We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Pub Fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Jacks Restaurant and Brewpub

Federal Jacks Restaurant and Brewpub
8 Western Ave, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043-7756
+1 207-967-4322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 49 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Overpriced Pub Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Visited on a Saturday night, server was pleasant and attentive, but kitchen was verrrry slow. Food portion was disappointing, 1 skewer of steak tips, 3 tablespoonfuls of risotto, 1/2 of a grilled tomato and some asparagus 19.00 - quite frankly with the choices you have for restaurants in the Kennebunks- you can do much better! Crowded, noisy and expect a wait. Not worth it in my book, and not returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    244
    112
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The portions are very small, the food took forever to get. The beer was good. I wouldn't waste my time or money ever going back to this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Grafton, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good even for something "federal"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Visited for a late Friday night dinner. No waiting and were seated immediately. Quaint setting upstairs overlooking the water right off of famed dock square. We tried the fish and chips which was excellent and I am a picky eater. My wife had the Strawberry & Goat Cheese salad which was also very good.

Did a 3 pour sampler if the beers and liked the Goat Island Light the best. The Amber was a bit darker and hoppier than I would normally like.

Overall good food and experience although value/pricing was a little off. Would have expected a but more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Afternoon lunch in Kennebunkport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were in Maine for the Christmas Holiday. On "down time" from family we took a drive to Kennebunkport. What a beautiful drive, and what a quaint Seaside town. We wen to Federal Jacks for lunch, and had an amazing lunch, I had the Calamari. We didn't want a full lunch, as dinner with family was planned. The Calamari was done to perfection, just the right amount of spice, and not greasy. I could tell that it was done with corn starch, deep fried until done to the right consistency. The view from the dining room was great, looking at the lobster boats tied up at the docks just made it an amazing lunch get-away.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great View and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Always hit Feds when we are up in Kennebunkport, great for families or drinks with friends after dark. Always at wait so get here early.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federal Jacks Restaurant and Brewpub also viewed

 

Been to Federal Jacks Restaurant and Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Jacks Restaurant and Brewpub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.