We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a bed and breakfast should aspire to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   108 Summer Street, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“What a bed and breakfast should aspire to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had just left a horrible bed and breakfast in New Hampshire when we checked into this inn. Driving up to the property was like arriving at an oasis. It was inviting, well cared for, and charming. We were greeted by the proprietors, Kathy and John, who were welcoming and informative. They took us on a tour of the inn, which was built by Ralph Waldo Emerson’s great uncle in 1753. The inn is immaculate with a rich history and personalization. She sat down at the kitchen table and showed us on the local maps where to go, where to eat, where to take long walks, etc. She also recommended that we visit some nearby lighthouses. To further supplement guests’ vacations, Kathy and John have bikes to use, beach passes, beach chairs, beach towels, etc. These really came in handy since most of the parking by the beach requires a permit. We rented two rooms, each of which was decorated by color. The rooms are large and well thought out. There are many original features such as the windows (with etchings in the panes believed to have been carved by the original owner’s wives), the doors and handles, the woodwork, etc. But many convenient, modern updates have been made such as window air conditioners, new bathrooms, some new fireplaces, etc. Everything in the inn smelled fresh, especially the custom soap and shampoo. Yet each room had the lingering aroma of burnt wood from previous fires in the fireplaces. On the breakfast table was homemade granola, trays of fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, coffee, tea, etc., all displayed on beautiful china. Belgian waffles served with strawberries, blueberries, whipped cream, mini chocolate chips, and sausage and omelets with fresh veggies, bacon, and fruit were the main breakfast entrees. Everything was super fresh, made to order, and delicious. When we arrived back in the afternoon our beds were made and we had fresh towels, which we greatly appreciated. Kathy rightfully boasted that 70% of her guests are repeat visitors. We sadly hugged them goodbye but hope to see them again. This was our first visit to Kennebunkport but hopefully not our last. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    12
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This inn was another wonderful find. It is very pretty, immaculately clean, cozy and welcoming. The food is absolutely delicious, with presentation to match. Kathy and John were very helpful. They have beach passes, umbrellas, bikes to loan to guests if you want them. Not far from the hub bub of Kennebunkport, but the peace and quiet is a world away. Very reasonable too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Waldo Emerson repeatedly over a four-year period, while visiting family in the area. I gave them a 5-star review after our first visit and am doing so again, on multiple counts: First, there is the housekeeping. This may not be the most elaborate inn you ever visit (don't expect name toiletries), but I will venture to predict it is the cleanest. Second, there is the breakfast -- huge, satisfying, personalized as needed. John is the head chef, responsible for fluffy Dutch pancakes and fancy egg dishes, but Kathy's granola is a standout. Third is the house itself -- cozy, charming, decorated with lovely handmade quilts, nicely located between Kennebunk and Kennebunkport. Finally, there is the spirit of hospitality that permeates everything. Want a large room with a fireplace? A restaurant recommendation? Directions to the Kittery Outlets? Kathy and John will provide them. And if you accidentally leave your slippers under the bed (as I did on our last visit) the inn will send them back to you Priority Mail! The mattresses could be firmer, but that is really our only gripe -- and a small inconvenience compared to the many large advantages of staying at this delightful inn.

Room Tip: Several rooms have fireplaces -- very cozy in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in the inn for two nights. The area of Kennebunk is beautiful and close driving distance to Portland and other must sees in Maine. Kathy and John were wonderful hosts. The Inn is a unique historicall building. It is a story to hear! Our room was the Red Room and it was immaculate. I can't even begin to describe the scrumptous breakfasts we ate each morning. Fantastic bed and breakfast and great conversation! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This B&B is not to be missed. The history of the Waldo Emerson house is fascinating. John and Kathy are so knowledgeable about every aspect of it. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The house is decorated beautifully, especially the dining room where the table is set with fine china. They serve an incredible breakfast to you on that china which makes you feel pampered and treated like royalty. As for things to do and local attractions, John gives his honest and informed suggestions about what to see and where to eat. He helps to steer you away from tourist traps. Overall, the place is wonderful and we wish we had more time there!

Room Tip: The Blue Room! (Actually, any color is great.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripsfor5
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed John and Kathy's wonderful inn for a one night stay. It was a lovely little inn with a great history. Delicious breakfast and warm hospitality. We stayed in Ralph's Library. A nice little room on the first floor.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice spot in a picturesque town. Excellent breakfast and enjoyable stay. The hosts do their best to make your stay pleasant in this historic home. Learn the history of the olest home in the area and interesting stories of the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 108 Summer Street, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldo Emerson Inn is a colonial style inn listed on the National Register of Historic Places. A restored shipbuilder's manse located next to the Kennebunk river with all the latest amenities including working fireplaces for a relaxing romantic getaway. Let us pamper you with our terrific Dutch breakfast and afternoon tea in the Inn's historic parlor or in the shade of our large oak trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldo Emerson Hotel
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed And Breakfast Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.