We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Port Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added King's Port Inn to your Saves list
King's Port Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Western Ave, P.O. Box 1070, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our first night stop on a 2 week trip to New England so set our expectations for the rest of the trip. Warm greeting and clean good sized room on ground floor annex. Only complaint would be the sound proofing as the people above us were very heavy footed and appeared not to sleep but walk up and down their room all night. Otherwise, the location was great, with some good eating options within a couple of minutes walk. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear jdh009,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at King's Port Inn. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you'll return in the future!
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    56
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
30
98
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stopped in with no reservation, warmly greeted and offered a charming second floor room with a four poster king bed and modern amenities for $129 less a AAA 10% discount. The room was spotless and the bedding was elegant. The inn is located very close to all the downtown shops and historic places. We parked the car in the free parking and spent our vacation just walking around this delightful waterfront community. The inn offered a complementary extended continental breakfast which included cereal, made to order waffles with fresh blueberries and strawberries, juice, oatmeal, boiled eggs, yogurt, granola, English muffins, assorted breads and pastries, peanut butter and jelly, and excellent coffee. Since the inn is located on the main thoroughfare there is some expected road noise, We are looking forward to stopping in again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Nancy Y,
Thank you for staying at King's Port Inn! We are pleased to offer clean, comfortable rooms, within walking distance to town at a great value! We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our free extended continental breakfast!
We look forward to seeing you again!
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Great location, within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Quaint bed & breakfast. Nice large room with jacuzzi. Clean. Good continental breakfast. No elevators so pack light if youre on the upper floors. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear LRCohen1961
We thank you for reviewing King's Port Inn! We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to your return!
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

From the beautiful wood in the lobby and breakfast area, to the chunky four-poster bed, this place had a lot of character. We liked the outdoor entrance to the room and the location right in the middle of the village- just park and walk. The two-person jacuzzi in the room was very nice, especially after a day of golfing; and the bed was very comfortable. They've done a great job with the outdoor appearance of the place. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear rocky717,
Thank you for reviewing King's Port Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. King's Port Inn has a unique, yet traditional, Maine style and we are always thrilled when someone appreciates it! Thank you for choosing us. We look forward to your return.
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Been to Kennebunkport for years...if you don't want to spend a fortune, since you are really only there to sleep at night. For us the kings port inn is perfect! The location is the best . On a corner right in dock square plenty of shops and restaurants and market across the street for anything you might need. Turn the other way and you can walk to beautiful gooch beach or drive and get a beach pass from the front desk for 5.00 per day. The place is very clean ! And has air conditioning!! Some do not. Both which are at the top of my list...we stayed in room 101 it is big with poster bed , gas fireplace, good size bath with jacuzzi . Bedding was very comfy and new bedspreads, carpet also very clean. The staff is very friendly, we especially love Colleen! Always friendly and helpful, and remembers you. There is a complimentary breakfast in main lounge, we think offers plenty considering you are not paying...the prices are very affordable, so this is just right for us, we'd rather spend our money on trying different restaurants and shopping. We always come back to this place, can't beat it for the price. They are always making improvements, give it a try, but don't expect way more than what you are paying for, it's a great deal all and all. We also went to cottage breeze spa on a rainy day as recommended by Colleen, and it was great, walking distance. Thank you kings port inn, you are part of our wonderful memories of kennebunkport !

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Fran,

Thank you so much for reviewing King's Port Inn! It has been such a pleasure to serve you and your family over the years. We love seeing familiar faces. Thank you for your Kind words.

Our goal has always been to avoid overpricing our accommodations. We guarantee the best price for quality service and a great location.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence forum
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I don't particularly like writing a bad review but I couldn't help this one. First off, the inn is in dire need of updating. The wallpaper and carpets are old and worn. The front door and hallway looked awful. We stayed in the king jacuzzi room and the bathroom colors looked like they were from the eighties. The clerk at the front desk wasn't very clear where we could pick up the trolley and wasn't very informative. We were never told about a fitness center that we could use. My husband and I went to breakfast at 9 am (they served until 10) and nothing was left except hard boiled eggs (how long they've been sitting out, God only knows) so we were told we could get waffles but there was no one there to make them. Also, the lounge/bar area is only open on the weekends. It being summer and their busy season this just didn't make sense. They only positive thing was that the location is excellent if you want to be in town and the place seemed to be clean. My husband and I stayed in hundreds of inns and b and b's, unfortunately, this one we just couldn't recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and our clean rooms. We strive to offer clean, affordable accommodations within walking distance to town. It is our mission to offer our guests a great experience and we are always disappointed when anyone feels that we missed our mark. We are always working to improve our FREE extended continental breakfast and we will continue to improve our service and upgrade our facility. We hope that you will return to have a better experience in the future.
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My hubby & I spent 2 nights here and would definitely return. Staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful with suggestions of good restaurants, and sightseeing info. ( We had the room with a jacuzzi/king bed) which was very clean, spacious and the bed was comfortable. The bath had 2 shower heads in the jacuzzi area as well as a large vanity/mirror. (bathroom good for 2 people at once). Free breakfast was nice...lots of yogurt/cottage cheese, granola, blueberry/strawberries, cereals, hard boiled eggs, fresh waffles,and pastries. Perfect location-3 minutes away from the beaches (we drove), and right on the strip to shop. We recommend HB provisions across the street for great deli sandwiches/wraps, homemade blueberry pie. Staff recommended Federal Jack's restaurant for dinner, this is a big pub located on a marina. Food was awesome, prices average. Had lobster ravioli, steamers, and lobster. Actually ate there both nights it was that good, lots of big screen tv's too. We are picky traveler's, King's Port is a cut above the rest. We will definitely re-book.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsportinn, Manager at King's Port Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Diana B,
Thank you so much for posting this review. We are always so pleased when our front desk service and our free extended continental breakfast is appreciated. Our staff works hard to provide a quality experience for our guests and we are always grateful when our efforts are recognized. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Port Inn

Address: 18 Western Ave, P.O. Box 1070, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — King's Port Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the seaside village of Kennebunk, Maine, this beautiful inn offers thoughtful amenities and services for a comfortable stay within walking distance of the specialty boutiques, shops and galleries of Dock Square,the local whale watch cruise and the in-town trolley tour stop and the Kennebunk Beaches!!! King's Port Inn features free onsite parking, free wifi and free extended continental breakfast with homemade waffles and pastries. Enjoy a beverage in the weekend cocktail bar or walk to one of the areas lively pubs. The specialty boutiques, shops and galleries of Dock Square, Kennebunkport are within walking distance of King's Port Inn.Kennebunk Beaches are just minutes away. Be sure to visit nearby restaurants that serve fresh lobster from the Gulf of Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your King's Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Port Hotel Kennebunk
King's Port Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Port Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.