We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch, as always.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Barn Inn Restaurant

The White Barn Inn Restaurant
37 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043-7614
2079672321
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Barn Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 9
Description: Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes 5 Star and Relais Gourmand property with four course Prix Fixe Menu at $106 per person, and subject to availability, a nine course Prix Fixe menu at $160 per person, both featuring the finest fresh local ingredients.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Top notch, as always.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had dinner by the big window looking into the rear area in December when the Christmas decorations are absolutely amazing. Fixed price dinners are now $106. per person without drinks, tax or tips. Pretty steep, but for a special occasion you simply cannot beat the White Barn Inn. Appetizers, intermezzos, main course, desserts are just out of this world, as is the service. We've eaten here 4 or 5 times in the last 10 years or so (not from Maine) and it is truly the best of the best.
Want a truly memorable evening? This is the place to go. Thanks again, White Barn!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    32
    33
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Special Occassion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We went there for our anniversary and it was beautiful food perfectly prepared, perfectly served, and absolutely delicious. It was an elegant dining experience, very expensive but my husband and I left feeling that we had been treated like royalty (we are not).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A gourmet experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Beautiful and charming atmorphere, excellent food, outstanding service. A gourmet experience to reapeat!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good food poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Went last Saturday night with three others. Service was unattentive, uneven, a couple of misteps when bringing the food and drinks to the table.Wait person was nice but did not know the answer when we asked what other restaurants the owners had and where. No one asked us if we would like a drink while were waiting at the barfor our table. The manager did remove the charge for fresh truffles when they shaved them on the wrong dish (47 dollar upcharge) and gave us a round of dessert wine which was nice. Twice the wrong plate was placed in front of the wrong person. Food was good but not worth the prices they are asking. Overpriced wine list and drinks. Chocolate-cherry mini muffns brought to the table at the end of the meal was confusing , unnecessary and went untouched.Called the restaurant to let them know it was a birthday celebration but there wasnt an effort to acknowledge it.No one thanked us after the meal when we left even though the chef was standing in the bar with a cocktail talking to friends.The front desk could not break a twenty to tip the valet. Not up to Relais and Chateau standards.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great and almost great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My spouse and I ate at The White Barn Inn on Thanksgiving Day (11/22/12) in the late afternoon. The Inn is very picturesque and the set-up of the Inn kept the noise levels down to pleasant levels. The service was great, from the parking valet through the waiter and helpers; we always felt that the staff was attentive without being instrusive.
Personally, I enjoyed my appetizer, my entree (beef tenderloin), and my dessert very much. My spouse was not disappointed in but not as enthralled by her entree (traditional turkey dinner).
When we made the reservation, we had been told that the meals on Thanksgiving would come from a limited, special selection for that day. We were not told the fixed price for the meals, and unfortunately I did not ask. The meal was a bit more expensive than expected.
For me, the quality of the food and service led me to conclude that the value stayed within the bounds of "reasonable"; I am not sure that my spouse came to that same conclusion. That being said, both of us enjoyed the Inn and its Thanksgiving Day hospitality, and we would strongly consider another visit for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Barn Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to The White Barn Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Barn Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.