We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bufflehead Cove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bufflehead Cove Inn to your Saves list
Bufflehead Cove Inn
20 Bufflehead Cove Lane, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“STAY HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This was our first stop on a tour through New England and we were so sad to have to leave and move on! The family that runs the inn are just spectacular! Erin was so fantastic - what a gift he has to make you feel welcome and to make sure every need is attended to. Our room was just amazing - views of the water, an outside sitting area where we could watch the tide roll in, the fireplace, the tub - all so fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
273
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We can only echo the views of those who have enjoyed Bufflehead Cove. It looked fantatsic on the website and was even better in reality. We stayed 1 night in October and had a fine day after all the rain. The setting of this inn is so idyllic with the tranquility of the river outside your window. It is a truly authentic New England experience.
Harriet's hospitality was second to none. We had booked the River room but on arrival were offered a free upgrade to a larger room with jaccuzzi. We kept the River room because although it was smaller it had the beautiful window seat and a small private balcony overlooking the river.
It is a little isolated, about 1 mile to walk into Kennebunkport (not to be missed), but that was what we wanted.
Could not fault our stay here and will return some day, hopefully.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you want the best, choose the Balcony room with its own private covered te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Peaceful, serene, off the beaten path. If this is what you're looking for, Bufflehead Cove is for you. Rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, and impeccably clean. Breakfasts are fabulous and filling. Loved sitting in front of the fire in the great room overlooking the cove. Bufflehead is a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

Wish we could linger longer, but all rooms were sold out. We stayed overnight and found the peace which we'd expected. Amazingly tranquil, you can hear the silence. Wonderful owners. Harriett is simply delightful. (Say "Hi" to Cassie:) We did not meet Erin or Jim, although Jim's breakfast was out of this world. Everything here is so well detail-oriented: from the room layout, amenities provided, even down to the thin watermelon slice, carefully picked and cut to the right bite size--sweetness & perfection.
¤ Balcony Rm +view, superb.
¤ Bufflehead ducks surrounding water & lovely in flight
¤ WiFi with strong signal
¤ Jacuzzi tub and Fireplace are magical
¤ Tea then evening turndown treat, a nice touch.
¤ Excellent restaurant recomendation
¤ High quality bedding, towels, robes, soaps & sundries
¤ Bed was extremely comfortable
The only thing to construct is the hallway squeeky floor. Expect that and love it for its historic character. Otherwise, everything else is contemporary, beautiful, and beyond your expected comfort. A Ralph Lauren feel. --Billy&Nomi

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Hi Billy and Nomi, We enjoyed your brief visit and wish you could have stayed longer. I hope the rest of your trip went well. Cassie is still here and says, "Hi".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Not much to add to the reviews to be honest. We stayed at the Bufflehead Cove Inn at the same time as many of the recent reviewers (I can tell because they all mention the terrible weather!) and can only go along with their comments.
My wife and I did a 2 week roadtrip around New England and can honestly say that this was the best B&B we stayed at (close runner up Captain Farris Inn at South Yarmouth if you're interested).
You feel so at home as soon as you enter the wonderful house which is fully of antiques and curios, the garden is beautiful it's just a shame the weather was so bad as we didn't have a chance to experience it, or even the small balcony we had.
Breakfast was great (in an American sort of way!) and plenty of it, plus by all being seated around a large table it's a great way to get to meet your fellow guests and pick up tips and advice about where to visit.
We stayed in the River Room which is small but other reviews have already stated it so I knew what we were in for - it's not a problem as it's laid out very well and is extremely cosy but the bathroom is very small, it was a case of one in, one out so if you're a little on the large size do not consider this room!
Harriet and Erin make you feel right at home without being obtrusive, hopefully we will return one day when the sun is shining!

Room Tip: River Room is beautiful and a great view of the river but a definitely on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thanks so much for your positive review of your visit with us. I loved the comment..." in an American sort of way..." about our breakfast. I have been to England so know that your breakfasts are minus the sweet stuff we do here. I love the English breakfast!
I hope you found some sunshine along the way on your trip. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Wonderful place. Wondrful rooms. Wonderful staff. We will go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guidford, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

There's not a lot more to say. All the excellent reviews below are right. Stayed in the River Cottage for 5 days at the beginning of October and although it rained hard for several days, it didn't seem to matter. The lovely Cottage was in a beautiful location to spend time just relaxing waiting for the rain to stop. The Inn's website is one of the best we've seen and totally accurate. Lots of good restaurants in the area inc Cape Arundel Hotel for an upmarket meal and where George Bush Snr and Barbara were dining when we were there.

Room Tip: River Cottage is 100 yards from Inn and also has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Lane, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bufflehead Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.