We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mark twain would have been pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   108 Summer Street, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
lucerne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“mark twain would have been pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

There's an original letter from Mark Twain framed and displayed in the Waldo Emerson Inn, addressed to one of innkeeper Cathy's forebears, and you can't help thinking th great man would have been delighted to be present in such a delightful house as this. Co-host John gives everyone an energetic and informative welcome and is clearly proud of the inn's many attractive features, from tasteful furnishings to comfortable beds and a copious hearty breakfast served at a communal table in the splendid dining-room. The inn is very practically located on Summer Road between Kennebunk town and Kennebunkport and the adjacent quilt gift shop is a treasure trove in its own right. A great choice of stay in a busy stretch of the Maine coast where such value for money is not always easy to find.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    17
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My mom and I came to Kennebunk to see my daughter perform at Arundel barn Playhouse. The location of Waldo Emmerson Inn is perfect! Close to Hwy 1 with easy access to beautiful coastal cities. Just a few minutes away from Kennebunk Port (and all of it's traffic!) and the beaches. The rooms were all perfectly CLEAN everyday and pretty too! The breakfasts were each better than the last... and we stayed a full week. I now understand why breakfast is the most important meal; in Kennebunk, it is the best! Fresh fruit, homemade granola, coffee, juices, home made hot entrees, and a meat! The only thing I would do differently is to request the downstairs room. But we just took the stairs slowly, and burned a few calories! I hope to return next summer with my whole family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend and look forward to returning in the future. The inn keepers are very kind, helpful and John will give you all the history on the inn and is very well informed. While the inn is about 3 miles from downtown Dock Square Kennebunkport, we found it quaint and perfect as it was not in the center of all the weekend people, but easy enough to get into town for dinner and walk around. We used the bikes provided on Saturday and biked 15 miles between the inn, the beach, the town and had some wonderful lobsters on our ride back at a place called O'Reilly's Lobster Coop. The breakfasts both mornings were real home cooked meals and generous portions and we both had some of the most comfortable nights sleep ever. Some places are noisy as well, but the Waldo Emerson was quiet and you truly felt at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Too often B&B's that are described as "charming" are too out-dated and therefore have a dirty feel to them, but the Waldo Emerson Inn rises to the very top of B&B's I have stayed at because the inn includes all the old colonial-era charm that you're looking for with clean updated rooms. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was tiny but clean and well decorated, and the breakfast in the morning made by the owner was outstanding. I highly recommend this place for couples looking to stay in the greater Kennebunkport area as the inn is very easy to get to and close to major roads/ highways. Only negative is that it is not walking distance to downtown Kennebunk or Kennebunkport.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Charming early American house with all the details you would expect on the oldest house in Kunnebunk, ME. These dear B&B innkeepers were well informed about the sites to see in the area and more than helpful in providing info including beach parking passes and bug spray!
This husband & wife team offered a great full course breakfast that you should not miss!
Happy to deal with dietary considerations.

Room Tip: Ask for the Yellow Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroWest Boston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at this lovely bed and breakfast while attending a nearby dance convention. Our hosts, John and Kathy were very welcoming and gave us a tour and explained the history of the property. We stayed in the yellow room and were delighted that John left us a log in the fireplace for a lovely fire. The room had electric candles in all the windows and quilts on the bed. The overall effect was quite charming.

Although breakfast was not served until 8:30am, John had delicious coffee ready for us by 7:30 and when he discovered us up early the second morning, he brought us hot cups of coffee on a tray while we read the paper in the living room. It was such a nice touch.

Breakfast was wonderful. We dined with fellow guests at a large table in the dining room. It was elegantly set and the food was generous and delicious. Each morning began with Kathy's homemade granola. There was always plenty of fresh fruit and juices. The main course on our first morning was a cinnamon swirl "Belgium" waffle and the second day was a fantastic quiche served in a small casserole. The quiche plate was garnished with fresh fruit and bacon. You could not possibly leave hungry.

I really enjoyed being seated together with other guests learning their stories. I would recommend this Inn and would love to go back myself.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My daughter has always wanted to stay at a bed and breakfast so I surprised her for her sixteenth birthday and arranged for a night at the Waldo Emerson Inn. With this being my first time at A B&B I was not quite sure what to expect. We were kindly welcomed by Kathy who had also taken the time to bake cookies for us. She immediately made us feel at home, gave us a tour of the inn, shared her knowledge of the home and time period, and was extremely kind.

She took the time to give us maps and information about the area and we were soon off to snowshoe through the grounds of the Fransician Monestary, shopping in the port, a drive to Walkers Point, and finished it off with dinner at Alisons. We had a terrific time!

We were excited to get back to the inn as it was "American Idol" night and my 16 year old certainly didn't want to miss it. John and Kathy as well enjoy the show and we were very happy to be in their company for half of the show. My daughter was comfortably cuddled up on the couch with their adorable poodle Waldo along with John and Kathy and it felt like home. John is very funny, has amazing stories to share, and we had a wonderful night.

All together we had a wonderful first time B&B experience and I am so glad that I came across the Waldo Emerson!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 108 Summer Street, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldo Emerson Inn is a colonial style inn listed on the National Register of Historic Places. A restored shipbuilder's manse located next to the Kennebunk river with all the latest amenities including working fireplaces for a relaxing romantic getaway. Let us pamper you with our terrific Dutch breakfast and afternoon tea in the Inn's historic parlor or in the shade of our large oak trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldo Emerson Hotel
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed And Breakfast Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.