We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Lovely, and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bufflehead Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bufflehead Cove Inn to your Saves list
Bufflehead Cove Inn
20 Bufflehead Cove Lane, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Queensbury, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Lovely, and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This lovely New England Inn is located only a mile from downtown Kennebunkport but as soon you arrive you feel that you are in your own little forest getaway. The Inn is lovely and Harriet, her son, and granddaughter are the ultimate hosts. We stayed in the Hideaway, our own little slice of heaven, complete with living room, a king sized bed, double sided fireplace and large Jacuzzi tub. There was also a small porch with a table and chairs. It was the perfect spot for an early morning cup of coffee (which was delivered to our doorstep each morning around 7:00). We took the opportunity to have morning coffee in the comfy Adirondack chairs, on the bank overlooking the Kennebunk River. Breakfast is served between 8:30-9:30 and is absolutely delicious, not to mention filling. You can dine inside or on the porch overlooking the water. The amenities are great and include free Wi-Fi, comfortable robes, a nightly turndown service complete with chocolates, a library, parking pass for the beach and bikes to take for a ride. At 5:30 in the afternoon wine, cheese and crackers and some days cookies hot from the oven are presented. We enjoyed this little treat the first day at a riverside table and the other in the comfy porch chairs. In the summer the town of Kennebunkport can get busy. It was great to be able to walk the short distance to downtown and not to worry about parking. I cannot say enough about this amazing place. My only regret was that we hadn't booked our stay for longer. My husband and I are already looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: If you want privacy the Hideaway is a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much. What a thrill for Isabella, my granddaughter, to read that! She has been so helpful lately and to get such a nice complement was a great incentive to continue to help. Maybe someday the third generation will be running the inn.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit and do hope you come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
275
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Bufflehead Cove Inn is a stately summer cottage in a romantic setting on a tidal cove, yet it's only minutes from restaurants and shops. Lovely grounds and beautifully a decorated room. Gracious and caring innkeepers served a delicious breakfast on the front porch overlooking the cove each morning. Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Cruisebob, Thank you for taking the time to review Bufflehead Cove. We really appreciate that and thank you for the lovely description of the inn. Please come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We loved our time at bufflehead cove inn.
Some innkeepers are really just inn owners. They collect your money and offer nothing. Harriet however, is a true inn keeper that offers you a welcoming, warm place to stay during your time in kennebunkport.
The property is beautiful and so relaxing. You can sit out on the water for hours and feel your stresses melt away.
Breakfast was always amazing. They use many high quality and local ingredients.
The inn is about a mile from town. If you don't mind, it is a nice walk. Otherwise it's a short drive into town. Plenty of parking around.
We will deffinetly be staying at Bufflehead Cove inn again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Bufflehead Cove is exactly what one dreams an inn will be like! This was our first stay in Maine and in a B & B! The entire staff is a warm, wonderful family and it shows! The early morning coffee and home cooked gourmet breakfasts are incredible! The afternoon snacks and beverages are such as nice touch as one plans out their dinner/adventures for the evening! Someone is always available to help with suggestions or even making a reservation. Watching the tidal river, the ducks, and walking the lovely grounds truly relaxes the mind and body! My advice is to go stay at the Bufflehead Cove Inn and you will understand why they continue to get rave reviews from us all! Mike and Lynn (Tennessee) July 2014

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This well hidden gem will NOT disappoint! Little did we know that what awaited us through the woods, was a charming inn on the banks of the Kennebunk river. You would never know that the town was only a mile up the road! It was peaceful, the food outstanding and the innkeepers the best we have ever encountered. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at this lovely inn again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Bufflehead Cove Inn is set in a tranquil setting on the banks of the tidal Kennebunk River. The river boasts a variety of bird life especially ducks. It is just a few minutes away from the shops in Kennebunkport and Ocean Drive. The Inn has a beautiful wide covered porch. During warm weather breakfast is served on the porch overlooking the river. The breakfast was beautifully presented and absolutely scrumptious. The Innkeeper was very personable and accommodating. You can tell that she loves her job and is passionate about providing guests with the very best experience possible. Unless you've been there it's difficult to understand how the inn can be so peaceful and tranquil yet be so close the hustle and hustle of the town. What else? Water views, fine bed linens, tastefully appointed rooms, fresh flowers, beautiful gardens, immaculately clean rooms...and a nice host. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Visit the web site. We stayed only one night in the River Room which is the smallest room in the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
What a nice description of our inn, the surroundings and River's bird population... the ducks, wild ones and ours, are the daily entertainment!
Thank you also for your kind words about me... you are so right, I love inn keeping. I have been doing this for 30 years and still enjoy meeting you all and sharing this beautiful location. I never tire of the view, summer or winter.
Please come back and see us again soon. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed in the Hideout room at Bufflehead Cove. Room was absolutely amazing and staff was out of this world fabulous! Breakfast in the morning was home cooked and absolutely delicious. Room was immaculately clean and spacious. Coffee was brought to our room every morning at 7am, which was such a nice touch. Even wine and cheese also added a special touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi Angela S, We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. The Hideaway room is perfect for a honeymoon because it is so private. That's why we deliver your morning coffee.... so you can privately sit on your porch early in the morning and enjoy that first cup!
We thank you very much for the complements. I have passed on your comment about the breakfast to Helena and Jim, our breakfast cooks.
Please come back and visit again some time in the future. Warm regards from Maine, Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Lane, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bufflehead Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.