We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel or inn or B&B I have stayed at in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Hotel
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
One Chase Hill, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best hotel or inn or B&B I have stayed at in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

By far, the nicest and most economical room I have stayed in in the area in TEN years. Beautiful room, so well planned out. Luxurious shower stall, great amenities, great chairs - really, everything. And the Kitchen Chicks deli is in the front of the building, not to mention that the hotel is walking distance to everything in downtown Kennebunkport. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Ba K

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and it's always great to hear how our guests enjoy our luxurious accommodations our perfect location and all our facilities. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    30
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
121
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a work trip and this hotel was a gem. We were the only ones there but felt safe. The rooms were nice and the beds were so comfortable. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to explore the great city of Kennebuck. I can't wait to stay here again in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Inolan06

Thank you for the wonderful review of The Grand Hotel in Kennebunk. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and we are so pleased to read that you especially enjoyed our super comfy beds.
We look forward to seeing you again in the summer when you return to Kennebunk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door, we loved this place. Staff greeting us was very welcoming; the room was sunny and relatively spacious and graciously appointed! Everything was in great condition. We, too, loved the heated bathroom floor and the large shower. The amenities are terrific, including the Keurig coffee machine for our morning coffee. We visited off-season, loved walking around the town, and found two excellent places for breakfast - one at the front of the hotel and one directly across the street. I imagine this town can be a bit of a zoo during the summer season; we truly enjoyed the peace and quiet. One added benefit is that we were able to walk to our dinner the first evening - a great meal at The Dock. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been travelling to Maine at least once a year over the past number of years. Since this hotel just opened last summer, we did not have the pleasure of staying here before. We are so glad we decided to make a reservation at the Grand in Kennebunk. The location alone makes it well worth the stay. You can literally park your car upon arrival and from there walk to a myriad of shops, restaurants, etc. in Kennebunk and Kennebunkport. Couldn't ask for a better location, what a pleasure. The hotel itself, being recently built, is, simply stated, grand. The room we had was very large with all the immenties you'd expect in a fine hotel. The bathroom is also large and comes with heated floors, which was really nice during our stay in January. It included a very large shower and a great vanity. No bathtub thou, but for us that was not a problem as we are shower people. "Kitchen Chicks", which is a nice pastry and sandwich shop, is accessible thru the lobby of the hotel. This is a nice place for breakfast/brunch. Also, across the street is H.B. Provisions which not only serves a great breakfast but is stocked with anything and everything you may need, including a rather large wine selection, and they are open seven days a week, even during "off season". Enough can not be said about the staff at the Grand Hotel. They have redefined the words "helpful", "friendly", and "professional". Jennifer went out of her way to assist us in any way she could. She was very helpful in giving us information about the local area to include maps to our destination(s). She greeted us every day with a friendly greeting and smile. Jennifer made our stay at the Grand truly grand. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are the same. Inquire at the time you make your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed off-season. What a gorgeous place. Boutique, similar to small elegant European hotel. Loved the solitude - front desk staff very welcoming. Beautiful, clean room with balcony overlooking town. Gorgeous bath - loved the heated floor. Very thoughtful touches and great attention to detail. A silly point - loved the bedding (what is it? So comfortable). All in all, a very special stay - we'll be back. Also had a lovely dinner at Grissini (sp?). Off season is the way to go!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Seri H,
We were delighted to have you with us during our off season, and are especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel. We are so happy to know you felt at home with us here at the Grand. The room and it’s amenities are both elegant and peaceful. We could not agree with you more when it comes to the bedding. There is nothing quite like it. All of our bedding is by Frette and Cuddledown which makes for a sweet night’s sleep. We hope to see you again in the near future for another special stay!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything about The Grand is perfect...modern, warm , comfortable and maticiculous ! The location is excellent. Right in the center of town and an easy walk to everything...The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and pleasant. Thank you for making our stay so special !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Gooserocks1,
Thank you for your kind words! They mean so much to us here at the Grand Hotel. We could not be happier that your stay with us was prefect from start to finish and that you enjoyed all that the Grand has to offer from our modern and comfortable accommodations to being in an excellent location. We are glad that you were able to get out and enjoy yourselves while here. Thank you for your compliments to our staff it’s truly a pleasure for us to be able to do whatever it takes to make our guests stay an experience that they will remember. We look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the village so it's only a short walk to everything.
The hotel is new, the room we had was wide and, being on the corner of the hotel, was very charming.
They only lack breakfast service but the shop across the street offers a very wide choice of food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Nicola A,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you loved your room and all its charm and enjoyed your time with us here at the Grand. It is nice to have everything within walking distance and we are glad that you were able to find eating accommodations just steps away from the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: One Chase Hill, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Kennebunkport Resort Collection of luxury Kennebunkport accommodations, the Grand Hotel sits prominently on Chase Hill, offering sweeping views of the Kennebunk River and bustling Dock Square. Featuring classic New England architecture and elegantly appointed rooms, the Grand Hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy your Kennebunkport, Maine vacation. With an onsite day spa and gourmet deli, you can indulge yourself in both well-being and culinary delights. Our Kennebunkport resort has something for everyone! Steps away from the Grand, you’ll find exceptional restaurants, diverse art galleries, and charming boutiques. Kennebunkport also offers several beautiful beaches, perfect for soaking up some rays, shell seeking or a family day at the beach. Paddle a kayak and check out the River, or explore Maine’s coast. Hop on a bike or scooter and explore Kennebunkport’s winding back roads, or enjoy one of our scenic tours on a classic schooner, lobster boat or whale watch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.