We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster for $18!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bartley's Dockside Dining - CLOSED

Bartley's Dockside Dining
4 Western Avenue FRONT, State Road 9, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
(207) 967-6244
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kennebunk's longest licensed restaurantwith the same family ownership . . . .100 seat YEAR ROUND restaurantemploying local people, 37 years 3 generations
Knoxville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lobster for $18!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This lobster dinner was as delicious as Hurrican'es and less than half price! The side items were ok. but the lobster was great!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    53
    22
    31
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This restaurant met every expectation that we had of a classic lobster restaurant .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Awesome experience. Food and Service was fantastic and we were treated like family. As a gay couple we felt very welcomed. Great place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service was GREAT, food was ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Some friends and I drove through Kennebunkport on the way from CT to Portland. We were in the mood for a quick, not terribly expensive, lunch.
After driving around for over 20 min looking for other places we found on Trip advisor we decided to try out Bartley's bc it was easily accessible. We weren't in the mood for lobster, but I was dying to have some lobster bisque!
We walked into the place & it was empty & old. Not a big deal, the whole town is old & it was like 3pm.
We each ordered the lobster bisque & Julie brought is our heroism portions. It was perfect! Perfect amount of creamy with little chunks of meat. I could've eaten another bowl.
I had the halibut Ruben special with fries & it was yummy!!! The fish was so flaky & the fries were crispy!
My husband got the crab cakes app and they were good, just over priced.
Our friends got fish & chips & they were ok.
Grilled cheese & tomato was way too cheesy & the cheese was watery like it was wet or something. Fries were delish!
We also had the blueberry pie that the other reviews raved over. It was "meh". Not wild blueberries. It was kinda watery too. The ice-cream was fine, we didn't finish it.
We probably won't go back. The prices were high, but the service was great!! Julie was so sweet :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An "Old School"restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

For a great dinner in Maine, you have to try Bartleys Dockside.Their service,and food bring back an era when the customer and quality were the top priorities. My wife and I both had the "special" of filet mignon and shrimp which was excellent! topped off with their tremendous blueberry pie.Juli our server, was tops,also.
We will be sure to go again on our next trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

They serve Cakebread wines by the glass in season. The lobster was piled high on my salad and the staff very friendly. Try the onion rings and enjoy Mrs. B, the owner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartley's Dockside Dining also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bartley's Dockside Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.