We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach House to your Saves list
The Beach House
211 Beach Avenue, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Braintree, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Room was great, clean, spacious, bath was small. Continental breakfast included Quiche,craessents, muffins cereals, cheese, cold cuts and yogut. Staff went out of their way to help. Beautiful view from porch, dinning and sitting area. A few rooms have water view. Located across from the beach, great for just sitting, walking, afternoon Tea.
my best stay in may Maine in many years

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    59
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
13
86
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota,Fl
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

No complaints about the hotel or the service. We just think if we return we will stay over on the other side of Kennebunkport (Ocean Drive) it is much more convenient to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The view out the garden room was of the generator and the dumpster. The room itself was very nice, too bad it had a lousy view. The check in staff was EXCELLENT. A different view the stay would have been good. Nice breakfast but not exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

loved The Beach House....it was conveniently located next to the beaches which eliminated any need to find parking and was only a few miles from the city center. Great views, friendly staff, and decent accommodations. would come here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine, Qc, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This was our third visit this year to the Beach House (May, July and August). We just enjoy this place. The personnel is always helpful and can give you information about the area. The room was nice and clean as always. It was nice to sit outside on the new porch and enjoy breakfast in the morning and afternoon tea.
Can't wait to go back again, soon I hope.....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

The location which is on the beach road allows you walkable access to 2 beautiful beaches. The feel of a bed and breakfast but bigger, more modern and allows more privacy. The staff are eager to help. The room was beyond our expectation with spectacular views, clean and decorated beautifully. This is our 3rd stay here for special occasions and consistently has exceededour expectations each time. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was so disappointed when I opened the door to my room and saw the condition of the rug which had stains all over and a cheap rug from Target to cover the worst stain in the middle. The chairs in the room were old and stained, and the window coverings all have water marks. You can barely turn around in the bathroom and the shower had long black hairs leftover from the last guest. I don't have a problem paying a premium rate for a room, but this room did not meet my expectations. The continental breakfast consisted of cold quiche that was more like a custard pie, and stale croissants and muffins. We asked the staff about booking various activities around Kennebunkport and they were clueless. We called down to the front desk at 11AM and no one answered the phone. The girls were either surfing the internet or checking their text messages everytime we walked by the front desk. Very poorly run place. Suprising for a sister propery of Relais and Chateux. Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay at The Beach House or ask for a very reduced rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: 211 Beach Avenue, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Kennebunk
The Beach House Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.