We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Hotel
One Chase Hill, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Kennebunk
Kennebunkport, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another Great Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed this summer at The Tides Beach Hotel, a sister resort of this, and had a magnificant time. This property in town was also excellent. The staff was extremely helpful and very nice. We were there for Kennebunkport's Christmas Prelude and the staff gave us some great reccommendations where to go. We had a corner King Classic, the room was very comfortable and well appointed. The chacuterie tray and martinis delivered to our room when we arrived was a great start to a memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear AOYHopeful ,
Thank you for your great review of our newest property. It’s always a pleasure to have guests that frequent our sister properties and of course we love hearing that we fit right in. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all that Prelude has to offer and that your room was comfortable and enjoyable! We certainly hope this will just be the first of many stays with us and that there will be many more occasions for martinis and memorable times with us here at the Grand!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
93
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hotel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

first of all be careful if you are driving through a city named Ogunquit ~ they also have a hotel by this same name and it is NOT the same as the The Grand Hotel in Kennebunk! we were traveling in off season (November of 2012) and realized that this was not tourist season so i am not sure during the tourist season if they handle their practices any differently: we were the only ones staying at this hotel and we were informed that the staff would be leaving at 6:00 pm and that our room key would be able to unlock the front door. I just felt it was strange that they didn't have any staff there over night! The hotel was grand ~ very nice. our room over looked the main street and had a balcony. The bed was some what comfortable - a little too firm for my liking. The staff that we did deal with were very nice and helpful! I gave the service an average rating since we were left at the hotel by our selves at night.

Room Tip: Room 202 was very nice, overlooking the main street with a nice size balcony with table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear TheDixie,
Thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their accommodations while staying with us here at the Grand in Kennebunk. Although it is our standard procedure year round to lock down at night the staff does try their very best to ensure our guests are both comfortable and equipped with what they need for the evening. It is our number one priority that our guests, should we say are tucked in for a grand’s night sleep. It is always good to hear that our staff was nice and helpful. We truly hope that we will see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at The Grand for 4 nights in mid-November. What a lovely experience! Being as we were there during the "off-season" (mid-November), we had most (if not all) of the hotel to ourselves but, that potential tedium in no way prevented the staff from being incredibly attentive, friendly and helpful.
Our room, a King Suite, is a technological wonder. The HVAC is controlled with a remote and, the fully marble finished bathroom has the option to heat the floor! Absolutely beautiful! Equally enjoyable was the exceedingly pleasant scent of the bed linens...something from the orchid family and, genuinely soothing. The room is quite nicely sized, has good amount of closet space and, did feature a walk-out balcony though, the weather made it a bit less than practical to enjoy it.
As noted, the hotel is nearly at the heart of Kennebunkport and, shares space with "Kitchen Chicks", a lovely pastry and sandwich bistro. Across the street from the hotel is H.B. Provisions so, should you require something else, it is readily available. The one suggestion we would make to the hotel is, that there IS ample room in the King Suite for a refrigerator and small writing desk (on the wall under the TV). This would be a greatly appreciated amenity to provide your future guests.
Overall, we would rate The Grand Hotel, the staff, and the room quite highly. The value was a bit harder to justify for the time of year and, I suspect that if the rates were eased a bit, the hotel may do a little more business. However, it is their first year and, they still have to "test the waters". We would have no qualms about returning and indeed, will look forward to our next chance to do so!

Room Tip: The KIng Suite, 206, was a NE corner room. It was generally quiet and had a nice view towards the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear ahbach007,
Thank you so much for the incredible review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We really do love being able to spend time with our guests and to hear and see that you’re having a Grand time. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your room and its amenities and that your sleeping accommodations were both relaxing and soothing! Kitchen Chicks truly is a treat and most enjoyable for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and to spend a little more time with us here at the heart of it all!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Grand is brand new, so clean, and so comfy! We had a separate little sitting area, and a small patio to look out over the river. The best thing is the location. It's right at the bridge in Kennebunk, that takes you over to Kennebunkport. So you're in the center of it all. When we left, they surprised us by handing us a "goodbye gift" of bottled water and granola bars! Never had that before! Thank you Grand for the perfect ending to a great trip to Maine!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear dhplanome,
We are so very glad that you had such a wonderful time while staying with us here at the Grand. Thank you so much for all your kind words and it was certainly a pleasure having you with us. We look forward to your future stays with us!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

recently spent a few nights at this new hotel---it should be characterized as a 'boutique' hotel as it does not have the amenities associated with a full scale hotel. There are plus and minus attributes to the hotel....no room is the same and you must pay close attention when the size of the room is explained and its location (some rooms are VERY small) and this includes the Grand King with balcony. Also, pay close attention to location of the room....our visit was in the fall during the week (slow time) I would imagine it could be very noisy with traffic during the summer facing the front of the hotel as traffic could be heard in our room facing the side street...you have two choices for side views: one faces the town, the other the side of another hotel's parking lot. Also, there are not enough parking spaces at the hotel to accommodate their guests (parking is available a short walk up the street in a lot) but anyone with difficulty walking would certainly not find that adequate. Also, I only saw one handicapped parking space. the hotel shares space with a coffee shop and hair salon and their customers get to use the few parking spots at the hotel so guests are not guaranteed any spot . The rooms are sparsely furnished and not expensively. A few have a stand alone closet that does not accommodate many clothes. Though only open since June, carpets have been stained, as noted by another reviewer (our room had stains). on the positive side the bathrooms are gorgeous and large, toiletries of good quality and generous.. One grand king had a very good size bathroom but a very small bedroom, crowded with two chairs....some rooms only have one chair!!!! When booking the room, speak to the front desk about room size, so you are not shocked and disappointed. Hotel is extremely clean and the staff accommodating. There is no lobby to speak of and the two bathrooms in that space are for PUBLIC use so there is enormous traffic and no security for getting on the elevators. In summation, there is good and not so good aspects of this hotel...positives: large modern bathrooms, clean, location (walk into Kennebunkport shopping) negatives: size of rooms, room locations, parking, no elevator security during the day; (night security is a key to get into the hotel, beds are very soft, (as noted by another reviewer). Expensive for quality of furnishings and size of rooms...balconies are also very curious...only a few accommodate two people sitting; they are the grand kings, the other balconies are very narrow. The staff are excellent explaining the rooms, just listen!

Room Tip: pay attention to explanation of size and be specific on what you would like
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Dolores O
Thank you for review. We truly appreciate all feedback from our guests. We are glad that you were able to enjoy a small piece of fall with us here at the Grand. We could not agree with you more that are beds are comfy and the bathrooms are luxurious right down to the heated flooring! We enjoy very much being able to spend quality one on one time with our guests and being a boutique property with only 17 rooms gives us that opportunity. It gives us the chance to meet every one of you personally and make sure all our guests have a Grand experience whether it is from choosing a room type that will best suit your needs or helping with dinner recommendations and also help with other area attractions. We certainly are unique and a one of a kind property. We feel that every room has something different to offer to our guests depending on needs. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that the next time you find yourself in the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area you will stay with us at the Grand Hotel.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had purchased a 2 night promotional stay through travel and leisure, around $400 for 2 nights. We arrived and had a huge gift bag waiting for us with treats from the area, as well as a small bottle of celebratory champagne. We had the grand room with a large balcony - which was great for watching fireworks. The bathrooms were beautiful- huge shower area. The bed was very comfortable. It was only a five minute walk to the main town area, and there were plenty of places to get food right around the hotel- even in the hotel building. We had a great dinner at Earth at Hidden Pond, and at the Tides Beach Club (amazing lobster roll). You will need to make reservations and drive to each, but well worth it. I would stay at The Grand Hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear jetaime10,
We are thrilled that you had such a memorable time with us here at the Grand and that you enjoyed the promotional gift bag and all its goodies! My personal favorite was the chocolates…amazing! As for your choice of room while staying with us…the best and we could not agree with you more that the bathrooms are beautiful. Earth and Tides are both fantastic and are most definitely worth the drive! We cannot wait to have you come and visit with us again!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved the Grand. Beautiful clean,new, hip rooms. Great Waterworks bathroom. Wonderful location, can walk to everything and 5 minutes to beautiful beaches. Only complaint wish their was a lounge on-site. Can't wait to go back. Mr and Mrs. P.

Room Tip: Not many rooms with balconies, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear sky229,
We love that you loved the Grand. Thank you for kind words about our beautiful, clean and hip little hotel! We are thrilled that you were able to take advantage of the convince of our location and were able to take in all of the areas beauty. We can’t wait to have come back and stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: One Chase Hill, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Kennebunkport Resort Collection of luxury Kennebunkport accommodations, the Grand Hotel sits prominently on Chase Hill, offering sweeping views of the Kennebunk River and bustling Dock Square. Featuring classic New England architecture and elegantly appointed rooms, the Grand Hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy your Kennebunkport, Maine vacation. With an onsite day spa and gourmet deli, you can indulge yourself in both well-being and culinary delights. Our Kennebunkport resort has something for everyone! Steps away from the Grand, you’ll find exceptional restaurants, diverse art galleries, and charming boutiques. Kennebunkport also offers several beautiful beaches, perfect for soaking up some rays, shell seeking or a family day at the beach. Paddle a kayak and check out the River, or explore Maine’s coast. Hop on a bike or scooter and explore Kennebunkport’s winding back roads, or enjoy one of our scenic tours on a classic schooner, lobster boat or whale watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.