We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going home but feels like we're leaving home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Inn
Save
You added Seaside Inn to your Saves list
80 Beach Avenue, Kennebunk Beach, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Going home but feels like we're leaving home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Leaving tomorrow and I want to say to the previous reviewer, are you such an incredibly unsophisticated traveler that you don't know ALL hotels fly the flags of the countries of their guests. The Seaside has many Canadian guests this weekend so that's why they are flying the flag. Now I understand the rest of your review! We stayed in both ocean front and terrace side this time (added onto our stay) and as usual, they were the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in anywhere. The rooms are definitely not "worn" and they are extremely comfortable.The people, from the desk to the kitchen to the maids, are as lovely and accommodating as you could wish.

Room Tip: I'd rather have a terrace room here than any room anywhere else in town BUT you should ask for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    22
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Inn was OK. Rooms were clean but worn and dated. My biggest complaint was in front of the Inn the Canadian flag was proudly flying but our American Flag was sadly missing. As far as I know Maine is still part of the United States. I'm not sure if they are unpatriotic and are making some kind of statement or something. If only on pole was available the Stars and Stripes should have been the one flying. I know this has little to do with the accomodations but the overall experience was somehow tainted. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I would like to start this response by first addressing the flag complaint. At the entrance circle of our property we have three flag poles. Not one, but three. We use these poles to fly the national flags of any foreign guest that stay at The Seaside. These flags our flown to make our foreign guests feel welcome and see a little bit of their home when they are away on vacation. If you have ever traveled out of country you would know it is always nice to see a little bit of home while away. The Seaside has about 40 different countries flags. We do fly the Canadian flag on most days because on any given day we usually have a wonderful guest staying with us from Canada. You should see the faces of our foreign guests when they arrive and see their country's flag flying. Most of the time they will ask us to come out and take a photo of them in front of it.

Now as for the flag of the Unite States of America. Had you asked or looked up you would have seen the Stars and Stripes proudly flying from the tallest pole above our Inn. It stays up there every day and at night it is lit up from all sides so you can see it out at sea when you are making an approach. We replace the Stars and Stripes on a monthly basis so it is always fresh and clean as it is snapping in the wind.

The last part of this response is to address your accusation that we are "unpatriotic". I served this country in the armed services for fifteen years. My father-in-law, who started this tradition, served in the armed service for 30 years. To this day I still proudly wear my military high and tight haircut. I am a member and supporter of the American Legion and Chief's Association. I support the VFW by annual donations and advertising in their programs. I have given free stay's to several active duty members who have been home on leave from battle and have not been able to afford to go away. The funny part is I have never had one of the active duty service members complain that I have the Stars and Stripes flying from our highest pole. That is because according to American flag etiquette that is where it belongs.

I would be more than happy to welcome you back to The Seaside in the future and show you that we do in fact fly the flag of The United States of America proudly. I will also be happy to show you our collection of flags from other countries and show you some photos of happy guest standing in front of them.

I just ask that before you attack someone's personal character and bring their patriotism into question, you actually sit down and have a discussion with them instead of making false accusations in a public forum that can be seen by thousands of potential happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Best location for the beach. Nice large rooms which need updating - see that's coming soon. Our room on terrace side sounded like 10 people were walking back and forth in room above us upstairs. Didn't think the ceiling would hold up! Breakfast was good and love all day coffee. Always comfortable for couple of days.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are so happy that you liked our location on the beach. We are sorry you had some loud people above you. If this ever happens again in the future please call the front desk 24 hours a day. We try to ensure that all of our guest can have a quiet nights sleep. We are updating some roms this winter. We are only doing six this year. We have a return rate of 83% and most of them keep asking us to keep The Seaside the same. So we want to update some rooms for new guests but maintain some of our existing rooms for our returning guests.

We are sorry about the rain, we are still working on a solution for that. If you ever need local suggestions of what to do when it rains, please come to the front desk and we will help you with your day.

Thank you again and please know that we always are here to make sure each guests enjoys their time away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Seaside Inn is a true gem! Location is spectacular with the most amazing ocean view. Staff at the Inn is first class and rooms were clean, roomy and very comfy. Continental breakfast was super – muffins were great. We definitely plan to return to the Seaside Inn. Rates were very competitive and, 10 – 15 minute walk for the Kennebunkport town area. It was nice to return to the serenity of the Inn and its grounds after a day in port. If you are a surfer, you will love the beach. And yes, the beach was awesome! Not one negative comment regarding our experience, not often one can say that!

Room Tip: You must get an Oceanview room for the full experience of the Atlantic Coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Mary, all of us at The Seaside would like to thank you for your very generous words. I can't express how much it means to the entire team here. We never take a compliment for granted. The whole crew tries everyday to make sure each guest enjoys their time at the beach. We are well aware that not every hotel is perfect for every person but we are so happy that The Seaside is right for you. We look forward to your return to Gooch's Beach and hope you have a wonderful fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our second year going to the Seaside Inn in Kennebunk and I suspect that we will be going there for years to come.

This is an "old school" inn right off of Gooch's Beach in Kennebunk, Maine. The rooms are large, the entire facility and grounds are meticulously kept, the staff is super friendly (kids left a light on in the van overnight and drained the battery - the staff could not have been more helpful getting us jumped) and the breakfast is awesome (home made pastries, oatmeal, cereal, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit). The Inn and the rooms have a 1950's/old school feel - but it works. You can't see the ocean due to the dunes/lawn (maybe from the second floor - but families with kids stay on the first floor- so I really would not know) - but it is a stones throw away. The town of Kennebunk/Kennebunkport is about 1 mile away - so an easy walk - or you can drive and try your luck with the parking.

Its funny - I travel all over the world and stay in some of the nicest places - but the Seaside Inn is shaping up to be one of my favorites - it all comes togther - Maine-beach-old school Inn- classic/1950's feel - super friendly staff - neat as a pin - home made breakfast. Just love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
The entire staff is glad you enjoyed your return trip to The Seaside.

You are correct the second floor oceanfront rooms have a spetacular view of the beach and ocean. The first floor view is blocked by the sand dunes when you sit down or lie down on the bed.

We will be renovating six rooms this winter to update them but still maintain the Maine beach feel.

The staff has been with us for up to 28 years and all take pride in how the rooms are cleaned and presented.

We look forward to your next trip to The Seaside and again we appreciate the compliments and the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We love the Seaside! We have gone three years in a row and have already submitted our names for next summer. The Seaside is clean; the staff is wonderful (and recognize us from year to year!); the breakfast is YUM!; and the location cannot be beat! I love that my 5 and 3 year old sons are growing up with Seaside memories!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
First we want to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. The entire staff appreciates your words and always looks forward seeing our returning guests each year. Each morning the staff looks at the list of returning guest's and knows off the top of their heads who is coming for a special occasion and who has a certain request that they can fill. I can not say enough about how much we enjoy seeing all of you each year. We hope you have a wonderfull fall and winter and keep an eye on your mail late December for next years reservation.

Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I reviewed Seaside Inn in 2008 citing 5 reasons why this destination is magical for my husband and me: the beach is only steps away, Ken and his staff are warm and welcoming, the delicious breakfasts, rooms that are spacious and clean (six rooms will get a complete renovation this winter) and the friendships formed (80% are returning guests).
The Seaside continues to hold its magic.
We travel to many wonderful and exciting destinations throughout a hectic year, but we return every year to the Seaside for our week of calm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
I think your comment about the friendships made at The Seaside is perfect. Every season the entire staff looks forward to seeing our regular guests return and hear about their adventures throughout the year. Each morning in the breakfast room you hear our guests greet the other guests by name because they have seen each other at The Seaside for so many years. Of course we always enjoy meeting new friends as well. I truly feel that the welcoming feeling at The Seaside can be attributed to the entire staff. Most of our staff have been with us over 25 years and really enjoy greeting each guest every morning. It was so nice to see you again this month and hope that you will visit us again for many more years to come. We are planning to update six rooms over the winter and then updating more each winter after that. Our guests love the simple decore we have now and we do not want to go too far away from it but we will freshen it up with new furnishings, drapes, bedding, linens and electronics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Address: 80 Beach Avenue, Kennebunk Beach, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn directly on quiet section of Kennebunk Beach. The only Kennebunk Inn directly on the Beach! Walk to Kennebunkport’s Famous Dock Square shops, boutiques and restaurants. Sea kayaking, lobster boat tours, whale watching, fabulous sunrises and sunsets from your room! Surfing, wake boarding and kayaking right out your door. Ocean view Hot Tub. Bicycles. The Seaside Inn is open year round and includes breakfast daily in the 1850 Boat House. Great values with our special Off-Season Packages in our Oceanfront Inn. View live beach cam on our web site. 9th Generation Family Innkeepers since 1667. Kennebunkport’s premier beachfront address. A memorable location and experience directly on the beach. Maine Environmental Leader award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Kennebunk
Seaside Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.