friendly service from our staff! We stand behind the quality of rooms, service and location, which we are proud to offer at a fair price. Our Premium King and Queen annex rooms were designed to offer an economical lodging option in an expensive area. We appreciate our budget conscious guests and work hard not to overprice these rooms. While they are not the most spacious or luxurious of our room types, they are clean, comfortable and a great value.

If you are willing to pay more for the best possible experience, why not choose to reserve a more luxurious room in the main inn, which is still an exceptional value at a great location?

Most of our upgraded rooms have flat screen TV's and we will be replacing the rest in 2013… along with many other wonderful changes!

We have had a wonderful 2012 season and were fortunate enough to run at full occupancy from July to mid October, with lengthy cancellation lists on weekends. We love what we do and we enjoy giving guests the opportunity to stay within walking distance to town at a reasonable price.

Most importantly… if someone reserves a room, but is not satisfied upon arrival, we will do everything within our power to find a reasonable solution. If we are unable to do so, we will release a guest of their obligation, so that they can find something that better suits their expectations elsewhere. We truly appreciate the opportunity to fill our property with happy, satisfied customers.

We look forward to your return!
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stopped here while roadtripping with no reservation. They had vacancies so we chose a room with a four-post bed and a jacuzzi tub. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and they make fresh waffles for you. Walking distance to restaurants and shops. No sea view though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear srwatson,
From all of us here at King’s Port Inn, we thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a positive review of our establishment. It was our pleasure to serve you.
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our first night stop on a 2 week trip to New England so set our expectations for the rest of the trip. Warm greeting and clean good sized room on ground floor annex. Only complaint would be the sound proofing as the people above us were very heavy footed and appeared not to sleep but walk up and down their room all night. Otherwise, the location was great, with some good eating options within a couple of minutes walk. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear jdh009,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at King's Port Inn. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you'll return in the future!
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stopped in with no reservation, warmly greeted and offered a charming second floor room with a four poster king bed and modern amenities for $129 less a AAA 10% discount. The room was spotless and the bedding was elegant. The inn is located very close to all the downtown shops and historic places. We parked the car in the free parking and spent our vacation just walking around this delightful waterfront community. The inn offered a complementary extended continental breakfast which included cereal, made to order waffles with fresh blueberries and strawberries, juice, oatmeal, boiled eggs, yogurt, granola, English muffins, assorted breads and pastries, peanut butter and jelly, and excellent coffee. Since the inn is located on the main thoroughfare there is some expected road noise, We are looking forward to stopping in again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Nancy Y,
Thank you for staying at King's Port Inn! We are pleased to offer clean, comfortable rooms, within walking distance to town at a great value! We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our free extended continental breakfast!
We look forward to seeing you again!
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Great location, within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Quaint bed & breakfast. Nice large room with jacuzzi. Clean. Good continental breakfast. No elevators so pack light if youre on the upper floors. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear LRCohen1961
We thank you for reviewing King's Port Inn! We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to your return!
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

From the beautiful wood in the lobby and breakfast area, to the chunky four-poster bed, this place had a lot of character. We liked the outdoor entrance to the room and the location right in the middle of the village- just park and walk. The two-person jacuzzi in the room was very nice, especially after a day of golfing; and the bed was very comfortable. They've done a great job with the outdoor appearance of the place. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear rocky717,
Thank you for reviewing King's Port Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. King's Port Inn has a unique, yet traditional, Maine style and we are always thrilled when someone appreciates it! Thank you for choosing us. We look forward to your return.
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
1.3 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Port Inn

Address: 18 Western Ave, P.O. Box 1070, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — King's Port Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the seaside village of Kennebunk, Maine, this beautiful inn offers thoughtful amenities and services for a comfortable stay within walking distance of the specialty boutiques, shops and galleries of Dock Square,the local whale watch cruise and the in-town trolley tour stop and the Kennebunk Beaches!!! King's Port Inn features free onsite parking, free wifi and free extended continental breakfast with homemade waffles and pastries. Enjoy a beverage in the weekend cocktail bar or walk to one of the areas lively pubs. The specialty boutiques, shops and galleries of Dock Square, Kennebunkport are within walking distance of King's Port Inn.Kennebunk Beaches are just minutes away. Be sure to visit nearby restaurants that serve fresh lobster from the Gulf of Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your King's Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Port Hotel Kennebunk
King's Port Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Port Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.