We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth Rose House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elizabeth Rose House
Save
You added Elizabeth Rose House to your Saves list
61 Fletcher St., Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
St. James
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful weekend up in Maine with the Old Man and have to say it was one of my best trips ever! And a great trip starts with great company, beautiful weather and wonderful accommodations, and I have to say we scored high on all three!I always stay in B & B's when travelling, and I have to say that Our stay at the Elizabeth Rose House was one of my best experiences ever! The rooms are clean, bright and well decorated- just what you'd expect in a B & B in a quaint seaside town. what really set this experience apart is how at ease and comfortable Betsy and Paul make you feel.I have been in many places where the innkeepers encourage you to "feel right at home" but I don't think anyone has ever achieved this as well as they have. We only stayed 3 nights, and in that short time it was truly like staying with family or good friends. Within 24hrs you feel as though you've known them your whole life! They made us as welcome in their home as anyone possible could and Betsy made us feel almost like we were her own kids, right down to her scolding finger wave everytime we pulled out of the driveway on our Harleys without our helmets on! We also had alotta fun making fun of each other's accents (We are from "Lawnguyland" and they live "neah the haabaa") I really didn't want to leave and will definitely go back as soon as possible. That is if we can get a room now that their 5 star reviews are really piling up! They also put out a wonderful array of Betsy's home baked breads and scones in the morning and the inn itself is very conveniently located to all the beautiful surrounding towns as well as the roadways to them without being on a noisy road. We look forward to seeing Paul and Betsy again soon, as well as wonderful little Chloe their rescued yorkie. I highly reccommend it to anyone looking to get away to a wonderful home in a beautiful place!!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Recently had a most wonderful stay at this B&B! The owners could not have been any friendlier! They provided us with a local map, and showed us the way into downtown Kennebunkport, as well as where the best bike trails were. They also have a beach parking permit available for their guests. The rooms are extremely clean, up to date, and quite charming. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the pillows were just heavenly. The home itself has a lot of new updates, but has maintained its New England charm. They were able to accommodate a Vegan diet with delicious breads, fruit, oatmeal, and almond milk! The owners are flexible regarding check-in and check-out times and so this made our traveling much less hectic. Additionally, they do not require a minimum night stay, which was superb for our travel plans! We had a very busy weekend filled with activities for a wedding we were attending, and were only sorry to have not had more time to spend in the B&B itself - we'll definitely be going back here, and next time I plan on spending some restful hours on their inviting porch. Great service! Very welcoming and one of the nicest stays I've had anywhere!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I were looking forward to a wedding of a close friend. We booked a room at the Elizabeth Rose House based on the reviews and after speaking with inn keeper extraodinaire, Betsy. I had such a good feeling when I spoke with Betsy. Once we arrived my husband and I knew we had made the right choice. We were welcomed with open arms by Betsy and Paul. They are a wonderful couple providing a wonderful service. Beautiful accommodations, lots of space, immaculately CLEAN, privacy and being treated like true friends by Betsy and Paul. I have since recommended (well, bragged about really!) the Elizabeth Rose House to several friends and family members. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent two nights at the Elizabeth Rose House and loved it. Paul and Betsy are fantastic hosts. They were there if we had any questions but not intrusive. They had a wealth of knowledge of the area if you needed any suggestions as to what to do or where to go. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. Just an overall great value. We will be going back for sure...Craig and Michele

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maine, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

What can we say that has not already been said by previous reviews. We spent just one night @ Elizabeth House and fell in love with the house and its owners. From the moment we arrived we know the pictures on line did not do it justice. Each aspect of the house is unique and charming. Every place was very clean and wonderfully decorated. The beds are heavenly. You will not be disappointed in you stay. We give it a 5 Star rating.

Room Tip: All the rooms a beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I was traveling to New Brunswick for a vacation to see the Bay of Fundy the highest tides in the world..and deceided to stop by to see my friends Paul and Betsy at the Elizabeth Rose House..
what a nice visit. The home is so relaxing and a pleasure to be there. . Ther was another couple tyher visiting from Pa ..what a nice time we had just talking and sharing our thoghhts and stories..Thank you Bets and Paulie I really enjoyed the time with you. ps Bet's scones ROCK yummy

Room Tip: Every room is very clean and decorated very tastefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Elizabeth Rose House in Kennebunk Maine with some friends and we could not have been more pleased that we did. A wonderful relaxing spacious and most important clean room with all the conveniences. Unlimited continental breakfast, pastries and coffee before you set off for the day as well. The proprietors Paul and Betsy did everything possible to make our stay as enjoyable a possible. They recommended all the local places to see and the restaurants to eat at.
Everyone in or party is looking forward to our next visit, in fact we booked it before we left. So if you are planning a visit to the area do yourself a favor and make reservations at the Elizabeth Rose House in Kennebunk!!

Room Tip: Everyone raved about their rooms there is not a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabeth Rose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Rose House

Address: 61 Fletcher St., Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Rose House Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth Rose House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.