We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franciscan Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Franciscan Guest House
Save
You added Franciscan Guest House to your Saves list
26 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Jax, Fl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The place does not have all the amenities of a 5 star resport, but the grounds are incredible with sweeping beauty rambling through the woods and along the shoreside of the river. Absolutely amazing beauty and complete tranquility. Breakfast was cafeteria style and quite adequate. Rooms were dated, small, but utterly comfortable. Beds slept well. Staff was as friendly and helpful as there is out there. All I can say is we pulled up and out 2 girls took off running through green grass fields and we found them an hour or so later playing in the woods by the river. Very safe, very lovely outdoor surroundings where both my wife and I felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    12
    8
    10
See reviews for
27
30
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
03801
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I just got back after an abscence of many years. Clean. Bathroom was renovated. Bed too soft. Great breakfast. They now have wifi and email... Big change from when i started to come here.
Its like a comfy well worn shoe, its not flash, but it does the job.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I love this place and look forward to staying there again. It's not one of those fancy hotels where you ring for room service and get fresh towels delivered to you everyday, it's more like your friend bought a motel and invited you to stay there. Your not going to ask your friend to bring you towels everyday, but your friend says you can get all the fresh towels you want in the linen closet. And he says you could walk around his huge motel property and look at huge, inspirational statues and architecture... and oh by the way you can also attend a traditional Catholic mass onsite, delivered by Franciscan monks who actually live on the property, too. Oh and by the way, it's so incredibly peaceful and noncommercial you will want to move there permanently. A bunch of words to describe: rustic, downscale, real, motel-ish, peaceful, peaceful, peaceful, welcoming, relaxing, spiritual, rejuvenating, affordable (compared to the rest of Kennebunkport) homey, school campus feeling, church potluck feeling, sincere, lovely, beautiful, serene, comforting... I just loved it there. Even though it's a Catholic monastery, you could be of any religion on earth and feel the peaceful welcoming there, like you have stepped back in time... And they have a pool. You won't want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This place is offers a spacious campus-like setting and a great location -- a 10 minute walk to the beach, less to restaurants and shopping in Kennebunk and Kennebunkport. It's quiet, as you'd expect of a monastery. Rooms are a bit spartan, but the staff is congenial and helpful, and the free breakfast is excellent. Free parking. At these rates, it's a perfect base for exploring the Maine coast or just eating, drinking and lying on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

It is with great regret that I need to write negatively about the Franciscan Guest House. After visiting this guest house annually for the last 15 years all that has changed is the cost to stay there. Once touted as Kennebukport's hidden secret, this location appears to have dome nothing to keep pace with the modern conveniences of even the most basic of surrounding motels and hotels. The rooms are old and tired, window air conditioning units rattle and leak, bathroom grout is stained, rugs are old and most dissapointing is that the front desk staff have changed from welcoming regular customers to not recongnizing anyone, becoming impersonal, cold and too business like. The staff receptiveness once offet the old, inexpensive setting, however as costs have gone up and staff have become disinterested, the appeal has gone. This location is not without its appeal, it is set in the beautiful grounds of the Franciscan Monestry and is extremely convenient to the beach (if you are into that). It is also a pleasant walk to downtown Kennebunkport. It also has an open air sea water pool. Despite its pluses, they are no loger sufficient enough to make me return. I feel bad that this once favorite place has declined so badly and that I do not plan on returning.

Room Tip: No good room - if you are committed on trying this place out - I would recommend a roon facing the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kennebunk hotels

Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

...but, didn't expect them to be...the beauty of this place is in the grounds, the fantastic location (close to beach AND town) and the very lovely, helpful, sweet staff. breakfast buffet was just so nicely done. would highly recommend if you're not a "luxury accomodations" type person! great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Lucky for me I made it back to the Franciscan Guest House this spring. I attended my second retreat. I just love this place. It is located on the most serene and peaceful property. The staff at the guest house is so kind. For a real treat attend Sunday mass. Fr. John Bacevicius is the most WONDERFUL man. He delivers a meaningful Mass every time. I wish I could go to his service every Sunday! The rooms are basic, very clean, comfy beds and super clean linens. The bathroom in the room we had looked updated, not fancy but clean paint. I can't wait to go back. The feeling I get at the FGH is a happy one. When I get home, it stays with me. I LOVE it! Can't wait to return.

If you do go, check out the Chase Hill Bakery on the corner of Beach Ave. The baked goods are excellent and the coffee is the best around. Pat is the owner of the bakery. Tell her the cousins from New York sent you. We ran into her at Sunday Mass, she is such a friendly person.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franciscan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Guest House

Address: 26 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable option for the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area. The hotel offers simple, plain, comfortable guest rooms for young families, seniors and anyone on a budget. Located next to the beautiful St. Anthony's Monastery Grounds with 44 acres of trees, rolling lawns, picnic tables, riverside walking path, shrines and wildlife. Only 15 minute walk to the beach. Or if you wish to drive, parking permits are available for a small fee. The continental buffet included with your room, with an upgrade to hot breakfast available for a small fee. Amenities include outdoor saltwater pool, free parking, A/C's, mini-refrigerator in all rooms. Supper by our Lithuanian cooks available in peak season. The hotel is a little oasis of peace and tranquility between Docks Square and the Kennebunk beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Franciscan Guest House Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Guest House Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franciscan Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.