We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel
One Chase Hill, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent the past weekend in Kennebunkport at The Grand Hotel. It was awesome! Our reception was warm, welcoming and informative. The room was beautiful, the colors of the hotel itself were so soothing and warm. The heated floors in the bathroom- can you ask for anything else?! The bed and pillows were so unbelievably comfortable I wanted to look and see who made them! Our room had a perfect view looking out over the river and Kennebunkport. We parked our car Friday afternoon and didn't touch it until Sunday. All of our reservations ( Abbondante, Cottage Breeze, Opus 10...) and explorations were in walking distance. To make sure the trip started off properly we received two complimentary drinks at One Dock from the Grand Hotel. One Dock opened early for us and we let them know how much we appreciated that by staying there for a long time :)! I had never been to a hotel that didn't have staff round the clock, but it was not an issue at all. I purchased the room from RueLaLa and it was very simple and easy to use, I'm not waiting for RueLaLa to book again- I'm ready now!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
115
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed one night here in the grand hotel, how I wish it were for longer. Fabulous hotel in the heart of town.. As other reviewers have said on arrival we too had a complimentary box of chocolates which was a really nice touch. The room was fabulous and the bath and shower room were fab with heated floor control ! The welcome we had was very welcoming and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and should we ever return to the kennebunks we will certainly stay here. We also received a goody bag to take with is which was a welcome surprise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Mumintheuk,
Thank you very much for the lovely review. We love giving the chocolates just as much as the guests enjoy eating them! The next time that you are in the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area we hope that you will choose the Grand Hotel as you home away from home.
Sincerely,
The Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location right downtown. Everything is within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The staff was amazingly helpful and kind. They supply free bikes for you take around at first come first serve. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Peeriyamay,
Thank you for the kind words about our staff. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will return to visit again soon.
Sincerely,
The Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Complimentary chocolates on arrival - always a good start. Our room was a very good size with a lovely en-suite. The hotel was in easy walking distance of the shops, amenities and boat trips. It was our favourite hotel of 8 we stayed in during our holiday in New England.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Mark C,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Isn't it great that once your car is parked you are able to walk everywhere. We are within a few steps to great shopping and restaurants, which makes it very convenient to explore Kennebunk and Kennebunkport. We hope that the next time you decide to travel across the pond that you will consider staying with us again!
We look forward to see you again.
Sincerely,
The Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The Grand is located right in downtown Kennebunk which is really nice because downtown is right outside of your door. The room was clean and decorated very well. The staff couldn't have been kinder. They greeted us with nice box of chocolates to help celebrate our anniversary and sent us off with a bag of goodies before we got on the road. We will definitely be back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We came to Kennebunkport for a wedding and booked 3 rooms with family members. We all got 3rd floor king suites (305, 306 & 308). Many of the other wedding guests decided to stay on the water but we wanted to be in town. This hotel was absolutely perfect for our interests. We loved being within walking distance of EVERYTHING. No parking issues, no stress of getting around. We are runners so we were able to do a 4-6 mile run each day down to Beach Ave and around back to Western Ave or an out and back. If you're runners you will LOVE the run. The hotel had cruiser bikes that we didn't get a chance to ride but friends did and reallye enjoyed touring the neighborhoods and exploring the other areas (they told us they did walk some hills). I would, without a doubt, come back here if I didn't have my kids. My only complaint was that we paid the same rate in 305 as my family members did for 306 & 308. I would HIGHLY suggest trying for 306 - it is a huge room with double closets and plenty of space. Room 308 (and I saw 307 as it was getting cleaned) were equally as spacious but not as spacious as 306. Our room was TINY. It was a bit of a disappointment, but not one that would deter us. The soaps, showers, heated floors, etc. were excellent quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was in a great location. We were able to walk everywhere but they even had bikes you could borrow. The hotel was also super clean and very nicely decorated. The staff was super nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: One Chase Hill, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Kennebunkport Resort Collection of luxury Kennebunkport accommodations, the Grand Hotel sits prominently on Chase Hill, offering sweeping views of the Kennebunk River and bustling Dock Square. Featuring classic New England architecture and elegantly appointed rooms, the Grand Hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy your Kennebunkport, Maine vacation. With an onsite day spa and gourmet deli, you can indulge yourself in both well-being and culinary delights. Our Kennebunkport resort has something for everyone! Steps away from the Grand, you’ll find exceptional restaurants, diverse art galleries, and charming boutiques. Kennebunkport also offers several beautiful beaches, perfect for soaking up some rays, shell seeking or a family day at the beach. Paddle a kayak and check out the River, or explore Maine’s coast. Hop on a bike or scooter and explore Kennebunkport’s winding back roads, or enjoy one of our scenic tours on a classic schooner, lobster boat or whale watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.