We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bufflehead Cove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bufflehead Cove Inn to your Saves list
Bufflehead Cove Inn
20 Bufflehead Cove Lane, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Bufflehead Cove is exactly what one dreams an inn will be like! This was our first stay in Maine and in a B & B! The entire staff is a warm, wonderful family and it shows! The early morning coffee and home cooked gourmet breakfasts are incredible! The afternoon snacks and beverages are such as nice touch as one plans out their dinner/adventures for the evening! Someone is always available to help with suggestions or even making a reservation. Watching the tidal river, the ducks, and walking the lovely grounds truly relaxes the mind and body! My advice is to go stay at the Bufflehead Cove Inn and you will understand why they continue to get rave reviews from us all! Mike and Lynn (Tennessee) July 2014

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
275
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This well hidden gem will NOT disappoint! Little did we know that what awaited us through the woods, was a charming inn on the banks of the Kennebunk river. You would never know that the town was only a mile up the road! It was peaceful, the food outstanding and the innkeepers the best we have ever encountered. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at this lovely inn again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Bufflehead Cove Inn is set in a tranquil setting on the banks of the tidal Kennebunk River. The river boasts a variety of bird life especially ducks. It is just a few minutes away from the shops in Kennebunkport and Ocean Drive. The Inn has a beautiful wide covered porch. During warm weather breakfast is served on the porch overlooking the river. The breakfast was beautifully presented and absolutely scrumptious. The Innkeeper was very personable and accommodating. You can tell that she loves her job and is passionate about providing guests with the very best experience possible. Unless you've been there it's difficult to understand how the inn can be so peaceful and tranquil yet be so close the hustle and hustle of the town. What else? Water views, fine bed linens, tastefully appointed rooms, fresh flowers, beautiful gardens, immaculately clean rooms...and a nice host. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Visit the web site. We stayed only one night in the River Room which is the smallest room in the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
What a nice description of our inn, the surroundings and River's bird population... the ducks, wild ones and ours, are the daily entertainment!
Thank you also for your kind words about me... you are so right, I love inn keeping. I have been doing this for 30 years and still enjoy meeting you all and sharing this beautiful location. I never tire of the view, summer or winter.
Please come back and see us again soon. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed in the Hideout room at Bufflehead Cove. Room was absolutely amazing and staff was out of this world fabulous! Breakfast in the morning was home cooked and absolutely delicious. Room was immaculately clean and spacious. Coffee was brought to our room every morning at 7am, which was such a nice touch. Even wine and cheese also added a special touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi Angela S, We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. The Hideaway room is perfect for a honeymoon because it is so private. That's why we deliver your morning coffee.... so you can privately sit on your porch early in the morning and enjoy that first cup!
We thank you very much for the complements. I have passed on your comment about the breakfast to Helena and Jim, our breakfast cooks.
Please come back and visit again some time in the future. Warm regards from Maine, Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our stay at kennebunkport was great, partly due to the hospitality of the hosts who were available from morning to dawn. The room was comfortable, the breakfast were delicious and even the snacks (cheese wine cookie and fruits) were terrific. The site is very well located, as we were a few minutes away from the town and the beach either by car or by bike, which can be borrowed from the b&b.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi YPoon, We enjoyed meeting both of you and are pleased that you were happy with your visit. Our River room is our smallest room, so it is a pleasure to hear that you liked it. The view is pretty and having the open air balcony extends the room a bit.
I hope your trip back to Canada went smoothly and also hope we see you sometime in the future. Enjoy your summer, Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This review has been far too long in coming, as we actually stayed at Bufflehead Cove Inn at the beginning of October 2013 and I have been meaning to write this ever since we got back to the UK. We stayed at BCI for 2 nights whilst enjoying a 2-week New England road trip and I really can't fault it - it was definitely the best place we stayed on that trip. We stayed in the Garden Room, which is large, bright, airy, beautifully decorated and feels very private. We only met Harriett during our stay, who was truly charming and extremely helpful with any queries we had. Breakfasts were phenomenal - the ginger pancakes on our first morning and the apple cake which was served with the striata on our second morning were highlights of our two-week trip. The setting for breakfast, on the deck overlooking the cove, could not have been more beautiful and peaceful. We would love to return if we ever find ourselves pack in Kennebunkport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Wow, how nice that even after almost a year later you took the time to write tripadvisor. We thank you so much. It was a pleasure to read your nice comments. I will pass on the complements about the breakfast to Jim and Helena, our breakfast chefs. I am not sure who made the Ginger pancakes but it sounds like a 'Jim creation'. If you are ever back in New England, I hope you will visit us again. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

It's amazing to find a luxurious, peaceful retreat within sight of busy Kennebunkport center! The Bufflehead Cove Inn lived up to expectations, providing such a picturesque setting that we chose to stay on the grounds in lieu of sight-seeing on our first afternoon.
Harriet was warm and welcoming.( We appreciated the effort she made to make reservations for us in a second Inn when we decided to stay in Maine longer.) Breakfast on the porch was a great way to start the day. The river view from our spacious Balcony room was a first for us. We love ocean views and had underestimated the serene beauty of a tidal river.
-Therapy for the soul! We're looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: We loved the size, view, and designer touches of the Balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello from Bufflehead Cove, We enjoyed meeting you and are glad that you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully we will see you again for a longer one! I agree with you about the peacefulness of the river view. It's fun to watch the tide come and go... it's such a different experience from high tide to low.
Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Lane, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bufflehead Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.