We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lobster rolls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clam Shack

Clam Shack
2 Western Ave, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043-7751
207-967-3321
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Mamaroneck, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great lobster rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had lobster rolls most days for lunch on our recent Maine trip. This was the second best we had (best was Red's Easts in Wiscasset, but that had a much longer wait). We had the combination of butter and mayo. We sat outside on a bench overlooking the water. These top lobster rolls are not cheap, but you're getting a large portion of pure lobster.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    130
    61
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Skip the Shack and go for the lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The Clam Shack has lots of fried seafood, and by some authorities, the best lobster rolls. But the shop right next door where they sell fresh seafood (and where their lobster comes from) will also boil up a lobster for you. Last night, the lobster roll was $16.99, the same price as a lobster dinner (lobster, lemon slice, melted butter, a bag of chips "and all the napkins you need.") A 1 lb. was $12.99,and 1 1/4 lb. was $14.99. Fifteen minutes after ordering we were enjoying our already cracked lobsters at the picnic tables outside. (There is also seating inside at high tables with bar stools.)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

After our 3 day quest for the perfect lobster roll, the absolute winner is the Clam Shack. Hands down perfection. Be sure to order it with mayo and butter. There is nothing else to say.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“butter or mayo?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The best lobster sandwich-hands down!
No lettuce no celery no nonsense!
The only decision you need to make is mayo or butter-
GET BOTH!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“clams nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Came here wearing my Essex Seafood tee shirt, ready for a throwdown. We had already gone to the fish market down the road for our lobster rolls, at $10 a roll. (Decent-nothing special.) Got a pint of fried clams-$24 -for a little box. They were OK-not something I would raise my cholesterol again for. And the tartar sauce in Ken's containers was not good. What is all the hype here?
Since we only have fried clams once a year, it has to be worth it--and it wasn't.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Shack also viewed

 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Been to Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.