We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic local Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 50 Local

50 Local
50 Main St, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043-7021
207-985-0850
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A new restaurant brought to you from local gal, Merrilee Paul and her husband David Ross that will feature the best of the area's resources. Relying on local farms, fisheries, and a commitment to the community, 50 Local is downtown Kennebunk's newest neighborhood establishment. 50 Local will feature an outstanding approachable menu containing many of the traditional dishes offered in French Bistros with an American take, served in a comfortable, elegant, and friendly atmosphere.
Hahnstätten
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic local Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ate here a couple of times, and it was always fantastic. The Mac&Cheese, the Springrolls and the Burger are my favorites. The design of the restaurant is very well put together. Service is always friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    42
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Farm To Table - YES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Call early for a reservation. Very friendly, fabulous food, nice wines (even by the glass), craft beers, wonderful, wonderful menu with nice small plates, as well as full meals. Sat at the bar - loved it, caught the local scene, but the Pork Chop was "To Die For", the burger was sourced from a local farm, vegetables were simply marvelous, and please don't forget desert. Thanks for the experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“unique and surprising”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Off the path is a good way to describe 50 Local...nice to support local farmers and have a chef use every part of an animal well.the server is the key here as they know whats going on out back..our dinner was slow paced but attentive...we selected different foods for each course and shared the experience... very well done
our daughter joined my wife and I and really enjoyed the selections and atmosphere.. we talked and discussed options with the server
prices were on the high side but so were our selections...
well done

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was not a fan. First of all I asked them to remove the almonds from the gazapacho - which they did not! When I pointed it out - it was like Oh well - I reminded them I was allergic but it was no biggie. And they charged $12 for the soup. No soup is worth that even without nuts. They are trying too hard!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food - Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The food is excellent. The atmosphere is very good and the drinks are good. Overall it is a great place but the prices are a little too high.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 50 Local also viewed

 

Been to 50 Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 50 Local, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.